We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down but bearable”
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Club
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Fairly run down, small pool with broken furniture. Fire hazard, in that, escape from the underground bedrooms would be impossible. Very steep hill or steps to front. Area round apartments run down with broken pavements and copious amounts of dog dirt.
I'm sorry but there are better deals for the same price. The apartments close by all had large well used pools with bars etc. there is no similarity.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonnyglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Colony Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 17 of 17 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester UK
1
Reviewed April 8, 2006

I'm sorry that the other two had bad experiences. We spent a month at a really lovely apartment (111) and had a wondeful time. The apartment was clean, airy and bright and is also the owner's home when they go to Lanzarote. All of the equipment was in good working order, the furniture and beds were comfortable and the apartment well maintained and decorated. A local property management company arranges the regular cleaning and also provides a 24-hour emergency call-out service so we felt safe and looked after. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we are planning on going again next year. We can highly recommend this apartment [--] and will be looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

I also have stayed at this complex and although I didn't stay in the same aprrtment as the previous reviewer, it was just about as bad.
The facilities in our appt were OK, TV, Video, CD, Washing M/C, dishwasher, full hob and cooker etc. but most of it was past it's best, some of it didn't work at all. Anyway these home comforts were pretty useless because we didn't want to spend any time in the apartment which was damp, dank and had no ventillation at all. The bedrooms were downstairs, and apart from the front door and balcony door (which was almost unopenable) there was no air in the apartment at all, not a single window. the master bedroom was en-suite, but that only contributed more to the dampness. As the previous reviewer says, the whole interior was damp damaged and smelly, the balcony furniture was filthy and we even considered buying new.
The pool was open when we were there and was OK.
However, we love PDC itself so we'll just put this one down to experience.

OLE

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank oleoleole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Southport, Merseyside
17
Reviewed March 8, 2005

What can I say about the Colony Club, dirty and tired. We stayed in apartment 313, privately booked on the internet.

The quality of the apartment was very disappointing. Although they knew the ages of my children, 14, 9 and 5 there were only two single beds and a travel cot! luckily my 5 year old is only small! The quality of the beds and bedding is appalling. The bathrooms were covered in mold and mildew and one smelt that much of damp we couldn't use it. The terrace and patio furniture was dirty and I was not prepared to clean it! I did have to buy and mop as the one supplied was disgusting! Unfortunately the weather was not good to us and this caused the apartment to leak! A large puddle in the morning caused my daughter to slip and bang her head!

When the sun did shine we couldn't even use the pool as it had not been cleaned and the snack bar which is advertised on a different site to which we booked is not longer there. A resident informed us to use the pool at the apartments across the road.

Don't use the taxi mini bus recommended by the owner as it is more expensive than two taxis! and didn't even turn up, as arranged to pick us up the take us back to the airport.

The food in Peuto Del Carmen is great though. I highly recommend The Steak House, 5 mins walk from The Colony Club, not expensive but beautiful steaks, and they really make you feel welcome!

Unfortunately this was our first trip to Lanzarote but not a good one, but I'm sure there are nicer places to stay as Peuto Del Carmen is a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
#73 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#57 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Apartamentos Guanarama
#65 of 70 in Puerto Del Carmen
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playamar Apartments
Playamar Apartments
#1 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Alegranza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Calle Tinguaton 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Club 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Colony Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Colony Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing