We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at Plaza Azul and had a great time. The hotel was great really quiet spaces room and great facilities for all ages! Safe in room cost €15 and get €5 back when you return the key. There is a back balcony including the front so you have sun at all times. Sun beds where taken from early morning even though signs say reserving sunbeds are prohibited !!!
We stayed in a down stairs appartment and requested a pool view and got it on arrival, I would recommend staying on the second floor as the views would be better and they are not up high at all. Also the terraced is a must it is up the spiral stairs in the appartments, you can see the whole of Lanzarote from up there and there is plenty of sunbeds up there, Its Amazing!!!
All in all the stay was lovely and relaxing staff really nice and helpful cleaning done regularly, pool and pool side spotless, NO fan needed either rooms really airy. Would definetly recommend staying in Plaza Azul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girl942013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    217
    83
    25
    16
See reviews for
98
285
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a week here as a sole traveller on a half board basis.

The staff were very friendly who could not have done enough and worked very long hours.
The apartments were kept very clean with cleaning done 5 times per week.

My only gripe was the selection of food. Breakfast and dinner were chosen from a menu each mealtime, and being a lactose intolerant sufferer, my choices were very limited as I could not eat pizza not cheeseburger.

The breakfast selection consisted of the following 1) tea or coffee; orange, pineapple, peach or apple juice; croissant; 2) tea or coffee; orange, pineapple, peach or apple juice; cheese and ham toastie; 3) tea or coffee; orange, pineapple, peach or apple juice; cheeseburger. There was only one morning when the peach or apple juice was offered.

As other reviews have indicated, the apartments all overlook the poolside and are located within a 5-10 minute walk of other restaurants, shops and Hyper Dino supermarket.

As there was no air conditioning I kept the windows open overnight, however, due to the location of my apartment, there was a lot of traffice noise and noise from people to-ing and fro-ing from reception, however it did not prevent me from sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMcC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, my son loved it, very close to beach and all restaurants, staff werer lovely and very helpful, we will definately stay here again, weather was hot hot hot, plenty supermarkets just outside the apartments, Lanzarote is the cleanest place we have been too, there is a takeaway pizza place a short walk away which we visited on a few occasions, we had breakfast on the seafront every morning and called in to a few pubs, great for my son who would like to come back here next year

Room Tip: Balcony view over pool was very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoolsbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times, August 1999, October 2002 and October 2012 and have had a fantastic holiday each time. This review is a little late but I decided to take a minute to express how wonderful this place really is. This is a little long but I wanted to put it all the little daft details I always wonder about when deciding what hotel to book for my holidays.

The complex is beautiful, traditional Lanzarote style low rise white buildings with lovely palm trees and plants dotted around. The complex is very quiet with no obnoxious loud music blasting out when you're trying to lie and relax in the sunshine. Its also quiet at night and the bedrooms being at the back of the apartments mean you aren't disturbed by people arriving home late. The roof terrace is worth a visit to admire just how beautiful Lanzarote is. The whole complex is kept lovely and clean by a team of 5 staff, 4 ladies clean the rooms and 1 man who cleans the pool area almost every day. The staff work so hard to keep the place immaculate and it really shows, we left one day at 7.30am to go on a trip and the cleaning was already well underway when we left.

The rooms are bright and clean and just the right size in my opinion. I have stayed in both ground and upper floor rooms and personally prefer the upper floor as they are a little more private but on some of the lower floor rooms you get a terrace at the back as well as the front of the apartment so it depends what you like. The apartment was cleaned 12 out of the 14 days we stayed and the ladies who clean are very pleasant and extremely hard working. The beds are nice and comfy and despite the lack of air con the rooms are not too hot to sleep in (we had a heat wave when we stayed here and the temperature crept up to 45 degrees as well). During the day we blocked open the balcony door and the bedroom window to let the breeze pass through so there was no real need for air con.

We only ate toasties and a burger at lunch from the snack bar and didn't eat at all in the restaurant so can't really comment on the food, prices at the snack bar were reasonable for food and drink during the day. There are so many amazing, cheap restaurants in PDC that we ate out every night. There is a tiny shop in the hotel but its expensive and doesn't stock much. There is a shop across the road but I would recommend walking 5 mins down the hill to the big supermarket where the prices are better and you can get pretty much anything you need.

When we were here in October there were a few of the annoying sunbed reservers, those obnoxious tourists who lie towels across the same sunbeds in the exact same spot then don't turn up to use the sunbeds for hours. It may have been that the hotel wasn't full but we almost always managed to get beds when we went out around 10am. The pool itself is fabulous, quite chilly but not uncomfortably so. In this heat I always prefer a cooler pool to swim in as I find it much more refreshing than a heated pool.

We had to check out by noon on the day we left but our flight wasn't until 6pm. We stayed by the pool for the afternoon and got a key from reception for the courtesy room. This room is located next to the public toilets and has a toilet, shower and hairdryer in it to freshen up before heading to the airport.

The hotel is located at the top of a hill, nothing too difficult if you are able bodied, but if you have mobility issues or just don't feel like walking a taxi up the hill is only a few euros. At the bottom of the hill is the gorgeous beach and the main resort centre. If you turn left at the bottom of the hill you will find all the main bars, clubs and lots of restaurants. Look out for Taberna Nino which is a right turn up a side street and serves amazing tapas. If you turn right at the bottom of the hill there are a few low key bars and more restaurants. On this side look out for Bollywood indian restaurant, (about 10 mins walk, don't let the tacky sign put you off) for a really good curry. The old town harbour takes around 30 to walk to but a taxi there is only 5 or 6 euro. If you want to walk take a right at the bottom of the hill, walk the full length of the strip until the road turns up to the left and you see an indoor shopping mall (with a McDonalds in it) turn left down the hill and you will find the harbour. Emma's Mexican Cantina in the old town is great, (the nachos, extra spicy enchiladas and chocolate brownies washed down with a huge frozen margarita is a little bit of heaven) it is hard to find so I would recommend a taxi here then walk back to find your bearings. When you leave Emma's walk straight across the street and down the stairs to the harbour, its lovely at night as well as during the day.

We did the trip to the Teguise market with Last Minute Transfers, they were charging 4 euro compared to £14 from Thomson. I loved this trip, you get a few hours to wander around the market and I could have happily stayed there all day. There are a few tat stalls selling fake designer junk but there are also local people selling homemade foods and drink. These stalls all have green canopy roofs to let you know what is actually authentic. A special mention to the mojo sauce sold here, we brought a couple of jars home and it was so much better than what most of the restaurants where serving. If you like the fake designer items haggle with the seller, a lady tried to get me to buy a bag I didn't want and actually dropped the price from 30 to 5 euro because I was walking away from her so always haggle and you will pay less than half what they are originally asking, That being said do be respectful of items that are hand made, it is insulting to the seller if you try to haggle a lot off the price of something they themselves have made. Also be aware the market is located quite far inland so there isn't much of a breeze and it gets very hot so take water with you. We went on the earlier trip which left around 8.30 I think and it was still very hot.

We didn't bother booking transfers with our travel operator, they were charging us £10 per person each way for coach transfers. Having been to Lanzarote a few times I knew how close the hotel is to the airport so we decided to just get a taxi at the airport. There is a taxi queue just outside the airport doors (very well signposted and easy to find). The queue can seem long but moves very quickly and we were waiting less than 10 mins. All the taxis are air conditioned and comfortable. The taxi cost us 15 euro each way so saved us around £15 and was much quicker to get to the hotel, it took around 10 mins from getting in the taxi to arriving at the hotel compared to sitting on a coach for an hour while others get dropped off en route.

The other thing I will mention about the airport is the cost of food is extortionate! We went to Burger King and were charged 23 euro for 2 adult meals, medium not large. The other thing about Lanzarote is that as it is a duty free island its actually much cheaper to buy perfume, cigarettes and alcohol in resort than at the airport. In resort if you buy perfume in one of the perfume stores you can usually haggle on price especially if you are a perfume addict like me and are buying 4 at one time!

All in all this hotel, and Lanzarote in general, are fantastic. Do not hesitate when booking here, you will have a wonderful holiday and if you are anything like me will keep coming back again and again. I have no doubt I will be back to stay at this beautiful place in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty good location, the rooms on the right side of the complex get sun pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jilllovessunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying at Plaza Azul, the complex itself is very beautiful with palm trees, plants, colourful flowers all around the complex and outside the apartments, it is a very quiet complex and the staff are so friendly, especially our cleaner Carmen. Our apartment (B12) was on the ground floor in the corner of the complex so it was very private and was not overlooked so eating outside was comfortable and quiet. The apartment itself was very basic and could of done with a lick of paint here and there but this was not a major problem to us (the view outside the apartment made up for this). We had patio doors from both the living area and the bedroom so it made the apartment very bright and airy. We ate at the pool snack bar on a few ocassions for a little lunch and we found the food reasonably priced and tasty, the beer and soft drinks were slightly expensive so we just took our own to the pool during the day. The pool itself is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The roof terrace is great for peaceful sunbathing and also has the most incredible views. There is a restaurant, bar and a spa onsite altho i cannot comment on these as we never used them. There is a supermarket over the road from the complex which is not expensive at all we used this quite often, altho there is a much larger one further down the hill with a lot more choice. There is a beautiful italian restaurant called Nico's at the bottom of the hill which i highly recommend the food is fabulous and not at all expensive. From leaving the complex it is about a 5 minute walk to the bottom where you will find all the shops, restaurants, bars and of course the sea, so you are in close proximaty to just about everything. We ate at the American/Indian restaurant on a few ocassions the food is very good and they have great 'meal deals' from as little as 8 euros (the ribs are a must)!! I would also recommend the Tex Mex restaurant altho a little more expensive the size of the portions are enormous and very good. There are plenty of other restaurants and bars to choose from all on the seafront. We had a great holiday and are considering returning to Plaz Azul, i would definately recommend these apartments for a low budget holiday you carnt go wrong they really are good.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are overlooking the pool so ground floor are not too private rooms B12, B13 and B1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

lovely quiet complex. very well kept. staff couldnt be friendlier or more helpful.
huge clean pool.
always someone on reception eager to help.
I shared room b13 with my mum and two kids and would thoroughly recommend it.we would definitely stay again. our room was ground floor, poolside with a shaded front terrace and scorching sunny back terrace with private sunbeds, table and chairs.
The rooms were cleaned regularly and the lady that did ours was very sweet with the children.
No nightime noise and within easy reach of the main strip.
plenty supermarkets round about and spinakers accross the road and down a bit did excellent food.
the pool bar did reasonably priced tasty food and happy hour on drinks every day.
All in all we had a great stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2012. It was a budget holiday, but it gave us all we needed. A small complex so the pool didn't get too busy, inflatables were left for everyone to use, and the pool bar provided drink, food and music throughout the day. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was cleaned regularly with extra towels. The ground floor apartment had a patio on both sides, so you could have some quiet time in the sun away from the pool, and there was a TV with free limited cable channels. There is a roof terrace too, which provided great views and a beautiful sunset. The only downside was the size of the apartment, but ok for a family of four.
As for location, yes the apartment is up a small hill, but manageable, and is perfectly located for the strip. We used the supermarket under Spinnakers bar ( just down the road), and ate at Pinocchio's pizzeria which was good value for money and family friendly. Bear in mind that the apartments are not far from the airport either, so don't waste money on a transfer when a taxi is reasonable. We would love to go back here!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshgirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#33 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Aloe
Apartamentos Aloe
#46 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
907 reviews
1.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#72 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing