We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was my first visit to the island and loved it Beautiful Place to visit, as for the hotel cant fault the place grand entrance check in a bit slow but wasnt a problem. Friendly reception staff bit of a mission to find room but we got there in end. The room was very spacious and very clean . Air con was free as was the safe and no coin machine on TV which was good. We had already done our homework regards to the place so we opted for Self Catering so we took t towels and bought cheap tesco kettle which cost £5 and left it behind. Pool area was very clean lots of sunbeds but sometimes they do go quick mostly weekends gets very busy . Lots of little shops spar and cafes to in we mostly went to La Brisa 2.95 for special breakfast and lots more on breakfast menu also dined there in evening. Beach outside hotel was lovely very quiet and peaceful as for PDC was told it would be busy on nights but found the place to be very quiet not complaining cant fault anything about our holiday it was fab. Great pizza place called the Scirroco in the Commercial Centre would visit again the island and the hotel best holiday i have had in years .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotte13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,338
    654
    292
    160
See reviews for
1,503
1,336
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This hotel is not deseving of the accolade of a four star hotel.
The hotel rooms need a makeover although they were clean and the linen was changed regularly.
The purpose of a holiday is to relax in a congenial atmosphere,enjoy the company of freindly people and to enjoy food of a standard that is at least as good as you would prepare at home.
Not at this hotel. I can honesly state that this establishment served up the most un-apetizing food I have ever experienced. There was a sameness about every meal ,
even the few items that might have been edible were not even hot ,every dish was a luke warm mess.
When you combine this sorry state of fare with the fact that the so called 'Entertainment' was primarily designed to cater for the needs of children ,The Flintstones Theme, lasting until 10pm each night ,you can imagine the frustration felt by adults who did not have kids in tow.
Complaints to management were a waste of time.I was informed that the continentals at the hotel liked food which was only warm!
I will never go to a Sol hotel again. Even the gin and tonic was charged at 11.5 euro's for two!.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank din0saur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Well let’s start from the top the entrance to the hotel was very nice and professional worthy of any 4 star establishments I would expect.
The checking in process was also fine with no issues and all the staff at all times came across as very friendly and helpful to any of my questions.

The Room was as advertised on the photos, and very clean there was no doubt about that cleanliness was a priority with the hotel at sol lnazarote, the same with the swimming pools area was completely fine and clean.

As for the other comments on here that complain of the sun lounges being rather old and slump right down to the floor?, maybe if your of a certain posture for most people there is no problem and there was plenty of space even when I went down after 13:00PM on all occasions.

Foods and service cannot really make any comment on this, as I didn’t use their restaurant.
The local amenities are good for the most part you have a Spar less than 3 minutes walk away, with a good pizza restaurant next door to it.

Matagorda Is absolutely excellent for walking and cycling or skating you can walk for hours on both sides of this hotel.
One side taking you right past the airport where you do get the huge aircraft flying over you! Alongside the naturist beach (interesting) which leads to Playa Honde where there is an array of villas for rent and sale with some small cafes.
One for sale is going for a nice sum of 300,000 Euro.

To the other side you reach Puerto Del Carmen where you pass lanzarote village and meet the famous San Antonio hotel and all of its local effects there.
This is where there is some nightlife if this is what you are looking for and can be reached for 5 euros in a cab.

All in all this Is a lovely place to escape to with your partner if you are looking for a quiet break in the sun, with no distractions.
For kids though I feel they could get bored in the area of Matagorda it’s self and lanzarote as a whole I don’t feel it is for kids but personal preference.

In addition to help anybody reading this who may be gay the hotel and the area is fine there is nothing to worry about they’re for this, so much so I am returning for the second time in 2009.

Enjoy your trip to Sol any questions on this island or more unbiased true reviews on Sol Lanzarote do email me at [--]

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevWr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Traveled with my wife and our 20 month old son. We arrived at the hotel by taxi as it's much easier with a young child and it's only around the corner from the airport. Overall the hotel was standard and nothing special, acceptable but no defining features. Fine for a week but not worth it for two. Very quiet part which we enjoyed. Alot of shops and bars near by where shut and looked like they wouldn't be opening at all. i think the island has better four star propertys to offer. recommend it for long wkend or a week if not really bothered to look for better.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoildaysnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Booked this hotel after sending friends there last year and they had a ball. So I knew what to expect.

My daughter couldn't wait to get to the kids club as the friends who went last year, their kids couldn't talk about anything else.

However, I was extremely disappointed with this part of the holiday. There was a sign up listing "activities" that would be on and half the time they didn't even happen. After the "entertainment" in the evenings they would announce "mini disco tomorrow at 9" all the kids were delighted but then we would turn up the following evening and no disco, just face painting and blowing up balloons?????? For toddlers this was fine, but for the kids 7/8 and oloder it was rubbish.

Two of the kids reps gave 150% when they worked ,Joachim and the head girl (can't for the life of me remember her name), but as I said already not much on and certainly not what they listed. Even the adult activities weren't as advertised.

We spoke to other families who had been there the same time last year and even earlier and said they noticed a huge change this year and wouldn't be recommending the hotel for the kids activities, neither would I.

The hotel itself was great, in that it was clean and maid service was every day. Very pricey. 17 euro for 2 alcoholic drinks and 2 minerals at the very very very slow bar. 2 staff on when the bar was full and they didn't even break a sweat, there was no rushing them.

Someone commented that it was an hours walk to Puerto Del Carmen (if you're crawling, maybe). When you go out the gate to the beach and turn right, if follow the beach around with your eyes, you can see a hotel on the corner, this is the San Antonio Hotel which is at the start of Puerto Del Carmen, not an hours walk, unless you have difficulty walking??? Taxi is only about 5euro anyway. The roads are all being dug up at the moment in the old town so everything is one way. You will be brought out of the resort to get back in (if you know what I mean), so taxi costs a little more than normal.

It's very very quiet there too. Alot of places not open. The businesses are really feeling the "recession". Some of the workers we were talking to were actually the owners, who were serving, cooking, etc. all themselves because they couldn't afford the staff.

We went into PDC 2 nights and I couldn't get over how quiet it was compared to a few years ago when we were there. Some restaurants we ate in we were only the 2nd table to be used the whole night. Which is a pity.

To sum up, great holiday, despite the big disappointment of the kids club. Weather was fab, the breeze was welcomed as it was very hot.

But if you're booking solely for the kids club then maybe you should look into another hotel.

Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, but not for families with kids who love the "clubs" and use them to make loads of friends

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Booked this hotel after sending friends there last year and they had a ball. So I knew what to expect.

My daughter couldn't wait to get to the kids club as the friends who went last year, their kids couldn't talk about anything else.

However, I was extremely disappointed with this part of the holiday. There was a sign up listing "activities" that would be on and half the time they didn't even happen. After the "entertainment" in the evenings they would announce "mini disco tomorrow at 9" all the kids were delighted but then we would turn up the following evening and no disco, just face painting and blowing up balloons?????? For toddlers this was fine, but for the kids 7/8 and oloder it was rubbish.

Two of the kids reps gave 150% when they worked ,Joachim and the head girl (can't for the life of me remember her name), but as I said already not much on and certainly not what they listed. Even the adult activities weren't as advertised.

We spoke to other families who had been there the same time last year and even earlier and said they noticed a huge change this year and wouldn't be recommending the hotel for the kids activities, neither would I.

The hotel itself was great, in that it was clean and maid service was every day. Very pricey. 17 euro for 2 alcoholic drinks and 2 minerals at the very very very slow bar. 2 staff on when the bar was full and they didn't even break a sweat, there was no rushing them.

Someone commented that it was an hours walk to Puerto Del Carmen (if you're crawling, maybe). When you go out the gate to the beach and turn right, if follow the beach around with your eyes, you can see a hotel on the corner, this is the San Antonio Hotel which is at the start of Puerto Del Carmen, not an hours walk, unless you have difficulty walking??? Taxi is only about 5euro anyway. The roads are all being dug up at the moment in the old town so everything is one way. You will be brought out of the resort to get back in (if you know what I mean), so taxi costs a little more than normal.

It's very very quiet there too. Alot of places not open. The businesses are really feeling the "recession". Some of the workers we were talking to were actually the owners, who were serving, cooking, etc. all themselves because they couldn't afford the staff.

We went into PDC 2 nights and I couldn't get over how quiet it was compared to a few years ago when we were there. Some restaurants we ate in we were only the 2nd table to be used the whole night. Which is a pity.

To sum up, great holiday, despite the big disappointment of the kids club. Weather was fab, the breeze was welcomed as it was very hot.

But if you're booking solely for the kids club then maybe you should look into another hotel.

Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, but not for families with kids who love the "clubs" and use them to make loads of friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

loved this hotel, very clean rooms, right on the beach and only a short walk from some great bars and restaurants. would not advise fully inclusive option as most people we spoke to on this were not happy, and as this area is very cheap to eat and drink out if you avoid the irish bars which are still very expensive it wont break your budget. we used a bar called pythons (turn right out the gate facing beach towards puerto del carmen not the airport, walk to end of promenade and accross the road it is right on the end facing beach. a lovely bar to spend an afternoon in for lunch and a few drinks as it has nice big terrace overlooking beach, the owners michelle and tony are very friendly and they serve great food, big portions at cheap prices. trips we done were volcanoes and caves, these were great days out well worth doing we hired a car to go there which worked out a lot cheaper than thro reps

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,528 reviews
3.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
2.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive

Property: Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Address: Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Lanzarote)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the oceanfront at Lanzarote's Matagorda Beach, with direct beach access, Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has 3 outdoor swimming pools, gardens, a tennis court and a gym. All air-conditioned accommodation has a balcony, most with ocean views. All rooms at the Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive are bright and functional, with a 39-inch TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer. Some accommodation also offers a microwave, fridge and kettle. The Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has an international buffet restaurant, and a tapas and sushi bar. Drinks are served at the pool bar and lobby bars. An entertainment programme for adults and children over 5 is provided, while the property also includes a kids club and adventure playground. All-inclusive rates include breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Puerto del Carmen is only 3 km from the hotel, and Lanzarote Airport is 5 km away. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel
Hotel Sol Lanzarote
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing