We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - but not great!”
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Club
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok - but not great!”
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We also stayed in appt 313 Colony Club, I was quite disappointed by the condition of the appartment. Definately not suitable for a family with young children. Stairs are very steep. The glass roof and patio doors were well past their sell by date. The appartment was adaquately decorated, but could certainly do with an up-grade. We also had a problem with ants - they were everywhere! Wouldn't book this particular appt again, but love lanzarote! Great restaurants & the people are so friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Reviewer: Family from Dublin, Ireland

We spent the first two weeks of February in Apt 313 Colony Club and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As we have two small kids we were initially nervous about the stairs but both we and kids overcame this. Despite earlier comments this Apt is very clean and serviced regularly and efficently by a very good management company and cleaner. Extremely spacious, bright and very generously furnished and fitted. It was a pleasure to cook and eat in a few nights. Wash-machine, TV, DVD player & CD player certainly a big bonus especially to a family. Complex, pool area(older sun-loungers ok) is quite & cleaned daily. Prime location to both beach and Oldtown. Only criticism was the pre-arranged taxi from airport works out much more expensive than normal taxi but hey this doesn't tip the scales!! We have no hesitation recommending this complex and especially Apt 313.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank EIRE_Southern_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My family, 2adults and two girls aged 14 & 18 have just returned from a wonderful week in Lanzarote staying at the Colony Club, apartment No.110. The apartment was very clean when we arrived, everything we could have wished for was there, including clean bedding & towels changed midweek, decoration was fine and as the owners agree the kitchen may need some updating soon, but everything was in working order. TV including limited Sky channels, video & DVD player were all available. The swimming pool was available and was being used by some visitors but we preferred the beach. Location was superb, only a couple of minutes walk to the Playa Blanca beach. Overall highly recommendable

  • Liked — Cleanliness & location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Fairly run down, small pool with broken furniture. Fire hazard, in that, escape from the underground bedrooms would be impossible. Very steep hill or steps to front. Area round apartments run down with broken pavements and copious amounts of dog dirt.
I'm sorry but there are better deals for the same price. The apartments close by all had large well used pools with bars etc. there is no similarity.

  • Liked — quietness
  • Disliked — run down
  • Tips/Secrets — watch your feet lots of holes and dog dirt
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2006

I'm sorry that the other two had bad experiences. We spent a month at a really lovely apartment (111) and had a wondeful time. The apartment was clean, airy and bright and is also the owner's home when they go to Lanzarote. All of the equipment was in good working order, the furniture and beds were comfortable and the apartment well maintained and decorated. A local property management company arranges the regular cleaning and also provides a 24-hour emergency call-out service so we felt safe and looked after. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we are planning on going again next year. We can highly recommend this apartment [--] and will be looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2005

I also have stayed at this complex and although I didn't stay in the same aprrtment as the previous reviewer, it was just about as bad.
The facilities in our appt were OK, TV, Video, CD, Washing M/C, dishwasher, full hob and cooker etc. but most of it was past it's best, some of it didn't work at all. Anyway these home comforts were pretty useless because we didn't want to spend any time in the apartment which was damp, dank and had no ventillation at all. The bedrooms were downstairs, and apart from the front door and balcony door (which was almost unopenable) there was no air in the apartment at all, not a single window. the master bedroom was en-suite, but that only contributed more to the dampness. As the previous reviewer says, the whole interior was damp damaged and smelly, the balcony furniture was filthy and we even considered buying new.
The pool was open when we were there and was OK.
However, we love PDC itself so we'll just put this one down to experience.

OLE

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oleoleole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2005

What can I say about the Colony Club, dirty and tired. We stayed in apartment 313, privately booked on the internet.

The quality of the apartment was very disappointing. Although they knew the ages of my children, 14, 9 and 5 there were only two single beds and a travel cot! luckily my 5 year old is only small! The quality of the beds and bedding is appalling. The bathrooms were covered in mold and mildew and one smelt that much of damp we couldn't use it. The terrace and patio furniture was dirty and I was not prepared to clean it! I did have to buy and mop as the one supplied was disgusting! Unfortunately the weather was not good to us and this caused the apartment to leak! A large puddle in the morning caused my daughter to slip and bang her head!

When the sun did shine we couldn't even use the pool as it had not been cleaned and the snack bar which is advertised on a different site to which we booked is not longer there. A resident informed us to use the pool at the apartments across the road.

Don't use the taxi mini bus recommended by the owner as it is more expensive than two taxis! and didn't even turn up, as arranged to pick us up the take us back to the airport.

The food in Peuto Del Carmen is great though. I highly recommend The Steak House, 5 mins walk from The Colony Club, not expensive but beautiful steaks, and they really make you feel welcome!

Unfortunately this was our first trip to Lanzarote but not a good one, but I'm sure there are nicer places to stay as Peuto Del Carmen is a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
#74 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#47 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#25 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartments Zafiros
Apartments Zafiros
#78 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#56 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#55 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Property: Colony Club
Address: Calle Tinguaton 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Club 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Colony Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Colony Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing