We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget accomodation”
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from a week in Puerto del Carmen. Bitacora offers excellent apartment accommodation at very reasonable rates. When we stayed it was obvious that booking is very flexible - we stayed Friday to Friday but other guests were arriving through the week on different days. The on-site bar, restaurant and supermarket offer convenient, reasonably priced service. There is maid service and beds are made and towels changed regularly. The furnishing and equipment is basic but adequate and the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Friends stayed nearby and paid 3 times as much for very little more!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeCee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Bitacora Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 935 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently returned from a weeks stay at the bitacora club apartments. Like others have mentioned, I was apprehensive after reading negative reviews on here, but was actually pleasantly surprised. The apartment we were given was on the ground floor near the pool, it was clean, well equipped and had a great shower. It was spacious enough for a couple, to be honest, it was that hot and the weather so nice, you spend most of your time outside anyway. Air con was available (at extra cost) in the block of apartments we were in, but not in all apartments, so if you definitely require air con I'd email and request it specifically. Our apartment was cleaned twice while we were there and we received clean towels on these occasions, the cleaners were always busy, the pool area was always clean. The supermarket on site was really handy, opened early in the morning and closed late at night. Fresh bread was delivered in the morning, it was lovely.
The apartments were a 5 min walk into town, perhaps a 10min walk on the way back up the hill, but don't be put off, it's not that bad. There's plenty of gorgeous resteraunts in PDC, the walk back to the apartments was a welcome way to burn off all the extra treats!
We spent most of the days on the Beach. It was the cleanest beach I've ever been to, the sea was shallow and warm, perfect for swimming, there was even shoals of fish to feed.
All in all, the bitacora apartments are all you need for a clean, convenient base to explore PDC. They aren't luxury, but they are more than adequate. PDC is lovely, you'll never be bored, hungry or thirsty! We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: The apartments to the right of reception have balconies or terraces overlooking the pool area and ha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augustbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at bitacora. The location is good, a short walk to the main strip and beach,however there is steep hill which would be an issue for people with walking difficulties. There is a supermarket on site which is very handy! The bar staff are lovely so this review in no way tarnishes them for whats going to be said! Going to bitacora we knew it was 2 star accommodation so we weren't expecting the ritz, having said that there are some things that we do expect when staying somewhere. Our first issue was a dead cockroach under the bin press, fine it's dead but it would of been nice if the apartment had a proper clean before we came in, obviously we don't know how long it was there but as we arrived in the middle of the day I know it didn't die just before we arrived( as cockroaches are nocturnal, apart from the ones in Asia) . We were staying in room 103, if anyone is booking at bitacora ask not to be put in 103, the view is a wall facing your double doors and there is a small view of the pool, which isn't that much of an issue, what is an issue with this room,is its location, the supermarket is right beside it so other people staying at bitacora frequently walk by. When the reception closes you have to use the side gate, this is also right beside 103, so at night you keep hearing the bid steel gate opening and closing, when the people are walking down to the gate, you could nearly swear they were in your living room, the sound really follows through the wall, also the supermarket has a fan type thing on top of it, so that goes off the whole night, the sound travelling into the apartment, it's more of an annoyance and it's not really a sound you could just " get used too" . If you wanted privacy/comfort in this room the living room curtains had to be closed due a lot of residents having to pass by. Inside apartment 103 is,well, neglected. Over the kitchen presses there is a large gap the length of these units,it looks like the wall was just hammered out and inside the gap we discovered a really old looking cockroach trap (in our opinion this apartment needs more than just a trap) a lot of people wouldn't see this but as we are both tall it was a sight we had to see every day and was possibly the reason cockroaches got in so easily. behind the safety deposit box is another bad sight to see, there really is a good few gaps in this apartment that should looked at, it really makes it easy for the ants and cockroaches to get in. Lob sided shelves in the wardrobe too that look like they're about to give way any day now. So back to the cockroaches, as I said we seen the dead one, but as everyone knows, where there's one there's going to be more... Woke up during the night on Tuesday to get something from the kitchen, and there was one running past the fridge. Yuck! So the Wednesday afternoon @ 2.15 we went to reception to report this, only to find no one at the desk, so we went into the pool bar to ask the lad if he knew where the receptionist was, he told us that the receptionist wouldn't be back until 4, and if there was anything he could help with. We just said ehh well we have cockroaches, and he kindly gave us some spray. If there was no receptionist around surely a notice should be left on the desk?! any way we sprayed the apartment, and that was that, or so we thought, we were up early saturday morning only to find we had a guest in our bedroom, another cockroach. It's a shame really. Enough about the lodgers. Thursday morning our water was cut off for nearly 2 hours, we received no notice that it was being cut off, so eh showers,toilets, washing hands all of that kinda stuff was a no go! Now as I've said the bar staff were lovely and this is nothing to do with their cooking as everything was cooked perfectly, we ordered a chicken and bacon sandwich and a breakfast but both meats were like rubber! kind of like the ones you buy frozen, again it was nothing to do with the cooking, just the choice of food being bought to cook. The pool was lovely, perfect size for the complex, plenty of sun loungers, there is a pool table on site as well which was good! Oh yeah the tv had a mind of it's own too, at times you'd be able to hear it but you'd be watching a black screen, our ceiling fan clicked like mad so having that on wasn't really a good option either.

I think we would of had a more enjoyable experience had we of been in an upper level apartment away from the side entrance/supermarket. Pest control really was the main issue here and maybe the apartment should be looked into further based on what we experienced for the week.
All staff were lovely but we won't be returning!

Room Tip: AVOID room 103, try get an upper level apartment away from supermarket!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved this place, staff are so friendly, nothing was a bother. Very clean and never saw any cockroaches here at all. Rooms cleaned every day and the towels were nice and soft and smelt really fresh. Jack cooked us a nice lunch most days and the prices were very reasonable. Large beer was only 2.50 euro served in an iced glass. Pool was so clean and pool area was swept and hosed down every morning. Never had a problem getting a sunbed. When we went into the bar for a drink the owners partner always had a chat with you, he even bought us both a drink on the house that evening before we left. It is nice and quiet at night and very secure as you need to put a code into the electric gate to get in at night after 9:00pm. Only a short walk down to the beach front although on the way back there is a very steep hill which is fun to get up especially if you have had one too many. Overall I rate this place very high and would definitely would come back again. You are made to feel very welcome and at home, I would recommend this place to anyone. Keep up the good work folks and hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the right of the reception on the top floor, the rooms are so clean and very spacio...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel nicoletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went there recently. Very impressed, clean, quiet and good facilities. The club nights are a bit of a rip off. Still plenty of choice in town. Great family place, kids didn't leave the poolside for 10 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have just got home from a one week stay in the Bitacora and I am so upset to be back! From the start we were made to feel very welcome and got to know all staff and other holiday gowers...it felt as though we were one big family. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and there was alot of dinner/entertainment on in the hotel pool bar for a GREAT price! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca_Solomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Manager at Bitacora Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Refreshing and enjoyable to read your review! Thank you for taking the time to write it.
I think it is obvious we offer clean comfortable rooms at a fair price. And into the bargain, you can come and have as you say a good meal and entertainment at a great price too!
That is what we offer, and don't pretend to be anything else! I think that is what people enjoy and they do come back year after year. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you let your friends and family know about us.
Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from a 14 night stay, after reading some reviews for these apartment I was a bit worried, but as soon as we arrived my mind was put at ease. The apartment was clean and had everything you could need for a self catering holiday, having the English speaking stations was great for nights we were staying in, our apartment (215) had air con at an extra cost (€70) which I was delighted with, and we also had a pool view. The pool bar was nice the food was lovely and the staff very friendly, The pool area was nice and there was always beds free, people were reserving bed early morning and not turning up till the afternoon but you get that everywhere. Shop on site is super handy, our towels were changed 6 times in the 2 weeks and bed changed once, the only issues I had were the price of the Wi-Fi (it really should be free) and not having a sweeping brush in the apartment, having gone to beach a few days the floors were covered in sand and very annoying, but other then that it was a great apartment and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing