We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tips for a great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shipston on Stour, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tips for a great family stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can't believe some people stayed in the same hotel as us.  We had a wonderful time and spoke to lots of people who'd stayed there before.  We'll certainly be returning.

A few tips to making the most of your stay:

1) there is a window between 650 and 720am to bag a sunbed  closest to the pool.  It will obviously be much easier outside school hols. There were still beds available until 11am most days, but not close to the pools.
2) mealtimes can be busy, but a smile and a thank you to the staff goes a long. Yes staff are busy but always worked extremely hard.  Cut them some slack!
3) mini disco was a huge win for the kids.  Some of the shows were fantastic, others less so.  Again, getting in early bags the better tables.
4) get involved in the daily activities - they are great fun and the staff do a great job.
5) If something isn't working in your room - telephone reception and someone will be over straight away.  Our air con stopped, but the engineer quickly identified we'd left the balcony door open slightly.
6). Yes there are sometimes queues for drinks at the bars.  It is peak August, so the hotel will be busy, hence queues.  Most of the time it was a matter of a couple of minutes. Often there was no queue.
7) get taxi from airport for €12-€15.  Quick and no fuss.
8) don't bother buying inflatables - people leaving the hotel leave theirs next to the place where u get your towels.
9) wifi code can be obtained from reception. It is free of charge.
10) there are lots of English tv channels on the tv in the room.
11) shower gels, shampoo are provided.  Sun tan lotion can be bought right outside the hotel.
12). Food - there must be at least 100 dishes, bowls and plates of food at lunch and dinner.  Loads of choice for all tastes and all nationalities.  Yes, queues may develop, especially for omelettes and cooked meat / fish but these are all cooked fresh to order, so expect a small wait.  yes there will be kids wandering around getting food, but it is a buffet.  The daily evening menus were great.
13) rooms absolutely spotless.  Cleaned and tidied daily.  Bottle of fizz and fruit bowl on arrival. Great touch.
14) branded drinks at all bars. Coke, fanta vodka, gin etc all from main brands.
15) it's mainly a family hotel so bear this in mind re atmosphere if no kids.
Possible improvements: blackcurrant and orange squash for kids (fresh juice available on tap but sometimes like an alternative).  Ice lollies would be welcome addition.
All in all a superb holiday in a superb hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your kind review, which surely will also be very helpful for Tripadvisor readers looking for a nice family hotel.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the varied all inclusive offer, the friendly and attentive service as well as the facilities of our Resort.

Your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and please be assured that we took good note of your ideas of possible improvements.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    980
    278
    68
    30
See reviews for
1,476
1,645
73
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My third trip here and it is such an easy, comfortable, friendly venue. Staff work hard to please, rooms are clean, location is nice and away from the hussle and bussle. It is a little pricey but a super hotel with the only real downside being the evening entertainment... not seen a decent act and so happy to have a night cap in the piano bar. Roll on January!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** and appreciated our efforts to have a perfectly maintained hotel.

It says it all that you have returned here numerous times, and as always it was a pleasure to have you back in the hotel enjoying our facilities.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in January!

With kind regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited last year as a family and loved it (see previous review). Somethings are the same some have improved and some are worse.
Positives.
this is still a great hotel for families, the ease of all inclusive, the activities for children/teenagers, wifi throughout the hotel (essential for teenagers).
comfortable rooms, plenty storage (could do with extra hangers though)
plentiful variety of food, themed food nights giving some change to otherwise monotonous choice!
branded alcohol but large measures.

negatives
sunbed wars, far worse than last year despite removal of towels before 9am.
bun fight at mealtimes
very understaffed bars

I am fully aware of the constraints of very busy holiday times and all inclusive resorts but i believe if a few changes were made this could be be a brilliant holiday hotel.

Management often make comments in response to comments on trip advisor reporting that they will take suggestions for change into consideration but this does not seem to have applied since our last visit.
the staff work extraordinarily hard, but there are simply not enough staff to cope with demand during peak season, especially in the bar areas. There were often queues and long waits. One night i waited 20 mins in the piano bar with only one bartender.
AI card system works sometimes, but it can allow for underage drinking, although management try to tackle the problem, they fail. They need to implement a colour coded wrist band system to prevent this. One colour for adults one for under 18 yrs. Not all parents want their children to drink alcohol.
In cyprus most hotels allocate sunbeds to clients on arrival, your sunbed for the whole of your stay whereby stopping the sun bed wars. I think management should seriously consider this during peak holiday season.

A special mention to Jesus and Redder (sorry if i got the spelling wrong) they were exceptional in keeping the teenagers entertained, you made our holiday easier!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad to hear that it was already your second stay with us and that that you consider our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** a great hotel for families.

Be assured that we do take the feedback of our guests into account. Therefore we have just recently changed our entertainment programme (rest assured that we passed your praise on to Jesús and Reda) and also increased the number of staff. Furthermore we have decided on a different procedure regarding the sun bed issue and will be implementing changes before high season.

In order to avoid underage drinking our staff always asks for an ID whenever we have the feeling that a guest is under 18 yrs. However we would like to thank you for your suggestion to issue coloured wrist bands for young adults as well. This is really a very good idea and we will discuss this in our next staff meeting.

Once again we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and would be delighted to have another possibility to convince you of our commitment to excellence.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's a massive hotel and I'd like to point out first that I've given 'service' 3 stars because on several occasions people queuing at the pool bar were served in no particular order. In my opinion it was def under staffed but they worked quickly and it didn't spoil my holiday. Everything else is positive! Lots to do thru day squash, tennis, darts, archery, etc. Kids loved the giant chess board and also the large inflatable slide that was put in the pool a couple times a week. The beach was gorgeous and directly behind the hotel. The food was best we've ever had with roast chicken beef duck pork at a rotisserie counter every night plus the usual 'themed' nights; salad bar, pasta bar etc. Would def recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spangles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent cuisine to the maximum and already passed your praise on to our head chef.

Please understand that during your stay our hotel was at full capacity with almost 1400 guests to be served and although we did our best it was not always possible to avoid certain queues. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

It was a pleasure for us that you chose to stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Travelled 25/7/13 - 8/8/13. Two adults and two children (10 & 8). We were allocated room 1016 which is a ground floor room in Lobos. Adequate room but bathroom too small and no view (we did not pay extra for one).
Sunbed issue as everyone else has mentioned is a pain. Maybe they need to allocate you however many sunbeds you need on arrival and you use them for the duration of your stay.
There are no lifeguards at the pools and some people think it is acceptable to let young children run around jumping in and out of pools unsupervised.
Yes the hotel was very busy but the staff were wonderful and worked extremely hard. The food was of a good standard and so was the entertainment. I am not sure what some people expect, it's not Las Vegas!
The only real downside for me was you can't see the sea from any of the bars, so if you are expecting a cocktail watching the sunset you will be disappointed. We had a great holiday and we would return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you for kind words about our staff and the good food.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and consider returning.

Especially during school holidays a lot of families with small children like to spend their holidays in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****. We do trust that our guests meet their parental responsibilities, but nevertheless our team also tries to interfere in situations where other guests might get disturbed. Please accept our sincere apologies that our efforts were not always successful.

However we wish to inform you that our pool attendants take care and control the safety in the pool, especially for the wellbeing of our small guests.

It is true that it is not possible to see the sea from any of the bars, but if you love to watch romantic sunsets we would like to suggest our category B and C rooms for your next stay. These rooms offer wonderful views over the extensive palm garden, the idyllic pool area or the sea.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

had a great time here , the hotel itself is breathtaking. On an eveing there was never the same entertainment which was a godsend as at other hotels its the same week in week out.
The food was excellent always something for everyone my son being a fussy eater was spoilt for choice. I take my hat off to all the bar staff and waiters/waitresses etc the hours they work made me appreciate my job more. I got a bottle of cava left in the room on my birthday with a card from the hotel a spa gift set was also left one day , never had these before on any other holiday.since I got back I have telling all my work colleagues they need to check out your hotel me and my family will definitely be returning also try the taste of india restaurant curry to die for with excellent service .

Tina, Steve and Dawson x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Tina, Steve and Dawson,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa and that you were especially satisfied with our outstanding cuisine and service.

We are glad that you liked the little surprise we prepared for you and hope that you had an unforgettable birthday here on Lanzarote.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to the Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** in the near future.

Best regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here as a family of five 7/8/13 for two weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and the evening entertainment has improved compared to the previous year when we stayed here. We do feel that there should be more entertainment suitable for 8-10 year age range during the day, the kids club was too young for my 9 year old but he was too young to do the 11 plus activities. The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent, the staff are always polite and work very hard. If you want a poolside bed you have to get up and reserve your beds at 7.30 am. The hotel staff remove towels if you aren't minding them before 9 am. We think a better system would be to totally remove the towels and put them in a box in front of the towel hut with a number if they are unoccupied. This would encourage other hotel guests looking for a sunbed to reserve the loungers that others had left unoccupied. Another suggestion is that there should be a fridge for all inclusive guests so that they can get bottled water without queuing at the pool and snack bars. Another suggestion is to have paper cups and draft soft drinks on the bar for especially for children to access drinks at the bars without having to queue, as I noticed that sometimes children had to wait longer than adults to be served at the bar. We feel that there were too little staff serving at the bars during the day and also in the Bellingo bar at night there were only usually two waiters taking orders from the tables, has the hotel considered a ticket/ number/ buzzer system to ensure the bar staff serve people in the correct order? We think that we would have awarded 5 stars if the waiting times were reduced. The restaurant is always busy with larger queues for all the show cooking areas in particular, and we found that we couldn't be bothered queuing for an omelette or a piece of toast or a steak because it takes to long to get served and this is an issue with small children. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday but it was an expensive break and when you pay a lot your expectations are high, not quite as good as last year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frans12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Your kind words concerning the friendliness of our team, the good food and the cleanliness of our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** are highly appreciated and we are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your second holiday with us.

As we strive to maintain and continuously improve our high standards, a constructive feedback and suggestions of our guests are of great importance to us.

Therefore please rest assured that we have taken good note of your ideas for improvement and will discuss these in our next staff meeting. However please be informed that we can not always completely remove towels from sun beds, since some of our guests leave their personal belongings on them.

During high season and within peak times certain we try to avoid waiting times as best as we can, but unfortunately it is not entirely possible, especially at the live cooking stations where the food is being prepared à la minute. Furthermore in August we did have some new additions to our service team that during their very first days did not work as efficient as our other team members with years of experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused

Since we always strive to adapt our programmes to the expectations of all our guests, we would appreciate, if you could let us know, what kind of animation your 9 year old would have liked in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,808 reviews
12.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
737 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Property: Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing