We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant budget break.”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warsop
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A very pleasant budget break.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've just returned from a lovely week spent in the Cinco Plaza apartments with my mum and three sisters. We shared a two bed apartment and found it very clean, comfortable and well enough equipped for self catering, though eating out is not expensive and lots of local cafes offer English breakfast for less than 3 Euros. The complex in general is well maintained and clean with pleasant and helpful staff. It is in a quiet area, yet close to the beach, situated part way up a hill that my 77 year old mum managed very well and it is convenient for shops and restaurants. This complex is ideal for families of all ages.

We didn't eat in the complex restaurant, but it was always fairly busy and looked nice enough. The Spinnaker bar/restaurant just down the road does good food and is in a beautiful setting overlooking the sea. There are some very nice restaurants overlooking the harbour in the old town for a nice evening meal and a taxi costs around 4 Euros. Reception are more than happy to call a taxi for you and there's a taxi rank at the harbour for your return journey.

Room Tip: We were in room 1208, on the first floor. It didn't have the best view of the sea but it was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cazWarsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    588
    248
    68
    49
See reviews for
766
460
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arriving at the hotel, we were a little bit worried when we weren't on the roster at reception (fault of the travel agent) but the staff were so helpful it didn't create a feeling of panic! The room itself was great. Big living space with a fold out sofa...kitchenette and a dining table. The bedroom had the standard 2 single beds pushed together and the bathroom was more than sufficient for our needs. A great south-facing balcony competed the room for us.

The complex itself had 3 pools in total...a large one behind the main reception and 2 smaller ones off to the side. Lifeguards patrolling each one and some fun events during the day for the kids made this a nice environment for families also. The food in the restaurant was created for the predominat Irish/English guests, but very good compared to some of the local places. The location of the hotel provides guests with the opportunity to indulge in local cuisine also...and is only 5 minutes (slow amble) to the seafront.

Next to the complex is a supermarket where self-catering guests can stock up on the necessaries.

The only drawback on the Cinco Plazas was the ice-cream on offer...stale from sitting in the open too long - melting and refreezing overnight.

Very little noise at night meant sound sleep and the level of activity around the pools was minimum...

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the cleaning staff were efficient and also pleasant.

All in all...you get what you pay for in this no-frills complex..perfect for a getaway where you don't want to be bothered by overbearing staff trying to sell you stuff!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments don't get much sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendjoeystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Public areas clean and well run. Pool and lounger areas good. Staff friendly and helpful. Ours was probably one of the cheaper apartments looking out on the restaurant, although no noise problem from that but nearby machine room was annoying.

Apartment was basic and rather soulless lacking comfortable seating, otherwise well thought out for basic self catering (i.e. snacks). Room cleaning was rather superficial (e.g. your feet got very dirty if you walked around bare foot).

Didn't use restaurant so can't comment.

Best thing about hotel is its location being close to excellent beach and countless restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to reception as these tend not to have a view, be less well furnished and may be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel, it was very good value through travelrepublic. There were two of us friends and we went for the 1 bedroom apartment.There were 3 pools with an abundance of sunlounges though we only spent 1 day by the pool. The staff were very helpful and the cleaning staff were very nice and did a very good job. We were offered towel changes about every second day but I would imagine the cleaners would oblige if we asked more often. The check out is 11am with no option of late checkout however they have a "transition room" and luggage room available for those with later flights. Very good loacation, we walked everywhere but you could get a taxi for less that a 5euro to just about anywhere in Puerto Del Carmen. Very quiet would perhaps suit couples and familys best but very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Have stayed here 2 times and really happy staff are friendly and helpful It is only short walk from beach and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby Rooms are clean and spacious kids club is great and kids loved it (4 & 6 years old) Evening entertainment is very good again kids loved it If you are going on family holiday Cinco Plazas is perfect will be going back again in 2014

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our first time in Lanzarote and Cinco Plazas so we didn't know what to expect. We didn't request a specific room -we just thought we'd have what we were given and we're so glad we did this rather than requesting a pool view. Our studio over looked the road at the front and was on the first floor-unlike the other recent review we had no noise whatsoever from the road and we had the most fantastic view -partial sea view and a view of the volcanoes-our balcony had the sun in the afternoon and we saw lovely sunsets from our balcony-so why look at the pool when youcan see this?
The studios are very good value though quite basic -they were very clean and the beds were so comfortable which is a massive plus when you're on holiday. It was also very quiet so we both slept very well. The only negative was that there was no hairdryer-the first time I didn't pack one as I just assumed there would be one. They can be rented from Reception at 10 euros per week but I just decided to let my hair dry on its own.
The public areas were very clean-we never had a problem getting a sunbed though we used them very rarely as we were out walking most of the time. The Staff were very friendly-we never ate or went in the bar as there are so many restaurants and bars nearby.
We liked Enjoy (Asian Cuisine), O' Reillys (Irish Bar) do very good reasonable breakfasts -Cantina (Mexican)-Oriental World-we never had a bad meal anywhere. There is a lovely restaurant just near the apartments as you walk down the hill on the right-Nico's-ate here a few times-really good.
El Kiosco -walk left as you get to the bottom of the hill-is a very friendly little Bar with the cheapest drinks we found-very popular Bar though we only went late afternoon-don't know what its like in the evening.
The location was very good-easy to walk everywhere. Did a few trips -Volcano Tour and Camel ride-very good-Playa Blanca-Teguise Market and got the waterbus to Puerto Calero one day-booked our trips through Last Minute Travel-very very reasonable and reliable.
Would definitely visit Lanzarote again-love the fact there are no high rise buildings-and all buildings are whitewashed and only allowed green brown or blue paint-it makes the Island look lovely and because there are no high buildings you get brilliant views!
Thankyou Cinco Plazas

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here last year (Jan 2013) and loved it so much we immediately re-booked on-line for Jan 2014 expecting a similar experience.
A little dissapointed that we had to pay for an upgrade to move away from a room overlooking a busy road to one facing the pool like we had a year ago without any upgrade or additional payment. Apart from that everything else was as we remembered although the TV's are now flat screen and a good selection of English speaking channels.
There are three pools, one heated to about 26Deg C behind the reception area, and big enough to swim in without any issues. The pool furthest away from reception may have been heated and was filled with children and a little noisy on the sunny days, but the third pool I'm sure was chilled overnight and was icy cold - although it was used by many , who only used it once!
We went for self catering, but other options were available i.e. B&B and Half Board and looking at those eating as we made our way out of the hotel to eat elsewhere in Puerto Del Carmen, the food looked good, especially the BBQ on the Thursday evening.
The location of Cinco Plaza allows you to take advantage of all the eating places on the main Avenida in PDC taking in Indian, Chinese, Thai, Tex-Mex, American, Italian and you can see by the popularity of each which ones provide the best food experiences. Every establishment has a 'tout' outside trying to get you to eat there, but after a couple of days they get to know you and accept that you are eating elsewhere. One thing to note however is that don't expect to pay what it says on the menu boards outside the establishments, add to that the cost of bread rolls, drinks, and a 7% tax all of which can make a big difference.
There are a number of good supermarkets local to Cinco Plaza, we found that the HiperDino next door was good for bread, beer and water (life's essentials) and the Spar was good for coffee, chocolate and meats (life's little luxuries) so planned our walks to take in the appropriate supermarkets.
The Coffee shops along the front serve the best coffee and cakes I have ever tasted and are in general very good value. Most offer free Wi-Fi and you can sit there for an hour or so without being rushed out of the door, and if you need longer then have another coffee - well worth the expense.
Cinco Plaza is ideal for a relaxing holiday if you want it. Use the beds by the 'chilled' pool as this one is fairly quiet and gets the sun all day. If you want to walk, the front is approx. 7Km long and flat. We walked beyond the airport to Playa Honda and back one day (about 4 hours with coffee and cake stops) and then to Puerto Calero in the opposite direction for coffee and cake overlooking the harbour (2 hours) taking the Water Taxi back to the Old Harbour in Puerto Del Carmen and walking along the beach (paddling actually) to the hotel in just oven an hour.
Many guests hired cycles and disappeared each day to tour the island, but that was far too energetic for us.
Was there any downside? Not really. The rooms were kept clean although don't expect towels and rooms to be cleaned daily. This is a lovely hotel with a large number of guests from Scandinavia, the remainder are English speaking or Spanish. All in all, good value for money, but be aware what type of room and its location when booking on-line and be prepared to upgrade if it is not what you were expecting.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and are slightly more private, but you have no cover when it rains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bill4legroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#13 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Property: Cinco Plazas
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing