We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitacorra Club Apartments”
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we returned from a 2 week stay at these apts on Wednesday 26 Sept. we travelled from Bristol with friends and had a wonderful holiday in Lanzarote. these apts are basic and really are in need of updating. they are a good size for two people. the shower was powerful when it didnt alternate between hot and cold. maids changed towels every 2-3 days and beds were changed once a week. we had to pay extra for air conditioning but it was essential as it was quite hot. Also had to pay extra deposit for safe and air con. so all the extras soon added up to what was meant to be a cheaper holiday. the pool bar didnt stay open late and the reception was only opened between the hours of 9a.m. to 9p.m. which wasnt the most convenient. apartment had their own 'supermarket' which was open literally all hours. prices were higher than the Spar or Hyper Dino which were only 10 mins away and well worth the walk for stocking up on essentials. the pool was clean but icy cold, although once in you adapted to it.. the beach was lovely but you are charged 6 euros for a sunbed. would recommend Pinocchios for a lovely meal on the strip but we did like the old town down by the harbour... not so busy. we really enjoyed the trip to Timnafaya and would recommend it to anyone. I would stay again at these apartments if the holiday was cheap enough and if you arent expecting luxury then these apartments would be ok. We did ask for upstairs apts but were given 2 ground floor apts beside each other which worked out just fine. All in all, there are probably better apartments in PDC but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: if downstairs, you might see a few cockroaches but we didnt have any in our apartment at all the ent...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Bitacora Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 935 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

just returned for a two week stay with friends,we enjoyed our time here the place was clean spacious granted rooms were a bit dated BUT you only get what you pay for.Pool side bar did a lovely breakfast for 3.50 ,though I did find other snacks a bit on the pricey side compared to in town .Cleaners came to us three times a week with change of towels and changed sheets every week .Shop very good next to hotel for essentials but spar much cheaper and only 10 min walk away ,don't bother buying fresh milk it goes off in a day even when refridgerated .We have stayed in playa blanca before but never in PDC,and was pleasantly surprised though not as pretty as playa blanca there was certainly more to do and time went by too quickly ,the local beach is lovely sunbeds cost 6 euro for the day and we went their several times .Eating out in town is very reasonable but they do tend to sting you with the drink prices and watch the tax some places add on .All in all had a great time at the end of the day you get what you pay for and we were not disappointed .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrap538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here with two others for 10 nights and returned home Tuesday September 24th and it ended up with the nickname s**tacora!. The apts are basic and having spoken whilst out in Puerto del Carmen to a Norwegian man who had the job of going around checking accommodation, I found out the furniture has being in the aparts since the early 70's and he confirmed its a 2 star!. My friend found a hair in her food when out by the pool (which is small ish, basic with no shallow end) and when she told the lady behind the counter she replied "well its not mine"..no apology. The reception doesn't seem to be open all hours like most good hotels so we didn't even check out on Tuesday morning and just left, leaving the key in the door. As a lady on the plane who also stayed at the hotel said, had there been any problems during the night, in need of a doctor say you'd be stuck. We stayed in the ground floor apt 128 and in the bedroom, the wall nearest the bathroom, the two pin socket was on a side and when I put my two pin plug in, small blue sparks came out. Also half the time our lights wouldn't work then suddenly they would. The shower head fell o0ff a few times, causes water to nearly flood the bathroom!. To use the microwave we had to hold the plug whilst it cooked food. Last Saturday night after returning from out two days in Fuerteventura, which I have to say is cheaper, classier etc and a visit there is a must!. .I came to make the sofa bed which I slept on to find down the back of the cushions was a dirty pair of rolled up socks, not belonging to any of us. If you ask the reception to call a taxi, they expect you to pay for the call, although that may depend on whos behind the desk as when planning our trip to Fuerteventura, the guy seem to use the phone for us and no charge. Also if you want to use the computers at a charge, the don't really work or are really slow..not really very good when you have a time limit!...25 euros for the wifi for one week, although when given a password, only one handset etc can log on to it at once. In the café area the chairs are plastic and one women was sat eating and realised the chair was giving way and the back of it was wrapping around her almost.

Good points..not far from the centre/shops and bars...apart from the steep hills walking back!. No problems getting a sunlounger, no problems getting more towels when requested. Most of the poolside food was ok, when no hairs present.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Manager at Bitacora Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with future guests. What I love about Tripadvisor, is it gives the Establishment the chance to give our side of things,. So to that end I would like to respond to your comments.
First of all, the complex opened in 1989. Your Norwegian friend could not possibly have been in this complex in the 70s! And the furniture, while not modern, was in fact replaced 6 years ago, and reupholstered 2 and a half years ago.
The Complex is a 2 Star. I am not sure why he would have had to confirm this to you. We advertise ourselves as a 2 Star complex and in fact , as you arrive at the complex, as is law in Spain, there is a sign displaying this,. . So I am a little confused as to why this seemed to be news to you.
I spoke to the Lady in the Bar and she explained the hair situation to me. She is totally grey. Her granddaughter has blonde hair, And the hair that was found in your food, was black. The colour of your friends hair who was sat beside you.
As I said, we are a 2 star hotel, and we charge accordingly. Average about 30 euro a room. And there were 3 of you. So that is 10 euro per person a night. We are not the Sheraton. Nor do we pretend to be. We offer clean basic accommodation at very reasonable prices. We do not have a 24 hour reception. But we have a 24 Hour Emergency should anyone need us. So we are contactable should any problem arise. In all apartments , we also have an information sheet, which gives any telephone numbers you might need, including a Doctors Number.
Our reception staff are very helpful and courteous, and if anything is reported to them, they act on this with total efficiency.
I have checked over the dates that you stayed.
There is only one note, and that was for 3 extra pillows. There is no mention of any of the other problems in the apartment. If you had reported these to us, we would have seen to them immediately.
Our policy is to charge for local calls.
A little like the Ryanair model! We offer cheap accomodation without the frills! So extras are charged. As you pointed out to me that one of the receptionists did not charge, I have spoken to him. And he will charge for all calls moving forward.
I am sorry you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us, and that you seemed to be expecting something that was above a 2 Star Hotel. But I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. My advise for you in the future is check out what category hotel you are going to. And if you have any problems, let the reception know. As most places are very good at sorting out any little things while you are in resort. And unfortunately, we are not mind readers! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

just returned from a 10 night stay at the Bitacorra and can honestly say we had a good sized room overlooking the pool. Yes the apartments are tired but are supplied with all the things you need.The location of the Bitacorra is at the top of a hill some say cardiac hill but no its not , that title must go to the road 2 blocks along the strip.Marco and Rodri from reception are both very pleasent and helpful as are the cleaners the only thing i found not good was that the floors in the apartments and balcony are not brushed or washed while they are used so feet were dirty if you removed your shoes, maybe if they supplied a sweeping brush and pan so the clients could sweep the floors but apart from that our stay at the Bitacorra was brill and we will stay there again

Room Tip: higher flors are best and the ones to the right of reception are best as they face the pool and have...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireBabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Travelling as part of a larger party, I was made welcome and although the apartment wasn't quite ready when I arrived, it didn't matter as a cold beer made the waiting easier. The facility has a restaurant and bar on a raised area next to the pool. The pool is adequate (don't expect to do lengths though) clean and fairly warm. The apartments (well mine) had a kettle, toaster, fridge and all cutlery. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, although generally, the furniture was a little tired and the tv was ancient but worked,..... just.
For a short stay Bitacora was all that I needed, the walk down into town was easy as was the taxi ride back, €5 inc tip was all that was required seemingly where ever I went in town. Would go back for another short break with no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Forgelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 2 week stay at Bitacora Apts....would def recommend and would def return again....apt clean....pool spotless....food from poolside bar nice and very cheap and bar staff really pleasant...just five mins walk to the main strip....bit of a steep hill back up to apt so may not suit some people...im always apprehensive booking accommodation abroad as im a bit obsessed with cleanliness....but this place was perfect...I really couldn't fault the place....reception staff not particularly friendly but wouldn't knock the place just for that....will recommend to everyone :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glitzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a week with my partner...arrived to a receptionist who was friendly and helpful, we stayed in a ground floor apartment which was clean but there was a few cockroaches about! I must add they were dead ha we didn't use the pool area but it seemed clean and the kids around the pool looked like they were having fun.

The hotel bar always seemed to be closed so we didn't get to use it but the shop has a good selection and everything you may need during your stay, and its open til 11.30pm so that's a bonus if you arrive late.

The complex is located on top of a hill and its very steep so we walked down and for 2.50 got a taxi back..

So would I stay here again? No, I've paid less in other places and got a few more amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nunu10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#36 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing