We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week at Los Jameos Playa over the Easter holidays. We had previously stayed there in 2008 and decided to return based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Although we enjoyed our stay we feel that standards have slipped somewhat in the past five years.

The hotel is well situated, right on the beach with a few shops, bars and restaurants at the back entrance.

The lobby is clean and spacious and public areas are generally well maintained, with the exception of the internal corridors-these are rather dreary with grubby walls and tiles.

Our room was situated in La Graciosa building, we had a large balcony with a fabulous seaview. Inside the room was quite small and rather cramped for three adults sharing. The decor is a little dated-hideous patterned curtains and bedspread, although the beds were clean. Bed linen only changed once for the duration of our stay, would have preferred an extra change. Also the tiled floor in the room was filthy- the white-soled slippers provided turned black within half an hour of wearing!

The selection and quality of food in the restaurant was pretty good, if a bit repetitive. We found it best to have breakfast early for a bit more tranquility, things became rather hectic from 9am onwards. Dinner could also be quite chaotic, the restaurant seemed to lack organisation.

Service in the bar was atrocious, staff appear to be poorly trained.Entertainment is mainly aimed at kids, we saw a few nappies on the dance flooor after 11pm, although perhaps the hotel cannot be held responsible for this!

Overall we had a good week, the service lacked the finesse of other 4 star hotels, but Los Jameos Playa serves as a decent base in a good location and we would be tempted to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and are happy to learn that you once again enjoyed your stay with us and are thinking about returning.

As we strive to maintain and continuously improve our high standards we very much appreciate your feedback, which will certainly help in that endeavour.

Please be informed that we are gradually exchanging the décor of all the rooms and also already discussed your comments with our team. In order to be able to address your remarks regarding the service at the bar or the variety of our buffets, we would be grateful if you could contact us directly and provide us with more information.

Should you have any requests or wishes during your stay with us please do not hesitate to get in touch with our team, because we would have gladly exchanged the bed linen more often or double checked the tiled floor for you. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by this.

Since we know that a lot of guests wish to have the dance floor for adults only after a certain hour, our staff tries to keep an eye on that, but please understand that this is not always possible.

Once again we wish to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Warmest regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
Direktor Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    905
    263
    64
    25
See reviews for
1,346
1,521
64
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel. Our first impression of our room (2042) was very favourable. It was only later that I discovered we were immediately above the hotel's own nightclub and the noise from 9pm was unacceptable. Also, the air conditioning did not appear to be functioning properly. After suffering this for three nights, I complained and asked if we could be moved to a quieter room. The General Manager, to whom I addressed my complaint, never bothered to respond.

Instead, a most unaccommodating manager showed me to a room approximately half the size with no comfortable lounge area and, when I pointed this out, said that we should consider ourselves lucky to have been given a larger than normal room in the first place and if I would like to pay more they could find me a larger (quiet) room. As for the air conditioning, I was told this cannot be controlled from individual rooms even though there is a thermostat that suggests this should be possible. All you can do is adjust the fan speed. I question whether there is, in fact, air conditioning in the bedrooms or air cooling.

As a result, the holiday we had planned to celebrate our 40th anniversary was hardly the restful experience we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave51Berks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your feedback published on Tripadvisor.

It has been our aim to make your holiday as perfect as possible; this is why we took good note of your request for a nice room and gladly offered you one of the most spacious rooms we have in the standard category; the category which you had booked. From the size our room 2042 equals a Junior Suite.

When you informed me that you were not happy with the location close to our Berlingo Bar I immediately instructed my team to offer you an alternative in another area of the complex, therefore please understand that I do not agree with your remark that I did not care about your complaint. Furthermore we directly contacted our maintenance team to check the air conditioning for you, which functioned perfectly, and also explained how the centralised air conditioning system works.

As my personal assistant told me, you decided to stay in the allocated room, due to its spaciousness, and did not opt for an upgrade to a Family Room. Please understand that we can not always grant free upgrades to a higher category.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future occasions and would be happy if you could then contact us directly so that we can suggest a room type which perfectly matches your expectations.

Kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Positives:
Great staff
Clean rooms
Wifi
Lovely hotel-bigger than I thought it wd be
Pancakes and waffles in afternoon
Power shower
Evening entertainment-ABBA tribute band great as were acrobats
Surrounding area-not as tacky as main town-can hire bikes / get a change of scenery
Crazy golf
Tennis
Exercise classes-instructor only speaks German though!
Staff DO remove the towels the early birds put down to claim sunbeds


Even better if:
More choice for vegetarians-food very meat and fish focused (vegetarians will be very bored of the few salads on offer without some sort of meat or fish in..... and pasta with tomato sauce after 2 weeks). It would be very easy for them to make vegetarian paella alongside meat version and so on?

Very family focused-prob best to find somewhere else if you do not have children-they dominate the pool and you can't swim lengths........and are very noisy at 6 in the morning!

Make one pool for adults and other for children (make both 25 degrees-nobody in 18 degree pool-a waste!)

Sunbeds a little uncomfotable after an extended period of time

Some cocktails not included in all inclusive offer-shame! Grasshopper and Brandy Alexander and Daiquiri not available.

Room Tip: Rooms all the same really.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you appreciated the service, the location and the facilities our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** offers.

With a huge salad bar, pasta, potatoes and fresh vegetables we try to offer our vegetarian guests a wide selection of meals. However our team is always there for our guests and we would have gladly adapted our food choice accordingly.

Our clientele really does change from week to week, but it is true, that during school vacations families with children also like to enjoy their holidays in our hotel. We are sorry that you felt disturbed by the children in the pool and regret that you have not informed our pool stuff about this issue.

Since the direct feedback of our guests is very important to us we wish to thank you for your suggestions regarding the pool and the cocktail menu. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments in our next meeting.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've only been here a couple of days but I felt I had to review on our first impressions of this hotel. My wife and I have never done all inclusive for over twenty years as we feel hotels offering this option are normally past their sell by date and are very tired but after reading the reviews about Seaside Los Jameos decided to take the chance. Let me tell you we have not been disappointed and feel the food is as good as some of the better quality cruise lines we've sailed with. This hotel is German owned and can't you tell with excellent overall service and quality of the food. All inclusive package also includes high number of international drink brands including Gordon's , Bacardi , and Smirnoff to name a few. Selection of salads and choice of main choices at both Lunch and DInner are superb. Many people we have met have been here a number of times and you can see why. We've never visited same hotel twice in our many years of travelling around the world but I would certainly consider this hotel again if we wanted another short break in the Canaries. Rooms are adequate, very clean and well maintained and around the hotel you see staff constantly cleaning to ensure high standards are maintained. If you would prefer just bed & breakfast or half board again consider this hotel as drinks are reasonably priced. Families are well accommodated for at Los Jameos with stack of children's activities and does just very busy during school holidays so if you want a quieter more relaxed break visit out of these periods. Playa De Los Pocillos is quite a pleasant resort not as busy as Puerto Del Carmen or Playa Blanca but is very clean well maintained and only short ride from Carmen if you want some action. Only downside is that you are not far from AIrport so you will experience some aircraft noise but this should not put you off as the quality of this hotel far out ways this one negative. Overall this hotel is real fine and certainly is Best in Class compared to other hotels in Lanzarote. That's not just my opinion but also from various Tour Operators showing by the high number of awards over years including 2012 on display in reception area. Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed !!!!

Room Tip: Book Grade B or C Room which over look the gardens, pool and sea. Grade A rooms are ground floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you and your family had a great time in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****, enjoying the good food, our excellent All Inclusive offer and the facilities of our Resort.

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are delighted to read how much your recent stay with us was to your liking.

It has been a pleasure having you two as our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at our beautiful Seaside Los Jameos Playa.

Our very best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one week at this hotel at the end of March 2013 on a fully inclusive basis. Everything about this hotel is great! Food is outstanding and as good, if not better than many a cruise ship we have been on! There is an incredible selection at every sitting! Evening meals are fantastic and the deserts are gorgeous! They have branded drinks which is also included in the all inclusive package! We normally stay at the RIU just up the road, but we will always now return to this brilliant hotel. Rooms and beds were very comfortable and it was nice watching BBC 1 to see all the the bad weather at home! Lol there were always plenty of sun beds available throughout the day. This hotel is spotlessly clean! If I had to be picky about this hotel my only issue would be that the staff at the bars could have been a bit more friendly! We will definitely visit this hotel again as we enjoyed it so very much! Location is excellent for evening strolls!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa guest,

We wish to thank you for your feedback and are more than happy to hear that you spent wonderful days at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Above of all we are very content that you enjoyed our outstanding food and the great variety of our All Inclusive offer as well as the equipment of your room.

An efficient and friendly service is of paramount importance for us, therefore please rest assured that we shared your comment with the respective department.

Once again we wish to thank you for your kind words and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, went for the all inclusive option and this didn't disappoint. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet had lots of choice and differed every day, extremely good quality considering it was very busy every service. Rooms were superb, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Service was excellent, and the staff were all eager to please. My only crtitism was that the hotel needs to be more strict with the 'reserving' of sun loungers with towels. I go on holiday to relax and have lazy mornings, and unless you are up out of bed before sun rise the chance of you finding a sun lounger or 2 together are rediculously slim! I sat next to a full row of reserved beds (about 20 loungers) for 2 hours before anyone even came near them, whilst families were left wondering around aimlessly hunting down somewhere to sit! All in all a perfect escape from the snow in the uk, weather was ideal and the kids enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your impression of our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** with the online community of Tripadvisor.

It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour being your host during your stay at Easter.

With delight we read that you felt comfortable and happy with the facilities and services provided.

Please be informed that signs around the pool state that the blocking of unused sun loungers is not desired at our hotel. Furthermore our staff tries to address this with guests that do not seem to follow this policy, but please understand that we can not control every guest. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** in the near future and, once again, thank you for staying with us.

Best regards

Martin Kuckenburg
Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the autumn half term (October/November 2012) and would recommend this to anyone.

On arrival at this hotel we were amazed at the size of it and we were located in one of the blocks furthest away from reception. It had been raining on arrival and there were short on porters to help with luggage so we had a bit of a treck to get to our room with a very tired 1 year old and 10 year old.

The rooms are spacious an fairly generous for a family of four. We had a ground floor room which was fine as it was easier coping with a buggy and small child. The rooms were very clean and cleaned on a daily basis.

The food in the hotel was lovely although I assume it rotates on a weekly basis so you could get bored if you were there for 2 weeks however just on the outside of the hotel, there is a large variety of restaurants which you could eat at. The All Inclusive drinks has to be one of the nest packages we have ever had. Branded spirits such as Gordons, Smirnoff and Barcardi which is a bonus as you don't get the heartburn as with the non branded stuff! They also gave you bottles of water which was brilliant too. The kids get wristbands (adults have to use room cards) so they are able to help themselves to everything and anything.

Our Son used the childrens club, which he loved, and allowed us to stay by the pool. The only criticism (which will be a usual moan for us all) are the sunbed hoggers that go out by the pool at stupid o clock to get a bed. You are not meant to and the hotel team do not really practice the removal of towels policy they have in place, which is unfair whn other people are looking for beds and you see lots of empt ones all day - The same beds stay like that all day too with the same towels!

The hotel is in a lovely location and away from the busy resort of Puerto Del Carmen however you are able to still take a walk there/catch a bus if you wish. There area number of bars for drinks and food around the hotel and overlooking the beach. There is also a shop across the road for other bits and pieces.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel (nearer the beach) are much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you chose our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** as your holiday destination and that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest.

It is true that the reservation of sun lounges is not permitted and various signs
in the pool area inform about this policy. Furthermore our pool staff is instructed to keep an eye on that and also to remove any towels that are put on sun beds before 9 am. We hope for your understanding that especially in high season it is not possible to control every guest and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly review and look forward to welcoming you and your family once again to our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
12.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Property: Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing