We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sol hotel between the Christmas break, the hotel didn't make Christmas special In anyway we had to pay to have our Christmas dinner at a local bar. The food was awful, cold and the same each day. The hotel staff are rude, not helpful in any way.

When arriving at the hotel we requested a iron to which we were told they do not provide irons and you have to pay for maid service which we did. We then discovered there was no hair dryer in the bathroom as described in the brochure. I had to make 4 phone calls to receive my hair dryer.

The hotel entertainment was awful and catered mainly for children, the entertainment finished at 11 o'clock along with the all inclusive at 1130.

The hotel was clean and the maids cleaned the rooms everyday.

We paid to eat out each day for breakfast and dinner and paid for taxis to the local town to escape the hotel on a daily basis the taxis would cost £10 euros return.

The swimming pools were very large but freezing!

We did enjoy our break the weather was lovely but we will not be recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kykie1989,

Thank you very much for your information about your stay in our hotel. I regret to check that you did not enjoy your Christmas break.
Sol Lanzarote prepared a special programm for this dates which was greatly appreciated by most of our customers.

About the irons, I confirm you that in case you want this service, there is an external company which contracting it, offers an iron for use during your stay. On the other hand, we at the hotel we offer our customers our laundry and iron service.

I really apologize if there was no hair dryer in the bathroom, because all our rooms have one. I will discuss this issue with the departments involved. Anyway I take this opportunity to inform you that there is a line "Solutions Center", where you can ask what you need and will sort is as soon as possible.

Our activities department offers a program for children, but also one for adults. What is certain is that this is a sol themed hotel "Flinstones" and therefore is especially suitable for families.

To conclude I would like to inform you that one of our pools is heated maintaining the maximum temperature set by law .

Looking forward to have the possibility to welcome you again in a future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    1,362
    664
    299
    174
See reviews for
1,569
1,350
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013


Location is perfect.

Staff not professional nor trained. They are not encouraged to interact with guests on any level.
Food is terrible, standard is so bad and the same thing every meal time. Thought they might have made an effort for Christmas night but not at all.
We were on all inclusive, beer, wine & spirits, were the cheapest to be found on island, We noticed the prosecto they were serving was 1.27euro for large bottle in local supermarket. Branded products available at hotel prices.
We are a couple with no children, this hotel is very child friendly, with children running around reception and bar until the early hours.
Beds were so uncomfortable and standard of towels terrible,
I would go back to Lanzarote but never again Sol Lanzarote.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 440Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear 440Anne,

Thank you for your information about your stay in Sol Lanzarote Hotel. I regret to check that you did not enjoy your holidays.
Our guest´s feedback is our best assistance to improve our services, so I really appreciate all your comments and confirm I will pass them to our staff.

Please be informed that Sol Lanzarote as a "Sol Hotel" is appropiated for families but Meliá has different brands as Gran Melia, Me, Melia...which offer only adults holidays.

I hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you again at Sol Lanzarote or any other Melia Hotels International Hotel.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

13th stay at this hotel and again it didn't disappoint ,staff as usual so friendly,and happy to see us as a returning couple.Carlos on arriving thanked us for our loyalty,but the reason we are loyal is that we love the hotel,the location is fantastic and you couldn't wish for a nicer bunch of people.Room as always was great and again we were treated to a sea view room,a big thanks for that.would recommend to anyone,keep up the great work guys see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Peter C,

Thank you very much for your comments about your last stay in our hotel. It is very pleasant to check that our facilities and services met our guest's expectations.

I would like also to thank you for your loyalty and inform you that all Sol Lanzarote staff are looking to welcome you on your 14th visit.

Best regards from Lanzarote,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there for 11 nights in November and would definitley go again. This time we had a self catering apartment, cooking facilities were somewhat limited but only used them for breakfast & lunch time snacking.
Staff were as ever polite and friendly, hotel spotless. In my opinion is is situated in the best part of the Puerto del Carmen area, in a peaceful location with plenty facilities nearby and an excellent bus route.
Just a warning to anyone taking advantage of the free shuttle service...on arrival at the airport we were met and asked to wait outside whilst they met other travellers, well which outside there were two entrances! We were not collected and spent about half an hour looking for the rep. Eventually a very kind driver of another company made a quick phonecall & he took us to the Hotel. On the day we were leaving we checked time of collection which was 15.40 at 16.15 the shuttle hadn't turned up so Reception advised us to get a taxi. Be warned!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with pool and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PippyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear PippyC,

Thank very much for your feedback about your last stay in our hotel. It is very nice to check that Sol Lanzarote met your expectations again.

I look forward to welcome you next year and take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is just ok. We picked this hotel as a last minute alternative having been badly let down by Thomsons. (Never book with Thomsons!)

We did ask for a quiet room at booking but this was ignored, despite the hotel being less than full. We were given room 1202, right over the entertainment lounge! This wasnt really a problem until Friday night as entertainment finished at 11pm. However, on Friday night, there was a hotel staff party which continued until 2:30am. The noise was awful. At 2am we complained to the reception and got nothing other than a shrug of the shoulders. Next morning, I complained again at reception and was told "well it only happens once a year." So its ok that the paying guests are inconvenienced!

The room was clean although the discarded cigarette ends in the balustrade around the balcony were a bit off putting. The pool areas were well kept.

It definitely caters for all inclusive and as a room only guest, it was difficult to get served at the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid block 1....very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ibrandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Ibrandwood,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel. Sorry if you did not have the room requiered. I confirm you we do our bests in order to give our guests the requires they send with the reservation, but always depending on the occupancy or disponibility.

I apologize if there was any excessive noise one night but I confirm you that it was something punctual and will not happen again. We work in order to guarantee a relaxing break to our customers and that is why we always appreciate comments like yours.

I hope we have another opportunity to welcome you at Sol Lanzarote Hotel.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for one week in the apartments.Found the apartments a good size with everything you needed to cook.The apartments were very clean with housekeeping around everyday.The room had a tv with some English channels as well as a free safe.Nice pool area with plenty of sun beds and the beach just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Dhealy,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in Sol Lanzarote.
It is very pleasant to read that our apartments and facilities met your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed your holidays and look forward to welcome you very soon.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a very nice palce to stay. Just a 30 minute walk from Puerto Del Carmen. The room was very comfortable and quiet.

The pool area was nice and though the beers a little dear, quite palatable. Didn't eat so I cant comment. The shopping centre was just a 5 minute walk with several bars and restaurants and 2 supermarkets.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Director General at Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Jellygo,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. It is very nice to check that our facilities met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Sol Lanzarote Hotel.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,733 reviews
3.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive

Property: Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Address: Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Lanzarote)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the oceanfront at Lanzarote's Matagorda Beach, with direct beach access, Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has 3 outdoor swimming pools, gardens, a tennis court and a gym. All air-conditioned accommodation has a balcony, most with ocean views. All rooms at the Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive are bright and functional, with a 39-inch TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer. Some accommodation also offers a microwave, fridge and kettle. The Sol Lanzarote - All Inclusive has an international buffet restaurant, and a tapas and sushi bar. Drinks are served at the pool bar and lobby bars. An entertainment programme for adults and children over 5 is provided, while the property also includes a kids club and adventure playground. All-inclusive rates include breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Puerto del Carmen is only 3 km from the hotel, and Lanzarote Airport is 5 km away. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel
Hotel Sol Lanzarote
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing