We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another beautiful visit”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just come back from yet another visit to the Fariones, we have been coming to this hotel approx two or three times a year for the past 18 years. We love the atmosphere and the views. By now the staff especially the bar staff are like old friends and we greet each other as such. We certainly miss the little touches from the old days like the chocolate on the pillow, the dozen roses, the bottle of wine to welcome you but appreciate that these things must go in these recessionary times. We appreciate the updating of such things as new carpets, new sunbeds and hopefully more parasols. We look forward to our next visit and know we will enjoy it immensely. Many thanks to all staff. Maureen B. Dundalk, Ireland

Room Tip: higher floors have a clearer view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Mrs. Maureen:
Firstly we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor followers. Your feedback is very important as your commentaries help us to do our best and improve our services day by day. We are pleased to hear you fully enjoy our atmosphere and views every year you come. Thank you so much for trusting Fariones Hotels and for your comprehension in this time of economic recession. Once again I would like to express our gratitude for spending your time sharing your impressions about your accommodation.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you here again in the future.


Regards,
Bienvenido Saavedra – General Manager Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Los Fariones Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 825 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just back from week holiday in Hotel Fariones. so relaxing. Room comfortable and spacious. Bathroom vent open to outdoors! Rm 511 Might need repair .Beautiful grounds. Credit to cleaners also. Hotel spotless. Bar staff and reception a bit grumpy but generally everyone friendly. Towels on sunbeds in the middle of the night almost! Do people ever sleep? This hotel is all about the gentle life ,Peacefull and quiet.
Rooms could provide more info on the services available in the hotel .Meal times and so on.

Room Tip: request high floor, fan kettle and so on.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear client:

Thanks so much for taken your time to write this comment in TripAdvisor page. As well, thank you for trusting in Fariones Hotels to spend your holidays in Lanzarote. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your accommodation as you deserved. We work hard every day to give the clients a relaxing atmosphere and peace during their vacations.
We will pass your reviews to the Bar-Restaurant Manager as our principal aim is the guest´s comfort and satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you next season.

Regards from sunny Lanzarote. Bienvenido Saavedra - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday in the Fariones Hotel and overall we have had a fantastic time.
We requested a high room with a fridge and was allocated this, upon arrival in our room was a bottle of champagne and fruit with a lovely note to wish us a Happy wedding anniversary and an enjoyable holiday. What a welcome, thank you so much.
In my opinion the hotel has the best location in the whole of Lanzarote and infact it is the best located hotel I have ever visited. It has its own small beach, all the rooms are facing the sea, You can eat breakfast and have a candlelit dinner on a terrace which overlooks the beach if you like, it is fantastic. The waiters are very friendly and professional, the food is plentiful and of very good standard, we ate breakfast and Dinner for 21 nights and was never disappointed with the choices.
The Bedrooms which are very well equipped and hotel are kept immaculately clean the maid who cleaned our room (Florinda) was extremely pleasant and friendly and did a fantastic job every day, she worked so hard and I feel she deserves a special mention.
We have had a lovely holiday and hate to complain but must mention the 'SUNBED SITUATION' yet again. When you go to Lanzarote you go mainly to sunbathe and relax, so I feel that there should be enough sunbeds and parasols to accommodate every guest this is clearly not the case, this is the reason people are reserving them early. I have said every year I have visited the hotel this is a real problem and needs solving, I have suggested that the garden area behind the beach be made into another sunbathing terrace with sunbeds and parasols and also the area near the main beach to be used for sunbeds and parasols. I noticed that some sunbeds had been placed on the area near the main beach but no parasols had been provided, people do like full sun all day but need some shade at certain times.
It has been the downside to our holiday having to rise at 6am to get a sunbed with full sun all day but with a parasol, and all similar beds had gone by 6.30am!! yes there are still odd beds empty at 9am but these are in the shade. The 3 terraces are all too crowded I could put my arm out and touch the next persons bed this is not comfortable and we found it difficult having a conversation together without others overhearing us.
Please sort this problem out it should be in my opinion a No.1 priority, we visited the hotel again this year as we thought the problem had been solved when we saw that the hotel had new sunbeds (Which are Excellent) but it was still a pain getting up at 6am.
We will not visit the hotel again until this has been solved. We come to the hotel in October and think this must be the busiest month, but you should still be able to get a sunbed in the sun with a parasol without having to get up too early. The only other problem which you say is being sorted is the air conditioning and restoration of the hotel.
As I say this hotel could be 7 star Luxury because of its location it is in a much better position than the Yaiza, I think it will be upgraded when the problems are solved and we would definitely pay extra to stay at this fantastic hotel.
Overall we have had a wonderful holiday, great service, great food, great location and a fantastic welcome, we would love to return in the future. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mrs. Kim:
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing once again our hotel for your stay. We highly appreciate that you have taken your time to write your experience. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your accommodation with us and you´ll recommend our establishment so much.
As well, we would like to inform you that we have taken note of your complaint with reference to the sun beds and parasols; they are free of charge and it is forbidden to reserve them with towels or anything else. Our staffs were forced, everyday, to remove the items that the clients left on the sun beds.
Thank you for your nice commentaries regarding our friendly staff; we know that they provide a personal and superb service to our customers. We will keep working very hard to give you a relaxing stay every time you come.
From Lanzarote, kind regards.
Bienvenido Saavedra - General Manager
Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having read previous reviews, I was a little apprehensive until I arrived. Yes it's a bit dated and there is no air conditioning (apparently being installed for 2014) but the overall experience was excellent. The rooms are clean and serviced daily. The best part was I asked for a fridge - got one, a kettle - got one, a fan - got one.....in summary they were only too happy to help. Had breakfast which again was excellent but ate out locally every night. Try the old town and Puerto Calero, both excellent. I turned right out of the hotel one night onto the "strip" and didn't do it again (although I am not 20s and looking for nightlife). The bar in the hotel is quiet with maybe a piano for entertainment which means it is quiet and subdued for us older travellers. The bar across the road (Keanes) was excellent with nightly live entertainment and lovely staff too. In summary, I have booked to return in March.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Gary:
Thanks so much for your supporting and commentaries here, in trip Advisor page. Your detailed reviews are great and show the real image of Fariones Hotels. For us it´s very important to know the feelings of our guests to improve our services and top the clients desires. We will pass your motivating words to our staff. Thanks for return to Fariones hotels; we look forward to welcoming you next season.
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra – General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went back for the 5th time to this Hotel in September 2013.

The Hotel is a time warp but then again it was nice to be back in the fifties again !

The hotel is really for the older generation, didn't need a late bar as we are early to bed and early risers. My wife certainly was as from day 1 she had to be up at dawn to beat the towel brigade to the sun loungers. There should really be some sort of system to allocate a lounger or two to a room if required.

No air con, just a fan and an open window invites mossies, again the wife played a blinder here as they seem to much prefer her !

The situation of the Hotel is fantastic with private terraces and beach.

We were on B&B, the breakfast buffet was great and out two best meals in Puerto del Carmen were the evening meals at the hotel a serve yourself feast.

Maybe not our next but certainly a future holiday at the Fariones.

Room Tip: A higher floor sea view room is best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owendublinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Owen:
Thanks for your commentaries in tripAdvisor and thanks for the time you take to express your feelings in Fariones hotels. For us it is always very important to know the impression of our guest; only so, we can continue to work daily on us and to ensure that our clients feel comfortable and joyful in our establishments. We have taken note of your note relating to sun-beds reservation and we will pass it to the Pool area Manager to avoid the bookings. We want to inform you that we are planning to renovate the rooms and the airco systems will be installed. As always, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. From sunny Lanzarote to Ireland best regards,

Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very enjoyable stay in this hotel with excellent views and a decent breakfast every day with even champagne & caviar. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful with immediate attention to your requests. There are plenty of downsides but we still enjoyed despite these which are :- A cold pool, no air con, no kettle, no fridge (All 3 available on request) My bed sheet had quite a few repaired holes in it, Being British the 1st room we were given was down in the cellars (2 Floors down) with no view whatever but upon requesting a change we were given an excellent 6th floor room with a view (makes you wonder who they save these rooms for) There are no tv channels & no extractor in bathroom. I had good wi-fi signal in room using a booster aerial.

Room Tip: Upon check in insist on a room on 5th or 6th floor, a fridge,fan & kettle.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking your time and write these words about your stay in Fariones Hotel. As well, thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
We appreciate the complete description of your experience here and we are sure that it will be very useful for us to improve the services and standards. We will take into consideration your critiques and recommendations and we will inform to the property as our most important aims is the client´s satisfaction.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to your next visit here!
Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good points first...Brilliant position, on the ,'PRIVATE' beach. Pool area shaded by big palm trees. Plenty of sunbeds, some down beside the beach. So close to the strip,' first right turn outside', and at top of the hill, 'take a left,' down to 'Old Town' and Harbour.
Really, this hotel is so out of date, and not up to today's standards, it should be knocked down and rebuilt! Rooms are on small side. Bathroom tiles are 1970 ! No AC!!! No FRIDGE!!! No Tea, Coffee!!! Shower running hot & cold constantly. Charge for safe!!! 15 euros +10 deposit. Charge for bottle of water in room 2 euro on check out! Plus Bar closes at midnight!!! No nightcap here. Staff at front where OK, JUST! Check in, bit slow, and no information at all, on spa, or health club, not even breakfast times. Elderly couple, just arrived, looking for a cup of tea, at 1am told bar closed at 12 he could get them a kettle tomorrow. Sent them to the bar across the road! Imagine!!!
We didn't eat here, other than breakfast, which was just OK. Needs reorganising, bit all mixed up. No cups my first 2 mornings. Turned into hunt a cup. That view makes up 'a little' for it.
Bike hire just outside. Would recommend, as there's a bike path all along the coast. Be careful when walking up the strip, as you tend to wander onto it! Any number of restaurants, all good experiences, on my part. Irish bars are dearest, as usual! Fariones Suites is to the right of hotel, and looks good. NEW! And app are up the hill on the right, so good positions too. AC was been installed when we left, so no plans to knock it. AW well. Try somewhere else on my return visit, as weather, food, drink, and crack was A1. ENJOY!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view. Higher up, more so!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Mrs. Tammy:
Thank you for having chosen our hotel and for writing this review about your vacation. We are sincerely surprised by reading that you felt the Fariones Hotel facilities and installations out of date. We assure you that we do our best to renew the hotel step by step to give our clients a high standard establishment. We want to inform you that we have new carpets at corridor, new furnitures at the terrace, new furnitures as well at the common areas like salon or bar, we have a new bathrooms near to Reception Department … .
We know that we have to work hard every day to get better.
We let you know that you could ask for fridge or electric kettle in Reception Department and be assure that we will pass your comments to the maintenance services and to the maître and bar/restaurant staff.

It´s great that you have enjoyed your breakfast and vacations in the relaxing solarium areas. Once again, thank you for expressing your feelings and send you our regret for any problems you may have had during your stay here.
Greetings from Lanzarote to Ireland!
Bienvenido SaavedraGeneral Manager Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $557 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing