We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a tennis holiday - not so good for relaxing by the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent for a tennis holiday - not so good for relaxing by the pool”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Positive Points -
Short location from the airport
Good facilities for children
Excellent tennis facilities
Comfortable bed and pillows!!

Not so good ....
Pool area - Sunbeds were almost touching each other, row after row not very relaxing.
Many sunbeds already taken with towels but left empty. There are signs asking guests not to do this but im sure sure that the hotel enforce this.
No interent connection in the room - only in the hotel reception areas
Noise from room above but quickly short by the hotel
Constant nosie of suitcases being wheeled in the corridor from arriving and departing guests.

Summary
Good hotel for families with children or for those wanting to making use of the tennis facilites. Would avoid during busy holiday periods. Would recommed for the tennis

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    980
    278
    68
    30
See reviews for
1,476
1,645
73
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I was in a single room and friends were in other rooms alongside me. My stay was very pleasant. Food is tasty and varied from night to night so I would consider full board on my next trip (we were half board). Drinks being extra on half board ended up quite expensive on final bill. I'd imagine when it's full the hotel becomes quite crowded but it was not filled to capacity when we stayed there and so sun loungers were readily available etc.

The old town and restaurants off site are quite a distance so taxis become a necessity- they are such good value though €5 brings you into town so that was not a problem.

If there are cons- the resort is quiet and a little boring, but we were happy to relax.

Overall- very pleasant stay & I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I took our 2yr old daughter on her first holiday to this hotel over Easter and we were very impressed! The kids club is excellent as are the staff who run it, there is and outdoor play area with a slide, swing, climbing frame, see-saw etc, while inside there is a room with child size table and chairs where they can do colouring in, play board games, make crafts etc and there is another room with crash mats on the floor and loads of building blocks and lego. there are games and excursions planned each day by the animation team, then there is a mini disco every evening which our daughter adored. If you have young children they will love this hotel though i dont know how suited it would be to teenagers.
As for the food, what a variety! there is a different theme each evening (asian, mexican, spanish etc) along with these there is always roast chicken, beef or pork, 3 types of fish and another 3 types of meat available every evening, as well as vegetarian options, kiddies corner, fresh breads, an enormous salad buffet and about 10 different types of dessert! needless to say we all came back a few pounds heavier!
the rooms were nice, they could maybe do with new fabrics on beds and curtains just to modernise the appearance but otherwise very comfortable and well cleaned every day.
everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations and we would definitely recommend it. we met some lovely new friends and our daughter had a ball! what more could you want??

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crawford3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Having visited Lanzarote for the past 20 years at least 3 times a year, we always stayed int he same place. This time we decided to try out Los Jameos Playa..From we arrived- to the friendly reception staff, The welcome glass of champagne, the blow up seahorse for the child, the porter to accompany you to your room, The fantastic surroundings, Spotless accommodation...and I could go on. We were booked in half board- Selection/standard of food is fantastic, different theme each night if would be hard not to please everyone. We found out to late that they also offer an all inclusive deal which everyone we met was raving about. This hotel has everything, Huge swimming pools, playground, mini club, gym, fun arcade, laundry room, selection of bars, evening entertainment...We were that happy we have booked it again for June!!

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation near the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank janetteorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I stayed here in 2010 with my daughter and grand daughter. The transfers were quick and easy and although the travel agents said it was about 20 mins from the airport it took us ten and was in walking distant. Upon arrival at the hotel we was greated warmly by the reception staff and champagne was given to us, which we had whilst being taken to our room. Our room was clean and provided everything we needed. The pools were lovely but a little bit chilly, the sports equipment was excellent as there was never no shortage. The hotel offers a mini club for under 12's which looked like great fun, where a mini disco took place for about an hour at the beginning of the evening. The hotel also ran a teens club, which my grand daughter took part in and she felt welcome and enjoyed the game of table tennis. We never had a problem with getting sun loungers or parasols, as staff were very willing to help you collect some extras if need be. The food was excellent, there was a great variety of choice and we probably gained weight! The drink varietly was great. We went out there with low expectations for the entertainment but when we got out there we was amazed and enjoyed every minute of it. All in all I have no complaints and would recommend this wonderful hotel to any one!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whosthatchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay with my wife and 3 year old over the Easter weekend. Really easy holiday with a toddler as just 10mins from the airport (10-12 Euros), close to the beach, lots to eat/drink, entertainment was better than average, clean hotel and friendly staff. Some of the higlights for us were:
- toddler playarea was next to the pool, so easy to sunbathe while watching my son. In other hotels the play areas require you to go away from the pool area.
- Hotel tries to entertain eg Easter Bunny, Drifters show, live music during dinner. Not very spectacular, but not sure they could do much more. Passes the time!
- Variety of food for meat eaters is really good, and the quality generally high.
- Great having the beach across a small road from the hotel, with an assortment of restaurants/shops. Meant we could flick between the beach, pool and room easily.
- Having a room on the last day to shower/change before going to the aiport is great as helps to make the most of that last day for night flights.
- waiters clear the tables in record time at dinner/breakfast , so never any dirty plates on the tables.
- Drinks readily available - branded and decent wines.

However
- Vegetarians will suffer. My wife/son had tomatoe spagetti for 4 days! No main course for veggies, although there was lots of salad (but you don't really want salad all the time on holiday!)
- I don't know why, but spoons are a scarce resource. My son cannot eat spagetti with an adult fork, but we never seemed to easily get hold of a spoon.
- I thought rooms were pretty large (we had a suite), but perhaps old fashioned/dated for some tastes.
- on the first day we made the mistake of taking our time to get to the pool, by which time nearly all sunbeds had been taken. It never felt crowded as the design of the pool areas is really good, but sunbeds seemd to go before dawn!

Room Tip: Bag your place by the pool asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have just returned from staying here on all inclusive basis. We decided to pay a little more for this holiday as it was our first wedding anniversary. Thomas Cook made a note of this on our file but there was no extra touches given and the hotel certainly didn't justify the amount we paid for this holiday. We asked for sea view room which if we got a ladder for our balcony we may have seen.
Yes the food was exceptional but it was like a rugby scrum against the German folk to get a table/sunbed etc and oh the managers favoured the German nationality by offering drinks on arrival/departure but not to us Brits.
Waiting to be served was a nightmare - not enough staff on or available bars so queues were massive.
Maids were obsessed with cleaning floors so beware! We saw many people slip over which was not good as I am pregnant.
Room was very dated and although towels were clean were stained with god knows what. Sunbeds had all gone by 8am so resorted to going to beach which was much nicer and not so claustrophobic.
Would we go back again? Only if price was a lot cheaper and would definitiely look at booking other hotels in area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaubrummie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_vanwijk, Verkaufsleiter at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your commentaries on the Seaside Los Jameos Playa.
In general the Seaside Los Jameos Playa has a high procentage of satisfied clients, as you can see on Trip Advisor, because of the service, food, etc.

We are very sorry if on our reservation there was no note about the wedding anniversary, this way we would have been able to do something.

We cannot check your reservation to see what room type you have booked, since you did not mention your name on the letter. We offer different roomtypes with different views: The A-type offers in-land-view and is situated on the lower floors. The B-type offers garden- pool- or sea view and the C superior-roomtype offers garden- pool- or sea view on the higher floors, as well as a bigger balcony with sunbeds and DVD and kettle.-
This Easter the hotel was extremely well booked, probably this level of occupancy was parcially caused by the loss of destinations in general because of the trouble in northern Africa. Of course, when the hotel is full, there are certain hours that the restaurant is busier than others. Our goal is not to have very high occupancies; we prefer a lower occupancy, since we are aware that this is more comfortable for our clients.

At Seaside Hotels our first aim is to provide good service and very good food quality, therefore we are especially sorry that you did not feel completely comfortable because the restaurant was busy. We can assure you that the occupancy has already gone back to normal and that the atmosphere is a lot quieter again now.

In Seaside Los Jameos Playa we do not allow to reserve sun beds, this is being communicated to our clients by information in reception and at the entrance of all the room buildings.

Welcome drinks are being offered on arrival in Reception to all our clients of all nationalities. The drinks are in a visible place for everybody. We make no exception between different nationalities; however we are sorry in case our Reception staff at the moment of your arrival did not indicate you were the drinks are.

The price level you mention has to do with the exceptional food that you highlighted and with the service provided. We are aware that you came when the hotel was very full and we are very sorry that because of that you have were a bit disappointed. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that the Seaside Los Jameos Playa is a very comfortable hotel.

Kind regards,

Astrid van Wijk
Director of Sales & Marketing
Seaside Hotels S.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,567 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,806 reviews
12.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Property: Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing