We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I visited the Bitacora Club Apartments and were extremely pleasantly surprised. The facilities were clean and we'll run, with our room being cleaned 4 times during the course of a week. The staff were really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Our first evening's entertainment was a drag-act which was hilarious. The bar was very well with very friendly staff. The location of the hotel was just a short walk to the main strip, down quite a steep hill, necessitating a taxi for the return! However with the cost of the taxi at €3 was a bargain. Thoroughly recommend and hope to return. A must for food is the Sunshine Asian restaurant on the main strip. The best Chinese I have ever eaten!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 969 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for 11 days in July ,family of 2 adults and 2 children. We booked our apartment through travel republic, no hiccups on check in. Reception staff nice, friendly. Our apartment was clean, spacious and tidy. We booked last minute and just wanted a base close to strip. The room was ideal for what we paid. Pool area was nice, clean. I would watch if you have young kids as no shallow end in main pool. Only down fault, no fault of Bitacora ,we had a group of people who thought it was ok to party until small hours of morning and woke us with this rabble and jumping in and out pool. Unfortunately we had no air con and thought we would just keep windows open,this was difficult with this group of 3 families not giving a toss for all others. Maybe a night porter on for a few hours after reception closed would help ? All in all had a nice stay and if on a budget would stay again. Remember you get what you pay for, as manager says it is not 5 * so dont expect it to be. For a base close to strip/beach/restaurant/bars it is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank melanie3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went to bitacora for a week in July and was very happy with the apartments we were right beside the pool which was heaven and the place was very clean the pool bar was very small but staff were lovely only ate breakfast there but what I ate was grand. We were a little too far from the beach was ok walking to it but a big hill on the way back . Would definitely go back .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Complex itself is very clean and and well presented/maintained regrettably the apt itself is played out and tired,holes in the doors,fittings hanging off the bathroom walls and the beds wouldn't look out of place in a prison but for all of that it was functional and you're not going to be spending much time in it.
There was a serious enough infestation of ants but the spray provided kinda kept them at bay. Didn't have much to do with the staff but they were all very pleasant and professional when I did.
There was no wi-fi unless you wanted to pay €50 for 2 weeks for one device,I didn't but the lack if it was an annoyance,I had paid good money for this break and if a bar owner can give you wi-fi access for the price of a pint then there is no excuse except greed why this place charges.
Air con had to be paid for or you can rent a fan for €20 a week.I declined again as I feel this should be standard in a Spanish resort during Summer,another example of gouging.
Cant speak for the food or the drink as I opted out of handing them a cent during our stay and ate/drank in the Town.
Patio Chiquito (close to Calle Doramas street) was by far the best place for good quality food and the price very cheap,you can feed a family of four for €20-€22 excluding drink.
Our stay was interrupted by a crowd who felt it appropriate to party at full volume at 5 am,the Spanish police gave them a talking to after the second night and it was quite from then on.
The pool area is a good size and caters for all ages with an additional paddling pool.The walk up the hill is tough enough but unless you are in poor health then you should treat it as a way of walking off the food and drink.
Why didn't I complain?
I get 2 weeks off every year in the sun and was not going to spend one second of it arguing with reps and reception,I mistakenly trusted that Falcon Holidays vets these places to ensure a good standard...I wont make that mistake again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rimbaud11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our second visit this year and not disappointed with accommodation. For the price it is excellent. Room spacious, got everything one would expect on a self catering holiday. Maid called in twice during our 7 days and was very pleasant and made sure we had all we needed. Roger at reception extremely helpful and last but not least Jenny and her team on hand to make sure you get refreshments and food as and when required. Would certainly recommend Bitacora if one is fit. Only downside to a point is it is located at the top of cardiac hill however taxis are always available for a mere 3 euros.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 and it was better than first visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival. The place looked immaculate and well maintained. My daughter jumped into the pool 20 minutes before closure and was delighted with the depth. It is deep. A point worth noting if you are a non swimmer. The apartment was quite basic but very clean with a nice shower/bath. I would definitely ask for a balcony apt. They get the sun all day. The on site supermarket was well stocked and not too expensive. Now for a little negativity. It is a good 10 minute walk to the main strip. It's great walking down but the walk back entails great exertion! My big tip would be never avail of a prebookable operator transfer. Get a cheap taxi. It only took about 8 minutes and cost 15 euro.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0ul0um0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for 7 days the first week in July. I read all of the previous reviews written on tripadvisor and on arrival there were absolutely no surprises.

As stated many times it is sold as 2star accommodation and that's what you get if not a little bit more. ::

Positives...

>Apartments were extremely clean on arrival
>Cleaned every second day with towels and sheets replaced
>Constant cleaning of the pool area
>Food at the Pool Bar although basic was freshly cooked in front of you.
>Staff, when asked, were extremely helpful with anything thrown at them.
>Close to bars/restaurants/beach etc

Negatives..

>As stated the hill was a bit of a pain (but that's not Bitacora's fault!)
>Personal opinion. A pity the bar isn't open slightly longer hours (say until 21:00pm)
>Entertainment was lacking the week we were there (must be said due to the lack of interest of the guests!)
>Would personally liked to have had 24 x 7 reception/security

In summary Bitacora Club is exactly as described by the owners. Apartments are clean and well equipped. If you require AC..ask. If you are adverse to hill climbing maybe look at alternative accommodation lower down.

Room Tip: If you require air con please make sure you drop them an email prior to arrival and request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#22 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#43 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#34 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $68 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bitacora Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing