We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
shotts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach of Matagogorda with shops, restuarants and bars nearby in either direction. However it was not as close to Puerto Del Carmen as I had anticipated based on previous reviews, so expect a fair walk, which is very nice. This is no necessity for airport transfers as a taxi ride is only ten minutes max and in fact can be seen from the hotel/resort. Air traffic noise is not a problem. The hotel is very clean, rooms are big, comfortable and well presented; maid service is again very good. Food and drink was variable, generally palliatable, staff pleasant but not over anxious. Entertainment was probably the best we have experienced in an all inclusive resort. We would recommend this hotel and resort and would return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bute95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    1,226
    611
    273
    143
See reviews for
1,353
1,214
59
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed here for a week recently. This place does have some bad reviews so was a little worried but I don't know what all the complaining was about, you get what you pay for. The hotel is clean and tidy, maid service daily. The pool area is clean and relaxing, no fights for sunbeds. The beach and promenade can be accessed via the pool area, lots of snack bars and bars just a few minutes walk away. For a nice meal in the evening take a taxi into the 'old town' for about 6 euros. We never ate at the hotel so can't comment on the food there, the drinks at the hotel bar were priced pretty much in line with the rest of the resort, not cheap but that's because of the Euro/Pound not because of hotel prices. We hired bikes and had a few nice rides from Arriciffe to Puerto Del Carmen and the Old Town. All in all a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

this was a fine hotel probably just about a 4 star.. we had a young child so were in early & could here people returning in the late evening.Pool area fab plenty loungers but also quiet. Expect multi national guests this is not a get drunk and be a british lager lout type of place which is good for once. Rooms clean cheerful & big with daily towel change and pleasent staff all round. Bad point -FOOD, we were self catering and paid 30 euro for some chips a pizza & a spag bolognese, The chef ought to be ashamed to serve up frozen pizza and a hardened crsusted almost tin flavoured spag bol. They must have lost all respect for their trade and clearly had no motivation to prepare fresh food in what is a 4* hotel. They would have appeared to have given up in the pursuit of ALL INCLUSIVE MUCK. drinks expensive at 3 . 5 Euro for a 500ml glass ( not pint ) and 2 Euro for 200ml glass coke.I would if i were you chose self catering and enjoy the restaurants in Matagorda and Los Pocilos which is a 5 minute walk along the very pleasent prom.All in all though a good hotel in a nice quiet area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech,england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Hotel gives a very good first impression and the only thing we found a bit not right was our room which was 2316, there were no views of anything except the building in front of us, but it was very spacious and as we don't spend that much time in our room it didn't matter too much.
We went A.I. and think it was well worth it as food was always hot , plenty of it and plenty of choice.
The entertainment was even better than we expected with live shows most evenings.
Walk along the front towards Arrecife and you will find free gym equipment on the promenade, which makes you not feel so guilty when you eat that extra sticky cake...
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a chilled-out holiday

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warehousebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Just returned from a week's stay on an all inclusive basis with my wife.We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and loved almost everything about the hotel, location, staff and food. We would definately go back which we have seldom said about other hotels we have stayed in.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and there was a good enough choice of dishes at all meal times to satisfy most tastes and apetites.
The hotel is situated right on the beach with access to a wonderful 3/5 mile promenade, local shops and restaurants. Not much night life in the immediate area but Puerto del Carmen is only a 5 minute ride away by bus or taxi, if you are after that sort of thing which we were not. We were already familiar with lanzarote and knew most of the tourist sites but this is the first time we have stayed in Matagorda.
In view of the current sorry state of the pound/euro, I would strongly recommend going all inclusive as you will find most things in general are now quite expensive and drinks in particular can soon make a big hole in the finances.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

I'm not normally the type of person to come home from a holiday and write a review of the hotel but I feel that I really need to put anyone who is heading out to the hotels mind at rest as it really is a great.
Before heading out to Puerto Del Carmen a fortnight ago for a nice relaxing week with my boyfriend (both in our early 20's), I was a little anxious as to what I was going to find at the Sol Lanzarote after reading a number of negative reviews.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, the maid came every day that we were there. I found the staff at reception to be very helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I spent most of our days sunbathing by the pool which is very clean and well maintained, the pool bar and restaurant did a fab paella dish which i would definitely (by the way, this is the correct spelling of the work definitely!! why can people that write reviews not spell this word? Argh!) recommend for a lunchtime snack.
We stayed there on a bed and breakfast basis and made it down on time 6 out of the 7 mornings and we very pleased with the food that was on offer - the usual continental selection, fresh meats and cheeses and a selection of hot food too. There are some really great restaurants in Puerto Del Carmen so we didn't want to limit ourselves to eating in the hotel all the time. I highly recommend a restaurant called 'Bodega' at the harbour. I had been before on other holidays and we went twice for Tapas during our weeks stay, the food is absolutely fantastic!
The hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach and there are number of supermarkets nearby. We walked to the strip a few times during the day which took around 25-30 mins so it is a decent walk. We got taxis into the old town most evenings which only cost around 5 euros.
All in all, our stay at the Sol Lanzarote was nothing but enjoyable and I really think that most of the negative reviews are little petty. If people are expecting 5* quality then they really should dig into their pockets and shell out the extra money to stay at a 5* hotel!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of their age.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerLovin1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy all the amenties in the local area. The rooms are large and kept very clean by the daily cleaners.They could do with a refit though. The buffet is mostly good although some of the food wasn't very hot and the asian food provided was of poor quality and tasteless. Having said that there was plenty of it and the service was friendly and efficient. The hotel is very relaxing and there is always something to do. The evening entertainment was interesting and varied.
One big problem is the amount of bar staff when busy. One person is not enough when 10 are waiting to be served.
All in all a good value holiday, but this value would not be so good if the full price had been paid. The hotel needs a re fit to bring it up to its 4 star status.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leedscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
7.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.3 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#21 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive

Property: Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Address: Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Lanzarote)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the oceanfront at Lanzarote's Matagorda Beach, with direct beach access, Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has 3 outdoor swimming pools, gardens, a tennis court and a gym. All air-conditioned accommodation has a balcony, most with ocean views. All rooms at the Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive are bright and functional, with a 39-inch TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer. Some accommodation also offers a microwave, fridge and kettle. The Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has an international buffet restaurant, and a tapas and sushi bar. Drinks are served at the pool bar and lobby bars. An entertainment programme for adults and children over 5 is provided, while the property also includes a kids club and adventure playground. All-inclusive rates include breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Puerto del Carmen is only 3 km from the hotel, and Lanzarote Airport is 5 km away. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel
Hotel Sol Lanzarote
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing