We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday, lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's hard to know what to say about this hotel that hasn't already been said by other reviewers - we had visited the hotel on a few occasions whilst in Lanzarote and promised ourselves we would stay there one day. We are very glad we did. The food was marvellous (serious slimming will now have to follow!), the staff are excellent, even though they are so busy. We were very impressed by the way even the senior management waded in to help clear tables and serve at busy times. The soft drinks are good, all branded and bottled (not concentrate added to fizzy water as you often get), many international branded spirits are available (you need to ask for them by name) on All Inclusive and the house Cava and wine are very nice indeed.

The only thing we did not really like was how close together the sunbeds are, all in tight rows with barely a space between them and (of course) the perennial problem of reserving of sunbeds. Our room overlooked the pool and some sunbeds were already "reserved" with towels at 7.30 am. They were then removed by the staff, folded up and put on the tables between the sunbeds, then the "reserver" would follow the staff member and spread out the towels again - we regularly saw this happen about four times, with the "reserver" lurking around like a criminal waiting to spread out his towels again when the staff member moved on. The poor staff member would then return, fold up the towels etc., etc. I can see the management's problem about completely removing the towels etc, because many people not only use their towels to reserve, but leave personal items on the sunbeds. This would make it difficult for the management if they confiscated personal items as it could possibly be construed as theft. Even when the towels were folded up and put on the tables, the sunbeds were still effectively "reserved" as a previous reviewer has said. The situation was, of course, made worse by the fact that there are no sunbeds on the beach at present, due to a dispute with the local authority, but that's another story. The beach sunbeds are due to be replaced during July, we understand. We chatted to a manager about the situation and she sighed and said yes it was a problem, but what could they do? Beats me I'm afraid.

However, although this is irritating, it does not take away from this lovely hotel. It is eminently suitable for the disabled and less-mobile (ask for a room near to the public rooms as it looks quite a walk from some of the rooms to the dining areas) and we had a disabled-adapted room with a wet-room which had lots of grab rails and a shower seat, a high-seat toilet and a lowered wash-basin with a tilting mirror. It could have done with a lower shelf really, but that is nit-picking. (Try getting a proper disabled adapted room in the UK!!) If you need a disabled-adapted room, the hotel has four on the ground floor, two of which have garden views and two have street views. If you email the head office in Gran Canaria they are very helpful. There are plenty of ramps (some of them are a bit steep) and the main reception-to-pool/dining floor are great - you go in one door and out the other, so you don't have to "back out" or turn around if you are in a wheelchair (some lifts to the higher floors are a bit tight). The pools are accessible by beach-like slopes, but there are no grab rails for assistance in and out. There is a disabled toilet which is very well-equipped next to the dining room and pool area. The hotel has a little museum which is on a mezzanine floor so is not accessible if you can't do steps. Access to the beach front is through the gardens and out of a gate which leads to the prom along the beach where there are some shops and bars and which is nice and level.

The Belingo Bar, which is the venue for entertainment, was disappointing as their sound-system was really bad, so however reasonable the artiste was, the sound was really dreadful. Perhaps a little more investment in this would make it more enjoyable. The piano bar is very comfortable, with nice air-con, and very talented performers for several evenings a week. The bar staff are brilliant here - it is unfair to name names as they are all so good.

Cleanliness is a by-word for this hotel - it is absolutely immaculate. The bedrooms are very pretty and comfortable, efficient air-conditioning, comfy beds, good TV reception with lots of English-speaking channels including BBC1,2,ITV1,2 etc. (We also discovered that if an English-speaking movie is on dubbed in a foreign language, you can press a button (the top right-hand one) on the remote you can hear it in English! All in all, a very well-run hotel making for a truly enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Thank you all at Los Jameos Playa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunscreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us on Tripadvisor as well as for choosing our hotel for your holiday in June 2013.

As it is part of our philosophy to provide our guests with a wide range of culinary highlights, ensure an excellent and competent service and maintain as well as constantly improve all facilities, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** to a maximum.

Particularly we want to thank you for mentioning the observation you made regarding the sun bed issue. However we are glad to let you know that since 30th of July 2013 the sunbeds are back on the beach.

Once again we wish to thank you for your feedback and we will be delighted to give your special thanks to our staff.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** and send you sunny regards from Lanzarote,

Beate Sekula

Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,301
    952
    272
    66
    29
See reviews for
1,416
1,608
69
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

To sum up:
- I love the beach next to the hotel, since the water is cristal clear and there are plenty of fish (I love that)
- Great facilities and animation for children (although I have the impression that they do not pay enough attention to protecting the kids from the sun or puting sun cream on them)
- The services inside the hotel have an excelent price-quality, except for the massage in the spa (I only took one and I think it was not good enough for the price). The most amazing is a photo-shop that is kind of hidden next close to the lobby of the hotel, where you can ask a profesional photographer to take hundreds of pictures from your children in the pool (also under the water!), in the beach, in the "mini-disco", for a very competitive price.
- Last but not least: the food. If you are spanish, you will be slightly dissapointed. Even if the choice and quality is generally outstanding, they have a grill service for which you have to queue. To put it simply: 1) I did not like the quality of the fish, at least compared to other hotels where I have been. 2) The meet was better, but there was only one guy that managed to handle the grill properly, clean it regularily, and make the stakes juicy and without burning them (I think he was called Mohammed).
- Finally, it is written everywhere that you are not allowed to book the seats to lie by the swimming pool. However, everybody does it. I once asked an employee of the hotel to remove the towel from a seat that was "illegally" booked, and when the "owner" of the seat returned from his breakfast, we had a very unpleasant discussion. He even called a manager of the hotel, who happened to have the same nationality, and I was kindly asked to abandon my place in the pool arguing that all towels are removed at 9:00h, as if that would imply that booking with a towel is allowed. I felt kind of cheated, but did not want to argue... The same rules do not seem to apply for all customers.
- Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. I find it hard to imagine a better location and more beautiful gardens, pools and suroundings...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your detailed description regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

The rule not to place any towels on sunbeds before 09.00 a.m most certainly applies to all of our guests. Therefore each morning before 09.00 a.m. the pool staff - and also the management team - removes any towels that have been placed on sun loungers. Nevertheless our pool staff organizes more sunbeds in case our guests can not find a free one.



We regret to hear that the grilled fish from our island as well as the fresh fish fillets were not to your taste, but are glad that you found the choice and quality of our buffets generally to be outstanding.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of any assistance in the future.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Deputy Director Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my family's first all-inclusive resort experience. We have a 4 year old and a 6 year old and we decided, after reading zillions of reviews, to go to this resort for 7 days. It was the greatest time. The weather was fantastic, the hotel family room we were assigned to was clean, large, comfortable and just right for our family of 4, and the food was mostly wonderful. We were very tired and worn out by the time we arrived, so I admit we were just going to be happy if we could do nothing for a week. But this place exceeded our expectations. I am very protective (overly so) of my children and so I was certain that the kid programs would be ok but that I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving my kids without our supervision. How wrong I was! Thank goodness. :) Really, the two young women who ran the daily craft activities for kids - Jennifer and Kirsten - were trustworthy, enthusiastic, creative, warm and sweet. Our kids loved them, and so did all of the others. We were the only Americans at the resort during this week, it seemed, and there were mostly Scottish and British and Dutch and German families/people there - but even though the kids' program was full of children from different countries and languages, the women running the program easily communicated with all of them and all of the parents. I was impressed with the multi-lingual staff. Also, the place was quite busy and the hotel was full - so we had to wake up and rush to save ourselves some sun chairs each morning. We found that by 9:30am, we were the latecomers and had to settle for peripheral chair locations. Didn't matter, though. Every location was lovely. The kid pool was warm and safe and fun, the other pools seemed to be great temperatures and they were all lovely as well. Meals were very good - so many options for every possible person to choose from. Sometimes mealtimes were crazy busy but we didn't mind. And overall, the staff was responsive. This hotel/resort is beautiful and welcoming and you can walk right out of the property easily and onto the beach in 2 minutes and it is a 5-10 minute walk to town if you're interested. We weren't but we did rent a 4 person bike for an hour for fun one day. Truly, LOVED this place.

Room Tip: We had a patio but hardly ever went out onto it because we spent all day and evening by the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay in our hotel.

We are very happy that we could exceed your expectations and that you had an enjoyable time with us.

Your praise regarding our employees will be passed on to them. It is a great motivation for us to maintain and even improve our standards.

Once again we would like to thank you for your nice words and are already looking forward to welcome you back soon at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Best regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I work as a Travel Agent and have recetly just visited this property on a work trip.

Upon check in you are given the opton to purchase a safety deposit box for your valubles (this is certainly not something iI would be expecting to pay for at a 4 star property) you are also given a notice regarding sunbeds that none are allowed to be reserved by towels before 9 am what a load of rubbish, my room over looked the pool and most mornings there was 40 sunbeds that I could see reserved without people sitting on them, it is clear that they never send anyone around to check this and if you want to get a sunbed in the afternoon forget it ! The beach is just outside the hotels back entrance and will have sunbeds to rent for 8 euros (2 beds and parasol) go there !
a 4star hotel with one buffet restaurant is also something i have never experienced in my 22 years of travelling staff are ultra efficant and if you are not on all inclusive and want a drink a machine is practially pushed in your face to take payment immediately and everytime you want a drink, I would avoid the bars just before 2300 this is when All Inclusive finishes and you can wait to be served for 10 - 15 minutes and a clear lack of number of staff to serve.

On the plus side the buffet that is offered has pretty much everything that you want and even a fussy eater will be able to find something.

The hotel rooms are of a good size and standard and have balcony or terrace, bottled water is over priced in the hotel 2 euros 40 for half a litre but cross the road outside the front of hotel and visit spar or hiper dino and you can get a 1.5l for .74 cents !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davids2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback regarding the safety deposit, the sun beds and the beverage service is highly appreciated.

However we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your last stay.

Please be informed that on the Canary Islands the majority of hotels charge for the use of a safety box – it is a common practice here.

We do try to keep the sun bed issue under control, which is really not an easy task and we are still trying to find a perfect solution to this issue. Each morning before 09.00 a.m. our pool staff, together with the management team, removes towels which have been placed on sun loungers. Nevertheless our pool staff organizes sunbeds in case our guests can not find a free one.

Furthermore please be informed that all our guests are asked to show their plastic card each time they place an order. Four years ago we abolished the cash payment system in our restaurant, because we consider the plastic card procedure to be quicker and easier.

Since it is our aim to meet the expectations of our guests please rest assured that we took note of your observations and that we are making some changes in order to provide a quicker service at peak times in our bar.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and would be glad, if you would give us the opportunity to convince you of our high standards during a further stay.

Best regards,

Beate Sekula
Deputy Director Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived back at weekend after 10 day stay at los jamous very friendly staff excellent service from first day to last. Everything catered for food great something for everyone. Thanks specially to David, Victor and Oscar. Cleaners very all friendly could sometimes here one of them humming away was nice they were very friendly. Poolside bar staff full of fun. All staff happy to help make your holiday a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiecoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of the entire team. We really strive to ensure a relaxing stay for all our guests from the moment of their arrival until the last minute in our hotel.

It means a lot to us all to receive comments like yours, which encourage us in our work and are a huge motivation to continue in doing our utmost to exceed the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and remain with

Kind regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Me and my wife were here June for 1week. The first couple of days were very windy. A few palm trees blew over. However the wind died down and it was very hot. The hotel is fab the pictures on the website etc are all genuine. The all-inclusive drinks list is very generous along with free ice-cream and crapes/waffles everyday. The food is brilliantly cooked with theme nights although somethings could become repetitive but you will understand how difficult it would be to keep everyone happy. We personally were very satisfied. We had a reception level floor room which was beautiful facing the gardens/pool and clock which was also Above the el berlingo bar which some may say would be annoying but we was in there so it never kept us awake :-) however some nights we had an early night and the music went quiet at 11pm. I mean when you are on holiday just enjoy it! Some comments on here are quick to moan but man some people must be boring!! This was our first all-imcousive holiday through first choice and it definitely sold the experience to us. However not much could be said for the first-choice transfers back to the airport after our holiday, turning up half hour late at 10am and check-in at the airport Was 10:10am then the coach went the other way and did the rounds! And didnt arrive untill 10:45 with queues iut the door!. I would reccommend private transfers or taxi. There is taxis outside the hotel and it only takes 6-7mins to get to the airport so i have no idea what the coach transfers were playing at. However just book this hotel you wont be dissapointed. The bar staff are great and waiting staff - a lady called Marta especially is very lovely and makes perfect cocktails, some on the male staff at the pool bar need to cheer up though and were grumpy and rude, but hey who cares they r only serving me a drink lol :-). We would return here, however not just yet as there are other destinations we now want to try. Thanks for a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Room 2048 was lush and refurbished but above the bar. If you are young you wont be disappointed as c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P1987S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for your detailed feedback posted on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you chose our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** as your holiday destination and very happy that the quality of our all inclusive, our excellent service and our outstanding cuisine were able to exceed your expectations.

As the well-being of our guests is of great importance to us, we want to make sure that everyone is provided with our best service at all times. Therefore we highly appreciate your review concerning your stay with us and would like to thank you for mention the good work of our waitress Martha. We are sure she will be happy to learn that she made your stay extra especial.

It has been a pleasure having you as our guests and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Our very best regards

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just got back after a week with our two small children. What an amazing place, the food is fantastic and such a great choice, the waiters were 1st class. The hotel in general was very clean, the pool area and pool were perfect! We would highly recommend this hotel if you want a week chilling and relaxing with the kids it's def worth a week! If you want a holiday with lots of activities then prob not the best. Oh and the weather in the low 30's all week - lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, sea view not brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and for highlighting our high standard in cleanliness, the well maintained and excellent facilities, outstanding cuisine, and the top notch service.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** and that we were able to meet your expectations of great holidays.

Many thanks for your recommendation! It will be a pleasure to continue welcoming you in the near future.

Our very best regards

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
12.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,593 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Property: Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing