We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too Bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our stay was for our delayed honeymoon and we decided to go away for christmas. Hotel was clean and bedroom tho a little bit shabby in places was perfectly acceptable. (We put this down to being at the end of season) Buffet was quite good, tho a little boring. Very disappointed that there was no special evening buffet put on for Christmas day and altho I understand staff want to spend christmas with their families the work in a service industry!! the evening entertainment was to be blunt a bit naff! Overall would recommend this hotel for family holidays and not for couple who are looking for a romantic, honeymoon type of holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Karen Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Karen Louise E,

Even though you posted a positive review overall recommending our hotel, I am sorry to read that we could not exceed your expectations on all aspects. Thank you very much for sharing it with us.

Please note that as tradition in this hotel, we do not charge any extra for Christmas unlike many other places, so that our staff does not have extra work and they all can join their families at some point. I am sincerely sorry that in this case you feel disappointed. Nonetheless we provide a very special activities program during that day and I really hope you enjoyed the visit of Santa Claus in the morning, our barbecue and the amazing pool party in the afternoon.

It is important to mention that we put a huge effort on our New Year´s Eve Gala dinner and the countdown party, and that is the time when our restaurant blows you away with our amazing Menu.

We keep at your disposal for your next visit. If you were not here on New Year´s Eve, give it a try for 2015!

Best regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,848 - 1,854 of 3,728 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The room was very dirty, the floor was full of small piece of mud and the side was dark white.
In addition was bad equipped: two single bed instead of a double, the bed for the baby was an old bed-sofa with a mattress of 3 cm thickness, the apartment with the kitchen is only a room with some equipment for cooking but no table for dining.
Finally instead of our fantastic mountain view we saw only a big kactus.
We highlight all these problem to the reception (and our disappointment) but nothing change.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fulviodemarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear fulviodemarco,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor. Every single opinion is valuable for us both positive and negative for our own improvent.

I am sorry to read that we could not fulfil your expectations and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused to you during your stay. It is most probable that we were fully booked at the time you were with us and that is the reason we could not offer a different room view on that day. Sorry for that.

In regards to the cleanliness it is important that we are informed of these deficiencies so that we can solve them on spot. This should not have happened and I send you apologies on behalf of the cleaning staff. I will pass your comments onto them.

It is true most of our rooms have twin beds as it is a family orientated hotel. Nonetheless for future reference, under request and availability we can arrange French bedding and turn them into a double bed.

I hope you can give us another opportunity in the future as I am sure you would have a very different experience with us.

Once again thank you very much and receive our best regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a great time. Went in November 2013, weather great. Staff helpful, rooms are really big and clean. Food great loads to choose from we were All Inclusive. Pools were clean. Kids are kept entertained activities on each day. Good shows every night. This Hotel is next to the Airport.
.

Room Tip: Some rooms have restricted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazz1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Cazz1962,

Thank you so much for your review!. I am happy that you found our hotel great, our staff helpful, our rooms good sized and clean and our food nice and varied. I will share your thoughts with the team as this type of comments give us the strength to keep working hard for your full enjoyment.

Hoping to have you back and receive our warmest regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Sol Lanzarote with our 2 kids aged 4 and 1,5years. We had a 2 room apartment which was very convenient, it had a small kitchen which we didn`t use since we ate all the meals in the restaurant (all inclusive) The apartment was clean, everything except the safe worked and it had lots of storage space.
The hotel is located very close to the airport, which was great after flying with 2 small children, but the noise may bother some people. There are some restaurants and small shops close by.
The hotel area is lovely, with several pools including a baby pool but we didn´t spend much time at the pool. There are several small statues and paintings of the Flintstones which amused the children. The Star Tour company has a small PlayHotel at the area where we spent an hour every day with the kids, they loved it! There is a big sand box, which also doubles as a cat toilet....The lovely beach is just outside the hotel area.
This was the first time we went to an all inclusive hotel and the food was as good as expected, with a great selection. The fruit juices however, could have been better...
There is a small gym at the area and a shop where we rented bikes and a child carrier -recommended!
The entertainment in the evenings amused our 4 year old.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid_h625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Ingrid_h625,

It is very rewarding for us to read what a great time you had during your stay at Sol Lanzarote. Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
Just as added information, the safe boxes are rental and that is the reason you believed it was not working. It has to be activated at reception.

We really hope we can welcome you all again very soon!

Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Bad points: Definitely not 4 star!!! No tea/coffee making facilities in room, selection of food predictable and not adventurous. What you had at evening meal is sure to show up at breakfast. No theme evenings taking place which was listed on their notice board.No dress code enforced in main restaurant resulting in evening sitting with men in shorts, sandals, bermudas and t-shirts. No assistance in taking luggage to your room which required going up steep slopes.
Entertainment lounge area not big enough -very crowded in the evening with a scramble for any available seats All inclusive - NO, NO, NO. Alcohol selection for all inclusive of extremely poor quality - definitely watered down. No free Wi-Fi (£25 per week charge!) which you could get for free at Mac Donald's across the road!

Good points: Location very good on the beach but so is the Beatrix Playa Spa which we highly recommend. Probably ideal for families as entertainment is geared towards kids. We had a good sea view so that was a plus point.Would we go back............................NO.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms higher up that way you are more likely to get one with a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear davidc555,

I regret to read your disappointment and I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion. On the other hand thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us via Tripadvisor. I am glad that you found our location and our sea views to your satisfaction.

Please note at Sol Lanzarote you will never have the same food in two different services, I can guarantee that. We do have recommended dress code at the restaurant but as I hope you understand this is a vacation family 4 star hotel and we must have some flexibility about it. I am sorry to read that it was disappointing for you.
As you mentioned I confirm we do not have bellboy service. All our services are shown in detail in our website and we must ensure our competitive rates and keep providing an excelent value for money.

In addition to that please note our All Inclusive drinks, as it is shown as well in the website, are local get 50% discount. In case you decide to come back let me suggest as well our All Inclusive Gold board designed especially for you which includes all international spirits up to 5 years.

I am sorry again that we could not make it better for you. I hope you give us another opportunity and visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

First of all, loved the location. After a 4 and half hour flight it was lovely to be only 5 mins away from airport.

Check in was slow, it was quite busy and yet only 2 people on reception and I have to agree with other posts, not a smile between them.

Room location was fabulous. We were on ground floor right at the far end near the football/tennis court facing the sea. Really quiet and could listen to the sea of a night. Bliss. The room was large and did it's job. At end of the day, your room is only to sleep, wash and store your stuff in so as long as it's clean, and it was daily, then we were happy.

Food was ok. Wasn't bowled over by it I have to be honest. We stayed at a 5 star hotel in Spain in August and I think maybe we had been spoilt as there was a HUGE difference between the 2 considering Sol Lanzarote was a 4 star. I'm quite fussy so labels saying 'meat stew' or 'chilli with meat' isn't going to tempt me. It was very repetitive and as someone else mentioned, there didn't seem to be any noticeable 'Christmas Day' food. I actually had salad for my Christmas dinner.... On a plus note, we always go to All Inclusive hotels and this was the first hotel we have been to where you could actually get food practically all day.

Hotel location is fab. Although close to airport, we were that close we could see which holiday company was written on the planes as they came into land, the noise level wasn't too bad. Love that the hotel was on the beach and love that the shops etc where so close too. Beach was lovely and resort was too.

Entertainment was good for the kids but having a 13 year old daughter, she did get bored so unfortunately the Nintendo Ds came out a few times. The wi fi is awful. My partner got it as he thought it maybe be better than buying newspapers and was very disappointed. 20 euros for 5 days and I think we were able to use it twice.

The hotel is in a great location and clean, if the food could be improved slightly, rooms updated and the staff on reception smiled a bit then would say it would be a potentially perfect hotel to recommend.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank alc1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear sassyscouselass,

Thank you so much for all your comments which are really appreciated. We are happy because you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please note in regards to the food that we offer very competitive rates striving to provide a good value for money. That makes us different as well from 5 star hotels and it is important to mention.
I will share your suggestions with the team so we may become your perfect hotel to recommend.

We will try the best for you if you decide to visit us when you come back to Lanzarote.

We are waiting for you!

Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was worried about staying at the Sol due to the mixed reviews on trip advisor. The positives were the hotels location - very quiet and right across from the beach, our room view 3311 - fabulous sea view, plenty of sun beds, staff were friendly and helpful but they were under pressure as the hotel was fully booked, the room was spacious and well equipped and very clean there was maid service every day. The negatives were that some of the sun beds were broken and people still insist on reserving beds with towels even though there are signs everywhere telling you not to do this - we saw a man heading out with four towels at 11.30 in the evening to reserve his beds!!!!! The rooms could do with a paint job as the paint work was scuffed and some of the fixtures were a bit worn. I wanted to book a late check out but it was not possible as the hotel was fully booked but I was told I could book a courtesy room but when we went at 4pm as arranged we were told the room was not available and we had to use an area in beside the gym which was not really very satisfactory.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would return as the location is excellent and we spent most of our time out and about. There is a great Chinese to the right of the sol when you come out of the beach gate past the Aussie bar - I think it is called the The Great Wall - really reasonable and good food and service especially from Quann. Also there is a really good hairdresser in the shopping centre to the left of the beach gate - cleopatras - Valentina is the hairdresser. There is good crack in the First and Last Pub and Peggys Snug in the shopping centre and excellent value for breakfast in Las Brisas also located here. If you want something special go to El Sardinero the food is excellent - in the harbour area of the old town.

Room Tip: Get a sea view 3311 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear ArdMhacha,

I am very happy to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing it via Tripadvisor. We are very gratefull for your nice comments about our staff and our lovely views to the ocean.
Please note in regards to the rooms painting you mentioned, we are on the process of a deep maintenance work throughout the hotel so this won´t be an issue during your next visit.

Bear in mind next time to book the courtesy room during the morning on your departure date. It is very difficult to manage this specially when we are fully booked and many people want to use a room in the afternoon at the same time.

Once again I am happy that you enjoyed Sol Lanzarote and we keep waiting to welcome you again very soon!

Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,735 reviews
3.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,592 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive

Address: Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Lanzarote)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $163 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the oceanfront at Lanzarote's Matagorda Beach, with direct beach access, Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has 3 outdoor swimming pools, gardens, a tennis court and a gym. All air-conditioned accommodation has a balcony, most with ocean views. All rooms at the Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive are bright and functional, with a 39-inch TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer. Some accommodation also offers a microwave, fridge and kettle. The Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has an international buffet restaurant, and a tapas and sushi bar. Drinks are served at the pool bar and lobby bars. An entertainment programme for adults and children over 5 is provided, while the property also includes a kids club and adventure playground. All-inclusive rates include breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Puerto del Carmen is only 3 km from the hotel, and Lanzarote Airport is 5 km away. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel
Hotel Sol Lanzarote
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing