We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel, all you'd need in PDC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great family hotel, all you'd need in PDC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned home for a 22night stay at the Bitacora and had a great time.
In a nutshell

ROOMS : spacious and clean with 2 single beds in the bedroom, bath shower sink and toilet in the bathroom, large wardrobe, and toaster, kettle, 2 ring hob and microwave in the kitchen, plus all the utensils you'd need. In the living area was a sofa, chair and TV with lots of English/irish channels.

POOL/BAR : good sized pool for the hotel (not big enough to do lengths in though) with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Note: in the summer months be prepared to get out there and get a sunbed early as they are quickly snapped up. Sometimes the pool man removes unused towels after 30 mins of non-use, but only in the morning. Bar serves good food at reasonable prices e.g. English breakfast 3.50euro and a large local beer 2.50euro. There is entertainment on 3 nights a week, (BBQ, drag show and Karaoke) but even in the height of summer this often got cancelled as there was a lack of interest. This meant that some nights the bar was closed up at 8pm, where as other nights it was open to the early hours. I guess if there is enough people drinking it will stay open.

CLIENTELE : mainly families with young children or younger couples. There were a few youngsters on drinking holidays, but they were mainly nocturnal appearing at the pool late in the day and disappearing late into the night causing no bother.

LOCATION: there is an onsite shop for all your immediate needs, but there is also a hipperdino supermarket on the next corner and 2 spars further down the road that are a little cheaper if your planning to eat in. Its a 5 min walk into the new town zig zaging your way down the hill, or a 10 min walk into the old town. In the new town you'll find plenty of restaurants and bars severing a range of Tex mex, Chinese, Asian and Indian food. lots do three course meals for under 10euros a head. Further down in Atlantico CC are the late night bars and clubs serving 2 for 1 cocktails and pounding out the music till 6am. In the old town you'll find much nicer scenic restaurants serving fresh fish off the boats in the harbour, steaks and other dishes of the day. You'll pay a little more but its worth it. Watching the sun set with a jug of sangria is a great way to start the evening. On the way down the hill you'll pass Biosphere shopping mall where there is a mcdonalds with a burger king just over the road if that's what your after. In terms of the bars, there are LOTS and I mean LOTS of irish bars, each with live music most nights, or quizzes. We enjoyed Brian Boru and Craic N Ceol. If you want to watch the football Oreileys has loads of TVs showing at least 6 different games at a time (new town) and The inn place is a good spot too (old town).

BEACH : playa Grande the main beach is big with sun beds and pedal boats with slides. The sand is black and gets VERY hot so don't forget your flip flops. There are toilets and showers in the centre only. Playa Chica is where you'll find the water sports centre, good fun watching people jump off the pier all day.

TRIPS : tourist ticket and last minute travel do a range of trips and days out which I think we did most of!
DRAG SHOW - We went to the drag show at Music Hall Tavern which is certainly worth a visit. Id have gone again if we hadnt have left it so late. Very funny and family friendly.
SHORT SOUTH TOUR - We also did the short south tour which includes a stop in Yazia for a coffee, wine tasting(yuk!!), a camel ride (must do but extra cost) the crater tour and the trip to Timanfaya which is the volcan grill. Here you can get a meal cooked over the heat of the volcano. You can also do the Volcan Grill trip with only includes the meal in the evening.
NORTH TOUR We then did the North tour, which is much different to the south. We went to the tropical bird park where I got to feed the penguins and the otters and saw a parrot show, We then headed to a view point for photos and a buffet style lunch with wine at a typical canary restaurant. From there we headed to Jameo Del Agua one of Ceasar manrique's creations and onto the foundation. A great trip to see the nrth side of the island.
TEGUISE MARKET (sunday) we got the 4euro bus to teguise market and spent most of the morning sampling the food they had. Its not the best market but if you want nicknacks, sunglasses 'designer' bags etc get haggling and im sure youll find a bargain.
RANCHO TEXAS a great day out for everyone. parrot show was good, sea lion show was really cute, and birds of prey show was amazing as they fly so low you think they might land on you. Lots of animals to see and watch being fed, and then there is the new pool and slide area to go a swim in if its a nice warm day.
SPORT FISHING LANZAROTE This was my favourite of all trips. Not having fished much Loui was a great host and I caught a fish within minutes of getting my rod. later that day we caught a 6ft shark and a massive sting ray. made my holiday this trip did.
GO KARTING they will come and pick you up from your hotel and drop you off again later so don't worry about transfers. 30 euros will get you plenty of lap time and with 6 or more people you can have a competition.
FUERTAVENTURA for 45 euros you can do a trip to the neighbour island which is another bus tour taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous sand dunes at La Olivia beach. Price includes dinner, but I think there was a cheaper option that was just the boat trip to Correlajo.
WATER SPORTS down on playa chica you can get loads of water sports packages ranging in price to include jet ski hire, banana boat rides, paragliding and more. There are also loads of dive centres which id research more if your planning on doing this. Having dived in Tenerife already I saved my money.

Overall a great holiday. we had lots of fun, with plenty to do, some lovely food and great days out sight seeing. If you are a family with young children the Bitacora is a great cheap getaway with clean affordable accommodation.

Room Tip: Two storey hotel. Only half has air con - enquire when booking or rent a fan. ground floor rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KWozniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    328
    187
    43
    33
See reviews for
212
429
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We paid cheap so didn't have high expectations. We got what we paid for. We would stay there again despite the steep hill. The only problem we had was noise from inconsiderate people who were up until 5 am drinking and shouting outside their apartments on ground level. Although our complaint was dealt with the next day. Saying this, if you want luxury then you have a price to pay for it so no complaints here. We had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely, clean hotel with friendly staff. Nice kitchen area, with all you need provided, if you were to eat in. Tasty food in the cafe onsite. Supermarket onsite. No air con in one half of building but you can hire a fan. Plenty of umbrellas around the pool to provide shade. If you don't manage to get a sun lounger you should be able to get one within a few hours as people are coming and going all day. Reception will actually remove towels that have been left on beds too long with noone using them.
Only a 5 minute walk to the beach/pubs etc. You do have to zig zag your way there but it's easy to find your way back.

Room Tip: Request air-con. This was my only downside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Over All Hotel
When we arrived at the hotel we were skeptical about what we were turning up to. We were however pleasantly surprised. We cannot understand the negative reviews. The hotel, room and pool ares were clean, the staff friendly and welcoming and the facilities were great. Our only complaint is the a lack of sun beds but for such a small hotel, in the middle of summer we cannot complain.

Room
We were shocked by the room when we arrived. For the price we paid (just over £400 for two weeks for two people) the room was lovely. Very large kitchen/living room with 2 hobs; full cutlery and tea set; microwave; kettle; toaster; TV (with free English, Irish and Spanish channels) and Fridge (we were given a new one 2 days into the holiday even though we hadn't complained). The bathroom was modern, large and very clean. The bed room was of good size with two single beds, a wardrobe with coat hangers, blankets (if required) and a safe. The safe could be rented for 13 euros a week. You could also rent a fan for 13 euros a week but if you go to the electrical shops on the sea-front you could buy one for around 15 euros. Weren't given a room with a balcony but we did have a porch with three chairs, a table and a clothes dryer. (Another review had said ground floor apartments had issues with insects. We only had two cockroaches in the two weeks and one came through the bathroom window. It wasn't an issue in our opinion.) The Room was cleaned all the time, we were told that the room would be cleaned every other day. The towels cleaned every three days and the sheets changed once a week. However, the maid never seemed to be out of our room and out towels were changed constantly.

Hospitality
The staff in the reception and shop were lovely. Very friendly, very informative and were willing to help in any way they could. Excursions were very easy to book (see excursion section) through the staff at reception. We didn't see the owners of the Hotel often but they were friendly and welcoming when we did.

Location
As hotels in Lanzarote can only be built to two levels good views are hard to come by in any hotel. This hotel was on top of a hill about 5 streets away from the beach ( on of the roads to the apartment was named Cardiac Hill, so it gives you a sense of the trek up it.) I wouldn't recommend the hotel to elderly people, but it wasn't a huge issue and my boyfriend has particularly bad asthma. There is a relatively cheap Irish bar on the way down to the beach with regular entertainment. Also for a 'yorkshire' style pub there is the tiny bar on the sea front in the direction of Costa Teguise which is also cheap. Unlike main land Spain there isn't any large supermarkets, only SPAR. We did however find a cheaper SPAR behind the nightclubs on the sea front, it is a walk from the hotel but for the food choices and the cost its worth the walk.

Pool
The pool was a good size, not large enough to do lengths but great for a quick dip and paddle to cool down. The pool is open 9.00am-8.00pm, during this time it was cleaned. During our stay there were a lot of children around the pool meaning it was often noisy and we frequently got splashed (we did visit Bitacora Club in August so children are difficult to avoid) but this was expected. Food and drink was allowed around the pool area, however glass and mugs were only allowed in the pool bar area. We only had one issue with the pool area and that was the amount of sunbeds. The rules stated that sunbeds were not allowed to be reserved and any towels would be removed after 30 minuets. We put two towels out at 9.10am as we were unable to find sun loungers the previous day. At 9.30 am when we returned from the shop our towels had been removed even though there was no shortage of sun loungers. This was irritating because at any other time of the day for the next week we were unable to find a bed without a towel reserving the space (most were reserved either all morning or all afternoon and the towels were not removed). this ruined the second week as the wind is so strong, the beach is often uncomfortable as you get sand blasted. There was also Bingo each day at 5.00pm around the pool area, at first i thought it would become irritating however it was a form of entertainment as the owners were so friendly.

On-site Facilities
The Pool bar was over priced as far as we were concerned. A coffee, bacon sandwich and sausage sandwich cost 8.50 euros. A good bakery/Cafe called Lollitas opposite the ice-cream and waffle stand on the sea front just past Mulligans bar. Here you can grab a coffee and croissant for 1.80 euros and other pastries were under 1 euro. We also found the alcohol to be expensive at the pool bar. I can't remember the exact price but for a pint and a half of larger it was around 5 euros. Instead, the shop attached to the apartments sell 1.5 litres of San Miguel for 2 euros (although you cant take the glass around the pool, its much cheaper). The shop next-door was very convenient and not much more expensive than the SPAR at the bottom of the hill. The hotel also arranged special nights, Drag Queens, BBQ and Fish and Chips once a week. Unfortunately we couldn't attend any of these nights as there hadn't been enough interest for them to go ahead.

Excursions
We chose to go on the Volcan Grill tour for 55 euros each. This was the expensive volcano tour as my boyfriend wanted to each from the volcano so this tour included the evening meal. For a whistle stop tour of almost everything the Island has to offer you can take part in the North and the South tour. We also took part in the North Tour (46 euros per person) this included entrance to Cesar Manrique' s Home, Museum of Farmer, Jameos del Agua (which was beautiful), the green caves, the valley of ten thousand palms and a trip up a mountain to see the views from the east of the island and the west of the island. I would definitely recommend this tour and we wished we had taken part in the South tour.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a a room on the second floor with a pool view as some rooms overlooked a buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back after a ten day stay at bitacora with my husband and two year old...the aprts were good and basic...they were cleaned every other day which was good and even provided cockroach spray...we only found one in our entire stay ...think its a lanzarote problem not bitacora...the pool was brilliant just the right size for little ones...food in pool bar is good...the bingo an the music were the best part of the day round the pool. We didnt stay at the apts in the nite but wen we got bak each nite between 11 and 1 the pool bar was closed an very quiet. staff were all very friendly not a good location for peope with walming difficties as at the top.of a steep hill. Overall we had a good time a d would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here from Aug 6th to Aug 18th. Booked flights and accomadation separately. We asked for a ground floor apartment overlooking the kiddies pool with an apartment next door for my parents who came with us. We got what we asked for 114 and 115 and it was perfect for someone with kids but all apartments are overlooking pools so you cannot go wrong. Would recommend booking a ground floor if you have kids or elderly. The bitacora responded to my email requiring the apartments side by side within a few hours. Fans are available at a very low cost and you can also book a room with air conditioning in advance which i too would recommend doing.
There is an adults pool and a kiddies pool both of good sizes. The pool area is very clean and tidy but there is a SERIOUS lack of sunbeds. One would want to be up at the crack of dawn and ready to run at 9am to grab a bed. In fairness to the guy who cleans the pool he stops people from putting out their towels until he is finished but some mornings if he was finished early people were out earlier. Every day i noted the same people putting out their towels and taking off for most of the day leaving some people sitting and lying on the ground on their towels. Disgraceful. The bed grabbers know themselves who they are and i have no problem with someone rushing for a bed once they use it and not let it sitting idle all day with a towel on it. There were sun umbrellas around the pool too. I counted 22 umbrellas which i thought was ok for a small complex but another 12 or so would not go astray.
There is an on site supermarket but be warned it is very expensive. Go out of the Bitacora and take a left and left again and walk for about 5-7 mins and on your left is the Hiper Dino supermarket for less than half the price of the onsite shop.
There is also a pool side snack bar, restaraunt on site too which i only used twice. Lovely people ran it, Jen and John, real nice people.
The bitacora apartments are a good 10 minutes walk down a hill to the main strip and is fine going down but not coming back up especially if you have a buggy or have difficulties walking.
This did not suit us as we have a buggy and found it a real downer having to walk up so we took a taxi at a cost of 3 euros every night.
The apartments are clean and basic. it is not a 5 star but i did not book a 5 star or pay for a 5 star. A couple of nights there was a lot of people shouting and singing and in the pool at all hours drinking which i thought was unfair to people on holidays to relax. One night 4am i saw a girl being attacked by another girl and the screams were unreal. It actually frightened me. The poor girl happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time when she was attacked on her way home in the apartment block. I could not believe that there is no security at all after 9pm until 9am the following morning. Some morning the Bitacora is going to find someone floating in the pool if they do not get security to man the apartments by night. There are security cameras but they are only viewed if something is reported.
Would i stay here again? NO. In my opinion they are too far away from the main strip and there is not much happening there. If you are looking for a quite holiday away from the strip and do not mind walking then you may like these but i hope you get quiter neighbours than we did.
I will say the reception guy Rodri was a very nice person to deal with. He was efficient and friendly. He was constantly smiling at everyone and was pleasant to the children.
On one occasion i saw a couple drinking by the side of the pool out of glass bottles and smoking in the pool. He dealt with this straight away. Why people do this amazes me, Not a nice sight for kids to see.
All in all i have to say we did have a nice time but will not return due to us prefering to be nearer to the main strip. If i were to give it marks i would say 7 out of 10. This is me being honest as i can be without slating the aparmtments. PS must say we met some really nice people there too. A lovely lady by the name of Jen who was from the UK who thought my son to swim. Thanks Jen, i hope your girls were happy to see you back home again. Also a lovely couple from Liverpool who we spoke to every day. There little boy jamie played with our little girl ava and we were sad to see them leave. Hope ye got home safe.

Room Tip: ground floor with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryCocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Cheap basic (very) accommodation that we used as a base for our ( myself and my 15 year old son) week in Lanzarote. Upon arrival we asked for the wifi code but were informed it would cost €25 for the week!
We therefore declined as it us available free in most restaurants and bars. We were then offered the opportunity to hire a fan? Upon entering the room it then became apparent that the installed fan in the main living room had been deliberately disabled in order to create the need to hire a fan from reception. On a pretty tight budget we decided to keep the back door and bedroom window on a night to provide ventilation. This was not ideal and in fact was a very real security risk.
We took the room on tuesday, August 6th. The room was not cleaned (including the bin being emptied) until Friday despite the room being vacated by 11:00am every day. Cockroach's and ants were having a ball by this time.
This was the only time the room was cleaned and the beds re made in our entire stay.
Be prepared for mid afternoon bingo, loud music up to midnight and drunken pool invasions around 2:00am.
Very poor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twobikes117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#26 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Property: Bitacora Club
Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing