We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the hotel not the holiday”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #28 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Review of the hotel not the holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have just returned from a great holiday to Lazerote and would go back. This review, and hence rating, is for the HOTEL. The Cinco Plaza apartments were good but also bad. The apartment was rather dated but did offer the facilities we needed. The lack of air conditioning is a real issue though especially, like us, if you are on the ground floor and therefore can not leave a window open for a cooler air breeze. A portable 9+inch fan really did not solve this problem but i believe you could hire bigger fans from reception. This is the only reason we did not spend any money in the restaurant or stay for evening entertainment - too hot with NO air conditioning.
The pool areas were good and reasonably sized. We almost got caught getting up early for a space but a lounger was always available, so did not bother. The pool staff were always visable and interactive.
Can,t make comment about the food but it looked o.k but limited in choice.
As others have described beware of the Cockroaches. They are big and can be many (based on other guests experiences). We only met 2 of them (not including 3 squashed) but they were at around 2 inches long and well developed. We were going to name ours but thought better of it.
Room cleanliness was average - The floors left your feet blackened and the toilet looked (below the waterline) looked suspect but otherwise the maid clean looked to be minimal.
Would i recommend the apartments - Well No. If the above issues were rectified then maybe. It is a great location and we will be going back to Lanzerote again. Had a great time. The cost of items in resort were very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhound77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    587
    248
    68
    49
See reviews for
765
460
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we still love it, keep going back.. back again in July. still as clean as ever. place spotless.staff as usual are great., warm and friendly. great size apartments. lifeguard on all pools.feels like home away from home. The entertainment could do with updating if you are staying in but otherwise
cannot fault it.kids of all ages so guaranteed to meet up with someone.see you next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in August with my husband in a studio. Room was clean and tidy with all the kitchen facilities needed for a self catering holiday. Beautiful view from balcony, which had the sun most of the day. Excellent location, only 5 mins to the main strip but far enough away from the noise in the evening. There are 3 pools at the complex, all very simiiar - beware though, they are freezing when you first get in! All the staff at cinco plazas were very helpful and friendly. Only complaint would be that air con would have been nice in the high temperatures we had whilst there, as the 2 fans in our room didn't really do much to help. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chica_Escocesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just back from a 2 week holiday at the Cinco Plaza in Lanzarote. In our party there were 2 adults & 2 kids aged 12 & 13 in a 1 bedroomed apartment. Loved these apartments apart from the air conditioning. It was in the 40's whilst we were there and it was very hard to sleep with no air conditioning. We were in an upper apartment around the main pool area and this was fab. Apartments very clean and had everything in it that you need. Cleaners were in every other day cleaning, making beds etc. We had breakfast on at least 4/5 occasions in the complex and it was lovely and very well priced. The cost of drinks in the complex were very pricy. It cost €2.80 each for a fanta orange for the kids and €4.80 for a vodka and diet coke. The drinks were dearer than the food. Would love to go back to Cinco Plaza but only if they put air conditioning into the rooms. This was a very big problem. Everyone we spoke to also agreed with this. D & T. Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for upper apartment around main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at Cinco Plaza for 2 weeks, location fantastic it only took 5mins to walk to the beach. The complex was very clean and the staff very friendly. It has a restaurant but we ate in there once and it was far too hot, because it has no air conditioning so we didn't eat there again It was so uncomfortable. The 3 pools were nice and between 10-6pm there is a lifeguard . The apartment was spacious and comfortable but be aware no air conditioning and in 30c plus temperatures its not nice.
Our favourite restaurant on the strip has to be La Terrazza then Nicos every meal in here was fantastic, ate in here lots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack291198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in the Cinco plazas for 2 weeks. There was 2 adults and 2 kids in our party. The location is very good, the apartments are only a 2 min walk from the beach (down a steep hill)and all the shops and restaurants on the main strip. The old town is a €3 taxi ride away. The apartments are very clean with regular towel and bedclothes changes.The apartments are a good size with beds that are actually pretty comfortable. There is no air conditioning but they do supply fans which help a bit.
The sunbed scramble is a pain in the mornings, towels are put out reserving spaces by the pool at 7 in the morning .A lie in on hols would be nice but it seems to be the same in a lot of apartments in Lanzarote this year. The lifeguards at the pools began to remove some towels on our 2nd week as people had beds reserved and didn't come down to the pool till 3pm.
We didn't eat in the apartments as there is just too much choice and cheaper alternatives on the main strip.
All in all nice family apartments in a great location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stay here for 1 week in january found it a very clean spacious apartment with a decent size balcony. Good size pool area,was always able to get a lounger ,short walk to main strip with plenty bars, would recommend it for a self catering stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latinmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#39 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#6 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Property: Cinco Plazas
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing