We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We were a bit worried before we got there as we had read some very mixed reviews. We arrived early afternoon and there was no one on reception and no sign or note telling us where to get our room key. Asked at the pool bar if anyone was around and it turned out they had the keys. We were allocated a self catering stuidio when we'd actually booked a one bed apt, so we had to wait until reception opened again late afternoon and asked to switch rooms and they were fine about it, but it was pretty inconvenient for us. Rooms came with microwave, toaster, kettle included also TV and phone (ours didnt work). Walls are pretty thin and you can hear all your neighbours! Pretty clean and only saw one cockroach in the whole 2 weeks we were there. Main issue i have with the place is that fire extinguishers/blankets are not in rooms and i think thats pretty dangerous when your s/c and have a hob and toaster etc, especially when your door locks behind you when you walk out. Also, no one is on site at night so if there is a problem you have to find the number you need on the reception door, which could be a pain if something's going on, would be better if they were in the rooms. There is a security gate but everytime we came back late it was open so not really sure what the point is. Dont shop at the supermarket on site as its really pricey and there are loads of shops close by. Pool bar is also pricey compared to some places on the strip. Cardic Hill isnt the hill outside the apartments, its the one that comes out by the Flying Dutchman pub and thats pretty much the start of the strip, its steep at the bottom but then its ok, there are loads of other routes down so it really isnt a problem you just have to find anouter way. Taxis up are between 2.80 and 3.00. At the end of the day its cheap and its a bed for the night and its in quite a good location. You really do get what you pay for and dont expect anything else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerbean1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Bitacora Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 936 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

Had a great time at Bitacora and the kids loved it. Was quite unsure having read previous comments, but was not disappointed. Rooms are basic but clean. Staff are friendly and helpful particularly Jack and Chelo on the bar, great fun and really nice people. My kids loved it and were in the pool for hours. Highly recommended for anyone on a budget and doesn't mind a little walk to the town. By the way, Cardiac hill is nowhere near as bad as we thought it would be. Had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spike040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

fantastic place,once the mob went home who thought they run the place,met some really nice people,special thanks to the great familys from wrexham and chorley,that helped me celebrate my 45th birthday,super nice ,proper northerners,thanx.anyway,about bitacora,if yout used to 4-5*go back to your posh hotels,this is basic,but if your juding apartments,stay in blackpool saddos,these were clean,staff curtious,people friendly,and only 1/4 mile from strip,all in all fantastic.it was our first time in lanzarote,and we are coming back in june for 2wks,then again in sept.if you never been lanzarote b4,you will not go anywhere else.27-31`c in feb when we went,and as for the main prom(strip locally) all english,absolutly awesome place

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredandbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I love the bitacora, not only do they help you with an enquires, it is only 10 minutes away from the bustling strip, yes its only a large hill, so anyone with walking difficulties, its obviously not for you, but Lanzarote is very hilly! The receptionist is so welcoming and lovely, and i recommend this hotel to anyone! the rooms are so spacous, lots of places to keep your things! as for secuirty they have had a security gate fitted in the last two years, and you get given the pin when you arrive. this means the reception is closed early for safety reasons, and no one can get into the complex without the pin. there is a supermarket onsite, yes rather expensive but so CONVINIENT! they have started doing bed and breakfast, and i do recommend the bacon sandwiches, they are devine! i haven't had the chance to board bed and breakfast but these are only 3.00 a buttie. if they still do them! the internet is 1 euro for 10 mins and 2 euro for 20 mins, kids hog them all day so make sure you grab them whislt you can!! i went with my two teenage daughters and my husband and we had two seperate rooms next to each other! it was lovely. i had no problems here and wish i was going back! the weather was gorgeous, expect for the last three days, a sand storm on the beach not so fun! i reccomend pinochio's, el chiquito, la dolce vita for food, or the golden sun for a lovely buffet (chinese) question in the american indian bar are really talented i have two of there 5 albums! Also on the way down to the strip there is a lovely little bar caleld the rendevous worth a visit, the man who owns it is so lovely! i also reccomned el merador on the beach front it has stunning veiws and really HOT waiters, or la terraza, which is above the casino! the old town is 1/2hour down the road, also a lovely walk, i recommend the baluga restaurant at the habour, or el ancla, and finish off the night watching the locals play bowls in heineken or let your children wonder off into the playground which is fun! furthermore i think lanzarote is well worth a visit, especialy BITACORA! also (chinese international which is nearer to matagorda is so worth a try its amazing!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinkrango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Arrived late due to flight being diverted...collected keys from supermarket attached to the appartments. Clean and basic, we were in the more residential side of the complex. Had a downpour on our first night and had a flood, but next morning once reported it was dealt with promptly. We had B&B that has only been offered recently, served from the pool bar ! Again basic but saved me cooking it !! Yes the appartments are at the top of a hill, but there are other routes down to the beach. RECOMMEND the Maritoni bar, T bones at E9.95, were excellent and the Cantina San Rafael for lunchtime snacks. The prices are definately up from our last visit but that's the power of the euro nothing personnal. and for an excellent chinese buffet El Dragon at between E6 and E6.95 per person.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micknjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Did not have any high expectations of this place from all the bad reviews I had read, how wrong they all where. The apartments were clean on arrival and cleaned three times while we were there, towels changed once and linen not at all if only staying for a week, but you can pay for extra if you so wish. Swimming pool clean and chilly according to the two teenagers, so they only went in once. Bar prices a little steep but happy hour from 5 till 6 pm. We where not sure why at the start of the holiday people kept referring to Cardiac Hill, by the end of a week we knew why. If you go with children Rancho Texas Park is worth a visit, you pay 15 euros and do not pay for the bus ride there. They have three live shows and the animals are all pretty cool and it is very well cared for. Teguise market on a Sunday is worth a visit ( make sure you haggle). A must is a visit to Timanfaya National Park to see the volcanoes, wow is all I can say about this excursion. We had no complaints about any part of our holiday and would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Arrived and was given room in corner which would have been quite shaded during the day, so asked if another was available. Was given a room in the complex on other side of the street which was more residential, however had a pool of it's own. Completely diferent apartment; brand new suede sofa, flat screen TV, new appliances (microwave, Bosch kettle and toaster, fridge, washing machine and oven with ceramic hob). Felt completely safe and everyone was friendly. Would definitely go back if could stay on this side again. Main strip was pricey because of cost of Euro but found a weird italian restaurant upstairs (la Cari someting!) which was so cheap for amazing food. The owner gave us free starters and breads etc but got confusing due his lack of english but bless him for trying!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pinksho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing