We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Basic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Basic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

If all your looking for is basic, comfortable, clean apartments near the centre of Puerto Del Carmen then these are ideal!! Steep walk back from the main strip but not too much of a problem, plus cabs only 5euros to main stip or Old town (marina).
Our room was on the bottom floor & was tucked away in the courner, so our terrace faced out onto a walll, this wasnt to much of a problem as we werent expecting much, but if you wish for a pool view room, best to request one! Our room was right by the road aswel, but again not much of a bother, only one night we where awoken by some drunks walking past, but this didnt bother us as expected in a noisey resort like Puerto Del Carmen.
Pool was good size and clean, getting a sunbed could be a bit of an issue! So only hung around the pool 2days I think. But Pool bar was resonable for drinks and breakfast.
Can't comment on main bar/resturant and never ate/drank in either of them, didnt look like many other people did either.
The strip in Puertro Del Carmen is very british but in the best way possible, any food you fancy is on offer! Ruta 66 etc perfect for after dinner cocktails! Also Marina (Old town) Is lovely aswel, too far to walk from the hotel but 5 min drive/cab ride from hotel, and worth going to! Gorg Sea views! We used to alternate nights between the old town and the new!
We hired a car while we where there (good idea and nice to vist the other resorts, as Lanzarote has good roads and always places to park!) But Puerto Del carmen was still our fave, Playa Blanca was nice but was bit more quieter and smaller and Costa Teguise felt it was more accomodating to families (all purpose built)! El Golfo definatly worth a vist for some good seafood and gorg views!
Beach in Puetro del carmen was by far the nicest, no stones in the sea!
Will definalty venture back to Lanzo soon and won't rule out this hotel for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalovesholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    212
    81
    25
    15
See reviews for
95
278
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

spent 8 nights 23rd 31st jan,location up rd about 10 mins spinikers bar and hypermarket halfway up.apartment pool huge very cold but didnt stop people using it.outside area kept very well.apartments themselves bit dated could do with more utensils didnt ask for more so my fault.worst thing was hotwater was brown and nobody seemed bothered by it,ended up just using cold for showers brrr.cleaning staff lovely.they have book library but they charge 2euros for books that people have prob left behind and only if you leave 10 books will they give 1 free believe me i asked.a bit mean i think.we had all kinds of meals out all good but for something quick bluebells on front for fish chips brilliant.shenanagins do lovely quick grub as well.please please if youve never been go to mulligans in the old town tues fri sun for some great entertainment.andy nuala fantastic and the iconic billy hughes still the main man. please give it a go.

Room Tip: ground level to avoid overhead noise.right side for most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burgessgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here from 17th to 24th Jan 13, we found these apartments basic (as expected) clean tidy very well managed. reception was open 24 hours everyone very helpful, Leo was "pure class" courteous knowable and very helpful. Best to go for west side apartments as this has more and better sun exposure. 'we did not use bar or pool.

Room Tip: Best to go for west side apartments as this has more and better sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
294 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice complex built around a huge pool and spacious sunbathing area. Apartments are clean but shabby and in fairly serious need of redecoration and new fittings and fixtures. The downstairs apartments badly suffer from any nose upstaairs. The reception and bar area is dark and a bit depressing. The price was good and the location, near to beach and the strip, was very convenient. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice apartments very clean and great value for money only 5mins from bars , large supermarket just down the road must try la ola restaurant over looking the sea , and Asia also on the main strip , only thing if you go in winter the pool is not heated

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MATT63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks, landing on 30 December.

We were allocated A22, this was on the left side and so we had no sun at all. Wasn't really a problem as we were out with the kids from 10am. I would suggest A or B 5/6/7/8, these are in the sun all day long. The actual rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need. Fridge, small freezer at the top, shower, bedroom, front room with pull out bed. The TV is free and shows basic English channels (nobody goes on holiday for the tele but it's good to keep the kids quiet while you get ready) including a few films and Sky News. There's also the usual plates, cups, cutlery and a microwave.

The grounds are immaculate , they have a maintenance guy that cleans up constantly. The maids are also very friendly and are in 5 times a week.

Josef, the guy on the pool is great, we got to know him really well. He now has a job in Calero so his girlfriend has taken over the bar. It's 2.50 a beer and worth it for a couple before you get into the town. Leo and the reception guys are great as well. All the staff are a credit to the complex.

It's very quiet around the pool, just an English radio channel very low. Windy as well but quite deceiving, even in January!

The on site supermarket is pretty expensive, but the Hyperdino down the road stocks everything and you're OK having anything you've bought from here at the pool area (away from the bar).

Can't comment on evening entertainment as we went out every night, but it looked really quiet.

Overall, we had a fantastic time, and would ome back.

Room Tip: A or B 5/6/7/8 if you love the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Young-MostoniansM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drgoheda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 2nd to 11th jan. We had B7 and it was lovely and bright and spotless clean. Well maintained flower beds and pool area. Rooms cleaned every 2nd day with towel change but cleaners were on the go every day. Lovely staff at reception and esp Joseba at the pool bar was great. Very friendly and helpful. Will defo return to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drog73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#31 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#36 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#39 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing