We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“return visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've been to these apartments 3 times now and i won't stay anywhere else in puerto del carmen, we've just booked for the 4th time for september and i hope it will be as good as the last 3 times, i must say the only thing is the reserving of sunbeds at 8 in the morning there is no need for it as most people dont use them and come back later and take they're towels away it's the only thing i find is wrong, not the only place it happens and should be stopped.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a back terrace where the sun lasts longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    212
    81
    25
    16
See reviews for
95
279
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed here several times, lovely clean apartments, excellant friendly staff, going back in a fortnight time soooooooooooo looking forward to it . Good spacious pool. Excellant entertainment especially Louis the barman!
Jacky dave n dj brown

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackybrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February 2013. The hotel is basic but is very clean. The room we were allocated was bit noisy for my missus Val, (I never heard a thing) and they moved us over to the other side which was much quieter without any fuss. There is a decent supermarket on the other side of the road about 50 yards away which has a great selection of food and drink at reasonable prices. There is also a much smaller one facing the hotel which is a bit dear. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have a hob, microwave oven and kettle, there is also a telly. No hairdryers are available in the room. They will hire one to you for 5 euros a day. Val bought one for 8 euros from one of the shops on the strip, it was priced at 30 Euros but she is a top haggler, it is worth pointing out that you can haggle and get massive reductions on many things such as aftershave, perfume etc..

The breakfasts are first rate and Joseph the waiter is very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for him he is very helpful indeed. We will stay here again and can recommend it as a great basic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

As regular stayers we are happy with the basic but clean and tidy self catering apartments.
Swimming pool large and clean, location is good 5 min walk to beach and busy bars, but jump a taxi back up the hill if you had a few drinks its cheap enough!!!! Only problem is the towels please change them more often????? Twice a week is a bit mean!! Carmen the cleaner is great and should be the supervisor if not already? But all the cleaners are excellent. Have stayed here over 10 times so apart from the towel issue all good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvermerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for one week 23 March - 30th March. Had expectations it would be basic as paid hardly anything for holiday overall. Lucky had a room overlooking pool with sunshine all day on balcony. Beds were hard so be warned! slept on sofa little softer - would advise taking air matress! Bathroom was standard lots of wear and tear and not as clean as my own standards. Kitchen was basic but everything worked ok. Few light bulbs needed changing.

Maid service came around 3-5pm which wasn't helpful for me as I like a siesta that time and they don't knock they just let themselves in.

Pool - couldn't fault it lovely and large! sunbeds are ok but have to pay extra for cushions so buy a Lilo put on top of sunbeds and its then really comfy!

Bed and breakfast option was ok but only cooked brekki, omelette or cheese and ham toastie! no cereal or pastries on offer so very bland every day the same. basic cooked brekki, 1 sausage, 1 egg, beans, bacon, toast.

If I chose again I would do self catering only!

Hotel entertainment was non existent but didn't bother me as went to the strip for bars clubs and places to eat every night.

not that cheap to eat out all the time and this is where my spending money went.

great location and enjoyed walking to and from hotel, slight hill but nothing major.

snack bar around pool was nice, played music and drinks/food ok price.

overall if you want a relaxing holiday with large pool then go here but I wouldn't want to go in peak of summer as no air con in rooms and would be too busy with kids and people most likely hogging sunbeds.

Room Tip: 7A or 7B is a good room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend (24, 27) stayed in Plaza Azul in July 2012 for 7 nights and what a little gem of a place this was! The rooms are very basic, but they are clean and safe and that is all that was needed for the duration of our stay as we were lounging around the pool or the beach or away on trips during the day. The rooms were cleaned everyday we were here, and the staff were always smiling away and very polite. The reception staff were amazing, always ordering taxis, asking how your holiday was, and they even charged my new iPod for me on their computer while i was away, this is how trustworthy they are.
The apartments are not even a ten minute walk away from the strip and the beach. They are in an ideal location. Right opposite you have a large supermarket in which you can get everything you could possibly need and bring them back to your apartment with you.
From reviews I have read previous to writing this I see people giving out about this and that but in fairness it is advertised as a 2 star so dont expect the Ritz, but it is definitely a 4 star apartment complex.
Trustworthy staff, central location, safe and comfortable apartment and beds.. What more could you look for out of an apartment block.
Massive thank you to the staff of Plaza Azul for your generosity and kindness, it made our stay with you all the more special and we will definitely return one day.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pool View On The First Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjairmamhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in room A23. Self-catering. Upstairs apartment overlooking the pool, in a nice complex.

Well situated apartments if you like being central to the strip, as we do.

Nice and clean as expected. Bedroom good, lounge good (light not working properly), kitchen good (no filter coffee maker but no problem, kettle had limescale in it so needs changing), bathroom good (although didnt like shower curtain which sticks to you when showering). Nice balcony.

Didnt use the pool area but it was hilarious to watch people putting their towels out every morning. Around 8am onwards if you're interested. Ridiculous...and sad. Quite noisy with a group gathered around later on.

Previous reviewers think the reception staff were marvellous. Not at all. Kept us waiting with no explanation when we arrived and cursory nods and Holas at best throughout the holiday. We dont care though...just informing those of you that are needy...

As mentioned, the walls do appear thin and you can hear a few things that we havent experienced at other apartments. But...for an inexpensive winter break, we really have nothing to complain about. We would prefer to stay elsewhere given the choice, but we would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caseywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#39 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#26 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing