We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but could do with some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week holiday from Lanzarote. The location of the hotel is great, right at the sandy beach and next to loads of shops, restaurants and pubs. The apartment was simply furnished but clean with a nice view over the pool area/ beach.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the hotel next door which we refused as we wanted a one bedroom apartment and not just a hotel room. We were told by other people who were offered the same that the hotel next door is less spacious so it turned out to be a good choice we made.
A couple of things that could do with some improvement....
1.) Sun loungers situation around pool area - We were given a sheet plus there are several signs around the hotel reminding gets that you cannot reserve sun loungers by placing personal belongings on them. The hotel personnel was advised by management to remove them. Unfortunately, the guest & the hotel don't adhere to their own policy! If you weren't down at the pool area by 7.30am, all loungers were 'reserved'. We complaint to reception about this only to be told that they know about this problem but that they don't remove the towels anymore and were kindly told not to cause any hassle by removing towels of people who 'booked' the seats early in the morning and didn't bother showing up until 12pm.
2) Noise level - Flushing the toilets takes some getting used to. When you or your neighbours used the toilets, you'd think you were sitting next to a small jet engine. They are unbelievably noisy.
3) Showers - Lethal when wet! Super slippy....

Overall, it was a great holiday. It is ideal destination for a one child family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear client:
Thanks a lot for your comments in tripAdvisor and thank you so much for the time you take to express your feelings in Fariones establishments. We celebrate that you enjoy yourselves as you deserve. We work daily on us to ensure that our guests feel happy and joyful in Fariones. We will pass your review to the maintenance services and pool-area services to improve our rules to avoid bookings of sun beds. Thanks for your suggestions which give us the opportunity to get better. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
From sunny Lanzarote to Ireland
best regards,

Bienvenido Saavedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

the two of us stayed for two weeks from sept19 2013,first impressions very impressive.Reception enormous,checking in at 8pm speedy,finding our room easy.then we went out for a snack and a drink,we thought reception was on the ground floor ,nooo! it took the t2 of us 15 mins to find our way out, our own fault, signs every where which we missed,reception and the exit was on the third floor. once outside,absolutely brilliant,the lighthouse rest.highly recomended,at the extreme southernend of the strip.in fact icannot recall a bad meal the whole time .the galleon bars andif you wantit english food allthree very welcoming and friendly.Asfor the hotel the rooms very spacious ,but if you like fresh air in bed forget it even with the air cond.turned on tomax very little air reached the bed room. breakfast very good,good selection of continentaland hot foodevery morning.apart from that we spent very little time in the place ,most sunbeds were reserved by seven am.but the pool area was so full of palm trees you were constantly moving to keep in the sun,so for 12 euros aday we went on the beach. no worries Soi if you go there its in a great position big rooms very clean,they rip you off at the pool bar but apart from needing a map to get out ,less palm trees,and cheaper drinks it is well worth the money .PS I ate suchiopposte the hotel for the first time and ate it all with chop sticks not like my wife who used aknife and fork ha ha!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mrs. Christopher:
Thank you for choosing our establishment for your holidays and for taking your time to let us know your commentaries.
We are delighted to read you have enjoyed your vacation as you deserved. We are going to take your recommendations into consideration as we appreciate the opinions of our guests.

Looking forward to your next visit here! From Lanzarote, kind regards.
Bienvenido Saavedra - General Manager / Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having returned from the hotel suite farionas two weeks ago i would like to say what a fantastic place to stay . The room was perfect . Bedroom large with plenty of storage space and lighting bathroom had a great shower with two heads kitchen had everything you require comfortable seating area and large balcony with seaview. Perfectly clean with fresh towels and beding every day. Beach towel change every other day. The hotel is like an art gallery fantastic inside must be seen to be appreciated. Friendly efficient staff. The pool was great and on too the beach. Sadly management still have not got the idea that telling visitors not to reserve sun beds with a notice in the lift and also when given towels are still not managing this situation. On one day 15 beds were reserved with towels and not used. leaving towels on all day and not using them is not fair to other hotel visitors. We found a lot of people ouselves included had to pay for sunbeds on the beach because of this problem. One other small problem was breakfast. This did no affect us but scrambled eggs were not cooked and left very runny next to defrosted frozen veg. I may be wrong and some people may like this for breakfast but we found it very off putting. Having said all of this it is a great place to stay and will not hesitate to book for next year. Please managment take note to reduce these problems which come up time and time again on reviews. You could deserve to be called a five star on lanzarote.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your commentaries about your accommodation in Fariones hotels. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy in Lanzarote during your holiday. We think that our clients´ opinions are the main evidence of the excellence relating to our service and we are very thankful for them. We have taken note of your review relating to breakfast and sun beds and we assure you that we will do our best to improve.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future, we remain
Sincerely yours, Bienvenido Saavedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Suite Hotel Fariones isn't good it is Brill can't complain about anything except for the Brussels Sprouts for breackfast but that's for the foreigners . This is the fourth time way have stayed there and going back for New Year. It's nice & central for the new town & a nice walk round the rocks to the Old town. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the reception staff, the best. Try It.

Room Tip: Go for the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GORDON K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Director General at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for staying at Fariones Playa and for writing this review in tripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and we are happy to hear that you had a relaxing and pleasant break at Puerto del Carmen. As you have seen, we keep our standards as high as usual and we are constantly improving our service. We will send your comments to the Reception Department staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you next season, we remain.
Sincerely yours,
Bienvenido Saavedra - General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here in 2012. Payed a bit extra and i know that its not affordable to everyone. Stayed somewhere cheaper this year(2013) (Costa Volcan....never again...read my review for that one!!!!!! Everyone ....cleaning staff/reception staff/ maintainance staff were efficient and professional in thier duties. A few reservations....needs a bit of renovating....wouldnt cost too much. AND some new beds (please)

Room Tip: Was there last year. Very good place to stay, especially in comparison to this years choice (Costa V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Gerente at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Noreen:

We thank you for your reviews here in TripAdvisor, it´s very kind of you. Thanks for give us your trust. For us is very important to know that you feel comfortable in Fariones establishments. Our staff work very hard to give you an extraordinary holidays. We look forward to welcome you next season. Meanwhile, we send you our best regards from sunny Lanzarote.

Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I returned home from a week at the Fariones Playa Hotel and have mixed feelings about the hotel.

I will give the good points first:
Very clean throughout the hotel and grounds.
Great beach side location ideal for both The Strip and Old Town.
Swimming pool area very peaceful.
Breakfast very good.
Reception staff very helpful.
Any problems dealt with immediately.

Now the bad points:
No air conditioning in the rooms.
No tea/coffee making facilities nor a fridge.
Rooms quite small.
Beds uncomfortable.
Sun beds are a joke. Obviously not enough go around. Unless you get up at 6am.
The hotel needs a general paint and redecoration.

Would we go back? Possibly, but only for the location and friendly people we met at the hotel. If improvements of the above we're made we would definitely go back more than once a year.

Come on the owners of Fariones Playa, invest in this hotel before it is too late!.

Room Tip: Try to get a family room on a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Gerente at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review here, in tripadvisor. For us is very principal to know the feelings of our clients, only so we can work daily to be the best. We will pass your amazing commentaries to our staff in Restaurant and Reception. It is very nice to know that you feel well care in our establishment and you enjoy as you deserved. Thanks for send us your impression that we will send to the owners.
Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra - General Manager Fariones Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having stayed in the Fariones for many years we returned there again for two weeks in August. The apartments have been renovated since last year and when we booked our room we requested a new renovated room. Upon arrival we were slightly disappointed to see that our room was not decorated like the show apartment that was on show last year, however we were delighted with the new large shower installed. Also the balcony had more space as the previous flower area that was there had been removed. This year our fridge also had a freezer compartment, which was practical as we were able to keep our bottled water it in, to make it really cold/ turn it to ice ( it was really refreshing to bring it down to the pool during the day and have on those hot days!)Our room was kept spotless by the wonderful Sara, everyday she had a cheerful smile for us. The rooms were cleaned every morning, with fresh towels left out every day for us. Another new touch, provided by the Fariones this year, are bathrobes. A lovely surprise , was that during our stay some roses were left in our room as compliments from the management. All the staff at the hotel are lovely, very helpful and are always up for a laugh!

The breakfast was great everyday, with a vast selection of fresh breads, pastries, cold cut meats, fresh fruit, cereals , cooked foods, etc. There was something to suit everyone’s tastes and dietary requirments.

Although we had to be down by 8am most days to get beds, we always noticed that there were spare sun-loungers around for couples etc who come down later on. We observed , that those who got up early to get beds, were mainly families with young children whose priorities were to get loungers near the pool for their children/to supervise them. Also if there is a particular area you like by the pool then we noticed it was common to get up a bit earlier to ensure that you got that spot most days. There was also a good availability of sun-umbrellas, both fixed and movable however they do go quite quickly in the mornings so it is worth getting one early. The pool area and pool was kept spotless and cleaned every morning by the grounds staff.

This year the animation has been managed by the fantastic “Super Mario” and his great team. All the team make a special effort to come around and talk to all the guests every morning and politely encourage you to join in! There is plenty to do for all ages with the Mini and Maxi club to lots of fun activities and sporty ones for adults! The aqua Zumba was a particular favourite of everyone’s with the enthusiastic and always smiling Gabi! This year a special mention has to be given to the evening’s entertainment. Having been coming to the Fariones for many years we noticed that the evening entertainment this year had improved, with fresh innovative ideas and is really enjoyable. Many evenings we came back to the hotel for the professional shows with live singing of many different genres, acrobatic shows , to the shows in which the animation team do their own performance. The added bonus this year has been the movement of many shows outdoors in the evening, making use of the weather, and sea views. Our favourite was the “White Night” where the pool side terrace was transformed by the team! We really looked forward to these nights and special thanks again to Mario and his team for making our holiday so enjoyable and fun.

The hotel is in a great location, right between the new and old towns. There is access to the beach from the pool side, which is great for a walk during the day, to go swimming in the sea, snorkelling, for families with children and there are also boating activities available. There is a pedestrianized promenade that goes down along the whole sea front (towards both the old and new towns) where many of the restaurants and bars are. Up towards the old town from the hotel is a shopping centre called the Biosfera that has a mixture of familiar European stores (from Zara, Bershka, Pull and Bear, Claire's, Guess) to other Spanish stores and is worth a trip up to, if you would like some retail therapy. There is also a shop at the Fariones which is really handy and it stocks almost anything you might need during your stay, and it also receives all the daily newspapers from international countries every day.

Puerto Calero is always worth a trip too, where there are some fantastic restaurants and a selection of branded clothes stores. It is a marine town and has a different atmosphere to the main towns like Puerto Del Carmen. A taxi there cost around €7/8.

Overall we had a brilliant, relaxing and fun- filled holiday thanks to the Fariones and we are looking forward to hopefully returning some time next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bienvenido s, Gerente at Suite Hotel Fariones Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Mrs. Danielle,
Thank you for choosing Fariones Hotels to spend your holiday again and for taking your time to write this nice review here, in tripadvisor.
For us is very important to know the impression of our clients, only so we can work daily to be the best. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your apartment with new face in kitchen and terrace. Our principal aim is your satisfaction.

As well, we are very proud of our professional team: maid service, reception staff, waiters & maitre and animation Team. Mario and all the animation equipment are exceptional.
Dear client, thanks for your detailed commentaries relating to the Fariones Hotels atmosphere and common areas and surroundings. It is great to hear that we have not disappointed you and that you have had a wonderful time here again. We look forward to welcoming you next season, we remain
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
2.6 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#23 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
827 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Fariones Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Fariones Playa

Address: Calle Acatife 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $171 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Fariones Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fantastic 4-star Hotel is right on the beachfront with direct access to the beach. All Suites with a sea view from the balcony or terrace. In the heart of Puerto del Carmen, surrounded by restaurants, shopping area and only a few minutes from the picturesque fishing harbour. This ideal location and excellent accommodation makes us the best choice for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Suite Hotel Fariones Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitehotel Fariones Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Suitehotel Puerto Del Carmen
Suitehotel Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing