We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luz y mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luz y Mar Apartments
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“luz y mar”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we have just come back for the second time good stay again
and would like to say a big thankyou to liam the pool bar man for the dvds and aftersun and for the nice big jug of sangria the best on the island and he does make the best burgers he is also very helpful
we r going back to luz y mar soon
the apartments r what u pay for some people think there crap but they r not they r spotless at the end of the day u only really sleep there at night and come bk to shower then bk out as u out most of the day if people prefer to sit on the balcony with cans from the shop ur better off staying home and put ur heating on the pool bar is cheap see u soon liam

Room Tip: room 3 or 26 up stairs good sun spot for morning till afternoon in room 3 and afternoon till 7 at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tara503830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
93
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

These apartments are excellent value for money, we booked via Travel Republic and only paid £150 for our 1 bedroomed apartment for us both. We were in room 3 which was on the ground floor, very spacious, very clean, and handy for the pool, as were all on the ground floor apartments.
The only down side to being on the ground floor is that you could get people in the apartment above you that maybe noisy. The one above us had people who seemed to be living there and I think they got up for work every morning at 7am, as between 7-8am their TV was noisy, then the clip clopping of the shoes and moving furniture, Why do people always seem to scrape furniture round the floors??? Anyway, apart from that these apartments are excellent!!

Lovely and peaceful and very well looked after and well maintained. The kitchen was very well equipped, and the beds very comfy. The maid only came into our room once during our weeks stay, which I found rather strange, and the sheets were not changed at all. There was plenty of towels, and spare blankets in wardrobe and all rooms very spacious.

The pool was small but really nice, clean and well maintained too. Even thought most apartments were occupied, it was never busy round the pool and the most we ever saw in the pool were 4 people (Which was us, as 6 of us went). Our friends were in a 2 bedroomed apartment No.10 which was in the corner, apparently this is the best one to stay in during the very hot summer months as it stays cooler most of the day, whereas in March it did appear to be slightly cooler than our other apartments. (We stayed in 2,3 & 10).

The pool bar was open between 10am till 6pm each day,serving hot and cold drinks and snacks, etc. Very reasonable prices too Cheese Burger, Chips and Salad was €3.50 and €2 for a pint of Lager. Liam who runs the snack bar is also very helpful.

Great location as they were in between the old town and the new town, which were both only about 10 mins walk away for lots of bars and restaurants.

All 6 of us loved the place and would defo book to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor for easy access to the pool Apartment No 10 is cooler in the hotter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked late, found appartments clean and well looked after.
Beds are a little hard but clean sheets, and as many towels as you want.
Nice pool area, have pool bar but only open in main season.
I booked 1st floor this is recommended if possible, nice sized balconies and quite private have outside chairs and a table, no oven but 2 rings and a microwave, fridge, plenty of plates and pots excetera.
Very English bar in front of appartments lots of brits their, also Pizza resturant, beware, it is about 10 euros a pizza, but very light on toppings, I ordered a seafood pizza and got 3 prawns and 3 mussels, also very thin and not very tasty.
It's about a 10 minute walk to harbour and lots of bars and resturants offering good value for money,
best value is special menus all about 10 euros.
About 15 minutes walk to main strip all down hill, coming back is a slight workout, but a great walk.
I would book again as found staff very friendly and helpful.
All in all a very good get away.

Room Tip: Try to get 1st floor room if poss. but ground floors seemed fine to me, just 1st floor has quite a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank glenn_london44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked a late new year deal for me and my husband and also took my elderly parents. The apartments were initially difficult to find at 9pm in the evening as the restaurant in front of the apts had a tree which covered the name so look out for the kazbar and it is on the right at the end of the reaurants,also look for spar shop it is just up on the right past it. As with other reviews I can confirm that the keys are taped in an envelope with your name on with a map to find your appt strange I know but we were fortunate to have a little english lad show us to our apts. The apts were very basic BUT very spacious. The cleaner came about 5 times in 10 days and the beds were changed once. The apts were clean and the towels were of a reasonable quality not paper thin, hard or ripped. Unfortunately the beds were rock hard on our appt and we only had a sheet and cover on the bed with one very flat pillow. There was a blanket in the wardrobe now although this may be sufficient for the summer months when the nights are warm the nights in the winter months can prove to be very chilly so I recommend a nice warm pair of pj's in your luggage - not very romantic I know but you will be grateful for them if travelling in dec/jan. We did manage to get an extra blanket but was still chilly but no xtra pillows were available.
There was plenty of space in the wardrobe and each room has a safe which was 14 euros for a week with a refund of 6e on return of the key. The kitchen has a double hob, microwave and fridge with small freezer compartment. The tv was a big let down you had to pump euros in to make it work and the only english channel was sky news so would recommend portable dvd player and plenty of films if you have kids if you don't have one see Liam.
The poolbar - Liam in the poolbar was a god send, he was very helpful with local info and my parents wanted a night in one night so he loaned them his dvd player and some films. He has a couple of dvd players which he hires out and has a massive collection of dvd's so go see him.
The poolbar prices are competitive and he offers a friendly warm service.
The apts are in a good location just a 10 min walik to the old town ans about 15 mins to the strip, they are in a very quiet area so no noise late at night or early in the morning. The gtound floor apts look onto the pool area which gets plenty of sun and they are very suitable for people with mobility probs asalthough not fully disabled my dad needs a wheelchair to get around and we had no probs with this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mazzastarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

it was fantastic staying here im booking again for january worth the money and we made loads friends in the kaz bar just outside the apartments the locals in there treat u as if u r 1 of them it was very peaceful at luz y mar brilliant place to stay we stayed here for 18 nights

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tara503830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having read reviews on the apartments here we went expecting simple accommodation and were pleasantly surprised. The apartments are situated on the edge of the old town within a 10 minute walk to the sea front of the harbour area or 15 minutes to the beach area. The apartment was ground floor fronting the pool and was very spacious. Good clean kitchen and bath, Living room furniture was clean but basic. Bedroom had plenty of storage space but the beds were rock hard!

The pool bar was adequate but opening hours seemed sporadic but this most probably down to us going out of season. The pool was clean but very cold.

Noise wise on the whole quiet accept for one night when the people next door decided to have a blazing argument that went on for a couple of hours.

We were worried about security before going and had read reports on here, of trouble. However the apartments seemed very secure with double lock entry and bars on windows (to keep us in or them out?). A safe is available for 14 euros for the week.

There is a vast array of restaurants and bars some very good and some diabolical! If you like Chinese then try the New World Restaurant nearest the apartment (There are 2 of the same name owned by the same people. The ground floor one being the best by Atlantis Los Lomas) This restaurant caters for both traditional and British Chinese tastes and its food and service are excellent.

For a traditional English Breakfast a walk along the sea front to Maritoni's is well worth it. For 2.5 Euro's a proper breakfast with good bacon & Heinz beans overlooking the sea front. It advertises the best breakfast in town and we didn't find better! Try also to eat here in the evening as the food is excellent. You need to get there early as its soon full and otherwise you will have to wait sometime (although it is well worth the wait)

Overall the Luz Y Mar is a good base of operations and am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wyeman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

we took a cheap late break in puerto del carmen and booked this thru monarch v cheap and were happy enough with what we got the apartments are of reasonable standard if very simple, our intention was to get somewhere where we could get out and enjoy a walk in the evening and eat where we want, we've done a few of the half/full board type hols and find it a bit boring. the pool area was fine and the bar was very friendly and welcoming (nice Lady) 2euros a pint what more can you say lol, the reception were not that helpful as we were flying late in the day and wanted to keep the room for a few hours, so we asked as it said just ask on the sign in reception...but the answer was no and when we asked if we could leave our bags there till later the answer was no we close at 1....not that helpful really. The nice lady at the bar offered to look after our bags, which was very kind. taxi from airport 16 euros ish. supermarkets v close for supplies, the spar does very nice fresh baguettes for about a euro to make your own lunch, all in all not to bad and close enough to the main eating and drinking areas (5-10 mins leisurely walk) with some bars closer. the hire car people on the corner near the apartments K.H.Services were very friendly helpful people, would recommend them. dont expect 5 star but yes I would go back so recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#59 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#35 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#31 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Carmen
Hotel Puerto Carmen
#56 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz y Mar Apartments

Property: Luz y Mar Apartments
Address: C/ Juan Carlos 18, 35509 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz y Mar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Luz y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz y Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Luz y Mar Apartments Matagorda
Luz y Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing