We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel and a fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first time to Lanzarote and, therefore, our first visit to Los Jameos. Whilst I recognise the comments of other reviewers (9am sun beds, rush to the restaurant at 9am etc) this did not overly detract from our stay.

Guests are a mixture of British, Irish, Spanish, Germans and Dutch, with a mixture of tabloid and broadsheet readers, but what prevails is a relaxed atmosphere of (a lot) of people set on having a pleasant, relaxing, polite stay alongside other holiday makers. I saw no shouty, loud people, just lots of people chilling by the pools. There is a great pool for little children and two larger pools, with enough space for people who want to swim 'lengths' alongside those that want to throw balls around & jump in.

The children's club didn't appear to be very well attended based on the number of children that were in the resort, but this seemed to be because there were lots of extended families with grand parents and parents that actually wanted to spend time with their children on holiday!! The team that ran the club appeared very comfortable with the children in their care and the children were having a fun time. There's a nice little enclosed play area just next to the children's pool.

There were activities organised through the day which you could get involved in, if you wanted to. In the evening there was cabaret style entertainment in the Salon Bar (and a mini disco for toddlers) with quizzes, flame throwers, jugglers, dancers etc. Despite having our children with us (12 yrs & 8 yrs) this isn't our kind of thing, so we spent the evenings in the piano bar, which was a quieter, more sophisticated area, playing cards or Ludo, and our older child had 30 mins to catch up on Facebook on the hotel computers.

The bedrooms were light, airy & very clean. The whole hotel & the pools were very clean. The views we had from our room over the bay of Puerto del Carmen were perfect.

The staff were EXCELLENT and always helpful & attentive. The chap singing and playing the guitar at supper time was a lovely touch. The all inclusive worked very well with a constant supply of aqua con gas and aqua sin gas, help yourself to ice cream, mid afternoon crepes and delicious waffles all included as well as the breakfast, lunches and evening meals - most of which I have brought home on my hips. Food was outstanding. It is self service and there was a lot of choice, including healthy options with delicious fruits and salads. People were respectful and patient when choosing their meals and despite the fact that there were a lot of people in the hotel (1200 ish) you didn't have to queue for the foods (except fish and steaks which were cooked to order).

The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, so a very easy transfer. You do see the occasional plane coming in to land, but there are only a few a day - a couple more at weekends, but the noise is minimal.

We wouldn't go back to the hotel again, but only because we like to experience different locations, and I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others, especially those who are travelling as families with younger children (< 12yrs) and those who are travelling with grandparents or as groups of friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BettsyLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experiences made at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** with us and other holiday makers on Tripadvisor.

With pleasure we have read your feedback and are very happy that you had wonderful holidays and especially enjoyed our cuisine. We endeavor to prepare a great variety of high quality food, so that every guest can find something to his taste.

Your praise regarding our staff will be passed on to everyone, as we all get very motivated when hearing or reading such kind words from our guests.

Once again, we wish to thank you for staying at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** and as you enjoy trying different locations, we and our colleagues would be more than happy to welcome you in one of our Seaside Hotels.

Best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for 11 days as a solo traveller so in the minority as mainly families and couples. On arrival greeted with a drink and allocated a superb room with sea view and staff throughout the stay were excellent.
Food at breakfast was good with lots of choices and not too many queues. All inclusive meant I was entitled to lunch and dinner too but I rarely made use of these. Lunch was a mixed buffet served in restaurant and very good but I tended to go to a local bar for a sandwich as I preferred beach to pool for daytime leisure. Dinner was a buffet and although it was supposed to be themed was very samey each night. Queues were large and food just OK - within 2 minutes walk of hotel there are every type of restaurant you can think of with meals from 5 euros . I tended to use these but all inc great for anyone on a budget or families. Found the swipe card approach to all inclusive slowed service down. Also the 11 I clock rule meant a lot of bulk buying. On one occasion I queued for 20 mins at bar but on others was served straight away. Again there are plenty of local bars where a pint or glass of wineis around 1 euro so options. Pool got very crowded and noisy but it is child orientated. Very well maintained and there are quiet spots I found the beach fantastic. 2 minutes walk from hotel 5 euro to hire a lounger, lots of space, great swimming in sea and you can lie and watch planes take off and land and almost wave to passengers.
My room was very spacious, multi channel TV, bath and shower, huge balcony. The kettle was a bit odd. The lead was only 10cm long and there was only one power socket in whole room. Only way to boil kettle was to turn litter bin upside down and perch kettle on here at funny angle!! Also disappointed you had to pay for safe. It's there anyway. On last day I was given a courtesy room to use til checkout and all inclusive continued til 5pm. Overall a good hotel but to make it better a choice of dinner options, snacks available throughout day, all inclusive extended beyond 11 to 11 would make it 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PaulMobberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you were fully satisfied with the service of our staff, we will be happy to pass on your feedback to all of them, as it is a high motivation to everyone.

In the afternoon our guests can enjoy ice cream, sandwiches, cakes, crepes and waffles at the pool bar. Our dinner buffets change every night and we offer at least three to five dishes that are typical for the chosen theme. The head chef always intents to meet the taste of all our guests and prepares the meals with great care. During peak times it can occur that our guests have to wait a little longer at the carving stations while a chef prepares fish and meat on the grill to the taste of every guest. Here, we ask our guests for their understanding.

Once again we wish to thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will take your suggestions into consideration.

We hope that will have the possibility welcome you again at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

With sunny regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great hotel, rooms were nice, very clean and cleaned daily. Pools were fab, food was really really nice, great selection and a different theme each night and one night they had a Spanish man singing at dinner which really added to the atmosphere!! On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and nothing but smiles all round from the very helpful staff Located right across the road from a gorgeous beach and next to a few bars and restaurants ( not that you would want to eat anywhere else as the food is top notch). This hotel is just a dream if your coming to Lanzarote, stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owenyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to publish a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in September 2011 with us.

We are very happy to read that we could meet your expectations and that you were able to enjoy a wonderful holiday in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

It is nice to hear that you particularly appreciated our lovely food and the atmosphere in the restaurant. We always try to surprise our guest with that little extra they don’t expect, to make them enjoy a memorable stay. We are happy to hear that we achieved it.
Your review will certainly help other guest to take their decision when choosing the perfect setting for their well-earned holidays.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and are looking forward to see you hopefully soon.

With best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Myself and Hubby booked this last minute it was one on the only places available at the time, we generally dont book hotels, as we prefer the freedom of an appartment, but we didnt have a choice last minute.
The hotel itself was majestic, from the grand entrance to the foyer, to the pool areas ect, I couldnt fault it, we stayed half board , so we enjoyed breakfast and lunch there and we ate out most nights.

The other clientelle were a lot older than us, mainly European, so the hotel got pretty quite after 10, so needless to say the night porters werent too happy with us coming back in the early hours especially with my high heels making loud noises on their beautiful polished marble floors..

The hotel itself is located directly on the strip which is right beside the sea , and its in walking distance to everywhere you need. If Ihad a choice I would not go back to it for personal reasons only , overall its a wonderfull hotel, suitable for Honeymooners and the slightly older clientel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay last year in our hotel Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

We are delighted to hear that you had a very good first impression of our hotel appearance and that you liked the design and the different areas of the hotel.

We always welcome guest from any part of the world and any age and are delighted that you chose our hotel in the very last minute for your stay on the island.

Our reception is open all night and clients are free to return whenever they please although we kindly ask all of our guests to respect the sleep and rest of other guest whenever possible.

Despite the fact that our hotel was not what you originally wanted to go for we are very pleased that your feedback is positive and that you recommend our hotel to other guests.

You are always welcome to visit us again. We can only say that it is our sincerest endeavour to make anyone feel comfortable and we strive to improve every day in order to meet our customer expectations.

Kindest regards from Lanzarote,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a great holiday at the SeaSide Los Jameos Playa Hotel. Food, service, room, atmosphere and location all excellent.
Unlike AGalwegian I support the no 'reservation' of sun loungers before 9a.m. I did see towels on the loungers pre-9a.m. and on one occasion saw a member of staff removing towels from those loungers with no 'bodies'. Not having to join a race to the sun loungers, that is typical of other hotels was a bonus, breakfast at 8a.m. and then find a sun lounger - bliss.
Meal times were relaxing and enjoyable, we didn't have to queue for any meals despite the hotel being full! On a couple of evenings we did notice that there seemed to be a surge of people and those guests wanting to eat outside had to wait for a table - all credit to the management the queues were quickly cleared.
Brilliant holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your latest holidays with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the cuisine, atmosphere, and location.

Please be assured that your feedback means a lot to every single member of our staff and that we will pass this on to everyone.

As we do not differ between guests and try to offer all our guests the same chance with the sun loungers, we are glad to read that you indeed liked our policy of not reserving sun beds.

We wish to thank you once again for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Sunny regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Cant rate this hotel highly enough. From start to finish the staff were friendly and helpful. Stayed in a large room in the La Gomera building with fantastic views of the sea as well as all round Puerto del Carmen from the huge balcony on the 4th floor. Rooms were spotless, ours even included tea and coffee making facilities. Large en-suite was also great.
Stayed AI and cant fault anything. Food was of fantastic quality, with a choice that could satisfy all tastes. Never had to queue for a meal once, which considering the size of the hotel was great. Drinks in the AI included brands such as Smirnoff, Bacardi etc and also included Cava.
As it was our honeymoon, the staff offered us a candle-lit meal in the restaurant, and also provided us with a bottle of Cava on ice, and some romantic candles in the room for our return from dinner that evening.
The two pools were a great size, with one also being climatised. Plenty of sun loungers, although a couple of days it took us a while to find some as the hotel was pretty busy. We're not ones for reserving sun loungers first thing, but apart from these 2 occasions mentioned, we always found some pretty much straight away. 2 outside bars, the Pool and Snack Bars were great for drinks and also provided waffles and crepes in the afternoon which were delicious.
There were 2 main bars in the hotel, the Piano Bar and the Belingo Bar, with the latter being where the entertainment was. We spent most of the time in the Piano bar as it was more relaxed and less busy. Music was provided by someone on the piano most nights, with a classic music documentary on the TVs on other days.
Once again, the staff were truly fantastic throughout our stay, very friendly and helpful and i could see that they each spoke all the various languages of the guests which only enhances their quality of service.
The hotel is in walking distance of the beach, with the airport a short walk away in one direction, and the main town a nice stroll away in the other direction, a walk we did many times, although it would also be easy to get the bus or taxi from right outside the hotel if you wish.
Overall, a brilliant stay for our honeymoon and i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lewispiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

With pleasure we read your nice words which you published on Tripadvisor about your recent holiday and wish to thank you for choosing our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** for your honeymoon.

As a honeymoon is a very special vacation with high expectations, we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was a delight for us to be a part of this special event in your life and we are delighted that you felt pleased with the treatment we offer for newly weds.

Furthermore, it is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with our cuisine and the choices of drinks.

Please be assured that we will pass on your compliments regarding our staff, as it means a high motivation to all of us.

Moreover, we wish you all the best for your marriage and hope to welcome you again at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

With best regards from Lanzarote,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have spent many great holidays here at Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel since 1998. I have written previous reviews on this Hotel. Normally, it is an excellent Hotel. This current trip is very different. All of the services, cuisine and staff within the Hotel are excellent. The big problem is with the sunbathing and queuing for breakfast and dinner.
The Hotel currently has introduced a policy that sunbeds may NOT be reserved until 9am each morning. My customary morning ritual at Seaside Los Jameos Playa was to walk the Promenade at 7am each morning, shower on my return - 8am, reserve my sun lounger for the day and have breakfast. This meant that I would then avail of the sun lounger from 9.15 - 9.30am until 5.30pm each evening. This was total bliss and a relaxing holiday I always looked forward to.
DISASTER: The current situation means that I like many others, must now physically sit on the bed until 9am each morning and then proceed to breakfast with over 100 other people who all converge on the dining area at the same time. This coupled with people who are already at the dining area results in an extremely overcrowded area, where hot food, water and cooking combined with a Hotel generated overcrowded area is an accident waiting to happen. Remember this Hotel can have up to 1,200 guests. Yes! I understand that many people will reserve beds at 7am daily and go on tours or to the beach for the day returning at 3 or 4 pm in the afternoon. That will always be the case, BUT to make everone else suffer because of a minority is grossly unfair. Guests who are on holiday to enjoy the sun within the confines of the Hotel should be issued with a "Reserved Badge" for thier sun lounger for the duration of their stay. This would be easily accomplished for returning guests whom the Hotel knows are there for the full day. My experience every year is that you will always meet the same couples on the same sun loungers at the same times every year.
DINNER: This year the Hotel has introduced a Queueing system to be seated for dinner. This is total madness. in 14 years I never had a problem getting a table for dinner. Now, I must Queue up the same as I would in McDonalds which is close to the Hotel.

To the Management: You are NOT improving the standard of the Hotel, you are turning it into a Boot Camp. The only thing that keeps me coming back is the fantastic friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AGalwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

In the name of the whole staff of our hotel we would like to thank you for having chosen us once again for your holiday this year. As faithful customers to our hotel chain we particularly appreciate the effort you have taken to reflect your personal experience during your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with some changes we have made to some areas of the hotel and we apologize sincerely for any inconveniences you might have undergone.

Regarding the reservation of sun beds, the policy we have introduced is to benefit all guests and give everyone the same possibility to have a sun lounger available. Our pool staff is eager to help accommodating the guests; in fact they are always taking into consideration and trying to satisfy the client’s preferences.

Please also be aware that this policy is widespread in the hotels of our category as many other policies that are there for one single reason: to ensure the wellbeing of all of our guests. We have in any case taken good note of your suggestion to make it possible reserve the sun lounger and might consider the possibility in the future.

In reference to our dinner service we like to point out that our staff is making their upmost possible to ensure a quick and efficient service. Certainly it can occur that our guests have to wait a little longer until they are lead to a table, especially during high season and peak times at the restaurant.

We understand that the majority of our guests prefer to sit outside nonetheless our guests always have the possibility to choose a table inside, as there are always tables available.

Most of our guests appreciate the fact that they don’t need to bother anymore wandering about in order to find a free table as we will do it for them. This also avoids the area to be overcrowded and the feedback we have had on this so far has been overall very positive.

Thank you for pointing out that our service and food as well as the friendliness of our staff has been as excellent as it used to be, we are determined to keep up the high standards also in the future.

Rest assured that in Seaside Hotels we will never cease in our effort to not only meet but indeed exceed our costumer expectations. Therefore we are always open to feedback and suggestions.

We would be pleased to welcome you again on Lanzarote and at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel on future holidays.

Kindest regards,
Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,784 reviews
12.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
801 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $156 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing