We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Holiday - superb staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Los Jameos Playa - our first family holiday with our baby. We booked the holiday just under 2 weeks prior to departure - this was not a cheap last minute holiday, but having read the reviews and having visited Lanzarote previously we were sure this is where we wanted to go. So much so that we travelled to Doncaster (2 hours away) just to get there for the week we had booked off work.
Our check in was smooth and we were welcomed with a glass of cava whilst we waited for someone to see to us. The transfer time from the airport was great - literally 5 minutes, which, after a 4 hour flight with an 8 month old baby, was a god send!
We were allocated a room in the 'Tenerife' building on the ground floor. Our bags were transported to our room by the porter where he met us in a very dark and dingy back corner right near the 'service area'. We thought nothing of this until the middle of the night when the bottles were clearly being sorted into recycling! Very noisy and not great with a baby who was awoken several times due to the noise. Our room was also a disable access room - which meant we had a huge wet room style bathroom (no bath). As in previous reviews, the rooms are somewhat dated and chintzy but absolutely spotless. In fact, that theme continues throughout the hotel in that it is spotless throughout. In the morning we decided to approach our First Choice rep to try and secure a change of room - this he did with minimal fuss from the staff who were so helpful. We even got a sea view room when we moved (our things were all moved for us too).
The food in this hotel really is superb for all inclusive. We cannot stress that enough. We are real foodies and have become somewhat food snobby over the years so we are always dubious about all inclusive hotels (bad experience in Tunisia). The choice and variety of food is phenomenal at every meal time. The evening service is themed - the poorest night for us whilst there was the french theme with the best being the Chinese night! Yum! There is a grill for fresh meat and one for fish (note, they over season everything on the grills so have your water ready which often killed delicate fish like John Dory) - perfectly cooked though. There really is something for everyone. Our baby had a whale of a time tucking into lots of new and exciting foods whilst we were there.
The pool area is also lovely too - again, very clean and lots of different areas to choose from. We spent most of our time in the toddler pool which is knee deep throughout and perfect for babies and small children. There are plenty of loungers and parasols too - the weather we had was amazing (30+ most days_) so keeping our little one out of the shade was important. There are plenty of activities to choose from too if you are so inclined - we weren't but others were and the animation team are very good but not so in your face as in other resorts we have been to.
The local area is nice too - some lovely bars and restaurants and the beach is on the doorstep (right across the road). Supermarkets within spitting distance.
The main resort of Puerto Del Carmen is a bit of a trek - we braved it, twice from the hotel to the old town (3 miles each way and we walked). The main resort has changed a lot in the 10 years it has been since I was last here - and in all honesty, probably not for the better. I'm, pleased to say we were at the right end of the resort in the Los Pocillos area.
The walk to the airport landing strip is well worth the 15 minute walk - the planes are so close to you as they come in to land - even I was impressed, and I didn't think I would be. (And it is worth noting that the airport being so close, there is some aircraft noise but not that you would be bothered by, we weren't anyway).
The only slight blot in the copy book was that mid-way through our break, we arrived back from our trek into town to what can only be described as a swarm of men around the pool. It turned out that a very large and well known brewery were having their annual conference at the hotel for 450+ sales reps (mainly male) from Belgium and Rotterdam (I believe). Their priority was clearly not to be involved in the conference but to eat, drink and be (very) merry and noisy. It certainly changed the mood of the hotel, which until that point, was delightfully relaxed and family orientated. They took up a significant amount of room around the pools and in the dining areas. It didn't spoil our holiday but we certainly felt calm being restored on Saturday morning as they were all leaving!
Finally, a massive mention must be made to ALL the staff - they are all so helpful, friendly and welcoming - and they ALL work very hard and for long hours. Nothing is too much trouble and you often see management making their way round the site to chat and check all is well - lovely to see! They are to be applauded for this and for making our holiday as lovely as it was.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.

We feel honoured that you chose our Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** for your first holiday with your baby.

Furthermore, we are glad to hear that the change of rooms was to your full satisfaction and that you enjoyed the sea view room you got afterwards.

As the quality of our gastronomy is always of great importance to us, we were particularly delighted to learn that you found the variety and choice of the food offered in line with our All-Inclusive package to be excellent and that your baby, as well, enjoyed the evening meals.
Additionally, we wish to thank you for your praise given to our staff. This is our best motivation. Of course, I will pass on your kind words to them, as I am sure that they will be very delighted.

Regarding the large group, we apologise for the brief interruption of your relaxing holidays. We are, however, pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay altogether, as it is very important to us to make our guests feel comfortable and offer them unique holiday experiences.

We would be happy to welcome you and your family once again at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,805 - 2,811 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just come back from a week's holiday, prior to booking our holiday we read all of the trip advisor comments and reviews and found it helpful so we wanted to do the same.

Location: About 10 minutes from the airport (Do not book transfers) the walk into the town is about 50 minutes!!! The beach is on your doorstep however you can't sun bathe on the beach as there isn't any loungers - lovely beach though! Also there isn't alot around the hotel - if you want a nightlife or something different then get a taxi to Puerto Carmen.

Hotel: Very clean and well maintained, there are 3 pools (one is very cold!) lots to do - kids club isnt the best as they do not sign your child in and you will find children leaving the kids club and running back to you on there own, there is a gym, games room and free wi-fi in reception, tennis courts (you have to pay for)

Food: Fantastic - you couldn't ask for more!!! fresh fish, cavery and BBQ as well as salad bars.

Disappointments: 450 people arrived at the hotel from the brewery and were on a 3 day all expenses paid trip! And it was awful! it was like an 18 - 30's - they were in the family pool drinking beer and stubbing ciggerettes in the pool! We compained on the first day and nothing happened but by the second day they calmed down (still not great!) On the second day one person drank so much he had a seizure at 1pm in the afternoon scaring all children and families - we should have been told about this prior to booking as the hotel put the 450 guests first and we came second.

The other thing with the nearly all inclusive is - drinks are stopped at 11pm, you can't get a bottle of water/any drink until 11am - you have to carry a card on you at all times if you want anything at all!! And when you order a drink you have to present the card and then they make you sign for it? Snacks - all they offer is pancakes and waffles at 3pm - my partner can't eat dairy so he couldnt have anything at all!

All in all it was a nice hotel - but I don't think we will go again because if you pay a little more you could go to the Princess Yaizia and it is 5* + and then you wouldnt have all of these issues.

Room Tip: You have to pay for a sea view or a pool view! but all rooms are pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunshine354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our varied buffets including the fresh fish and the salad bars. Furthermore, we would have been pleased to offer your partner non-diary snacks, if you had mentioned it to any of our staff.

Regarding the Mini-Club, we do have a sign-in system in place with red and green wristbands. Children wearing a red wristband are not allowed to leave the Mini-Club unattended. However, we feel sorry that you have not been informed accordingly.

Concerning the travel group, we apologise for the inconveniences caused. We assure you that we do our best to ensure all our guests an overall pleasant stay, at all times. In addition we would like to mention that the seizure of the guest was not caused by drinking, it was an epileptic seizure.

We wish you all the best and remain with kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

we booked this holiday not knowing what to expect, well we were met at the airport promptly,and on arrival which was evening time we were greeted by wonderful staff and a glass of champagne, booked in and a porter took us to our room and it was fantastic, spotlessly clean and there were two glasses and two small bottles of wine waiting for us.
we cant fault this hotel the staff were absolutely great and couldn't do enough for you,the pools were lovely, two big pools and two childrens pools,a playground and kids club, wonderful gardens very well kept,the food was incredible so much, so much variety and again great staff, the pool bar was spotless and well manned, the management were great too and were seen around regularly and we were sad to leave as we enjoyed ourselves so much so this hotel is on our return list

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ground floor near everything but not too near but they were all lovely as had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your holidays to the fullest, giving special praise to our staff. Providing good service to our guests is our highest priority and therefore, we are delighted to hear that you relished your stay with us until the last minute.

Having our hotel on your return list is wonderful. We would be happy to welcome you again any time on Lanzarote.

Best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at the seaside los Jameos, all was good , food great, pools super, weather marvelous, then suddenly the place was invaded by 450 single europeans, on some sort of work related jolly, and for a while chaos reigned,and we were very close to complaining to the management, but then Juan appeared and in a very cool collected, and professional mannered, bought an air of calm and organisation back to the proceedings, and saved our holiday. Thank you again Juan.

Room Tip: all good dont worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robintenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

First, we are pleased that our gastronomy and our pools were to your full satisfaction and that you also relished the good weather.

We are sorry for the inconveniences caused in connection with the large group. At all times, we did our utmost to keep an enjoyable atmosphere for our remaining guests. It is good to hear, however, that Juan, in particular, was able to ease the situation and to make you feel comfortable again. Of course, we will forward your nice words to him.

As the feedback of our guests is of great value to us, we thank you once again for your review and would be delighted to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Brilliant hotel, excellent rooms(all very clean and comfortable), the staff could't do enough for you and superb food - theme nights every night on an 11 night cycle. Our only criticism would be that the entertainment in the evenings was not very good, with one major exception - the ABBA tribute was excellent - all the other shows were mediocre with the acts being very lack lustre. All in all a wonderful holiday - we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, as well as our cuisine and that you, altogether, had a wonderful holiday with us.

Moreover, we wish to thank you for your comments regarding our evening entertainment. We will take them into account for future planning.

We would be delighted to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we have been to the canaries around 15 times in the last 10 years, and i must say this hotel is the best by far, the food is a meat lovers dream( on just the carvery they have chicken,duck,beef,pork, and lamb) then you have steaks, chops, 2x fish grilled while you wait and much much more,staff great, pools and location just right, nice large kids pool with the kids club right next door, they even let you keep your room on day of departure for free which you normally get charged(ripped off) elsewhere, overall a lovely hotel and one which we will be back to in the near future.

We had a ground floor room just by kids pool/club which is very handy if you have children.

Room Tip: there seemed to be a big difference in price in what people had paid, do some research and keep chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scooterbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** to the fullest.

It is of great importance to us to keep our gastronomy at very high standards. Therefore, we are delighted that you particularly liked the variety of meat offered in line with our All-Inclusive package.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again on Lanzarote.

Best regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel was recommended by a friend and I have to say we were not disappointed. A nice chilled glass of bubbly on arrival which was really nice.

The staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you and are always smiling, very pleasant and extremely busy. It might be advisable to have a tip box so that customers can leave a tip for the staff.

On all-inclusive, the food was amazing, with plenty of choice. 3-4 carvery meats and 3-4 choices of different fish at dinner as well as the themed food every evening. Desserts to die for. We also enjoyed the crepes/waffles with coffee in the afternoons. Needless to say we put on a few pounds. Drink choices very good, the red wine was nice and bubbly (cava) was a treat, but would be good to have a few more cocktails on the all-inclusive option, especially when the cost of the others are the same as the 4 on offer - sangria, pina colada & 2 others. One night at dinner the glass of wine was not nice, definately corked and the staff had no qualms replacing it with a fresh glass from a new bottle.

This place is spotless, all areas are kept very clean.

One very small gripe is that the toiletries provided in the bathroom in the room were not replenished. Most hotels that provide these, replenish them on a daily basis. The cleaner replenished them for the first time the day before we left. It would also be nice to have more than just one pillow on the beds, but I'm sure if I'd asked the staff they would have been happy to sort this out. The beds themselves are a little bit too firm but that's a personal preference.

The daytime & evening entertainment are all very good, plenty to do in the day with the day-time activities, archery, pistol shooting, rifle shooting, aqua fit, shuffle board, water polo, volleyball etc and the evening etertainment was also good. Also lots of kids activities. Loved the ABBA tribute band. There is a problem with people reserving their sunbeds early in the morning with their towels and then not using them till after lunch-time. There is no shortage of sunbeds on offer so no real need to do this. The hotel do state that this should not be done but there's nothing stopping people doing it. Pool towels are provided for a deposit and can be changed daily if required.

There is a laundry room with washing machines and tumble driers which are free to use. An added bonus to be able to come home without much washing to do.

Over all we had a great time at this hotel and credit has to go to the staff for all their hard work. We will be returning and would recommend this hotel to friends/family.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request one that is not in La Palma block where the Berlingo bar is (althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJRSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for your feedback published on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you chose the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** due to your friends’ recommendation and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Moreover, it is a delight to hear that you especially enjoyed our gastronomy and service.

As we are always endeavoured to take care of the requests our guests encounter, we would have been happy to provide you with more pillows.
The toiletries are usually replaced by new ones as soon as they are empty. We wish to apologise for not replacing them and would have been glad, if you had mentioned it to our staff.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and suggestions. Your opinion is of great importance to us and helps us maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,784 reviews
12.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
801 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $156 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing