We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIK Hotel San Antonio
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Travelled to the San Antonio for a Easter Holiday break with our 2 kids aged 9 and 11. All 4 of us had a great time. Lots of good points but highlights include: plenty of sunbeds so no need to reserve, cleanliness of the whole place and a well run mini club with activities to suit all ages. Plenty of activities like petanque, mini golf tournaments etc but no pressure to join in and animation team not pushy or obtrusive. The gardens are well kept and there's plenty of space, but compact enough to let the kids wander off with their friends. There's plenty for kids of all ages to do, and a lovely secluded pool and playground for toddlers, but clientele were mainly older couples. Bar prices quite reasonable- a coffee less that €2, a sandwich by the pool about €4, bottle of wine with dinner €10. Agree with other reviews about the food: bit samey, definitely hot enough and themed specials the best. Even though it's a buffet, we were impressed with personal service in the restaurant from waiting staff. Thought hiring the empty fridge for €12 was actually a plus, as were Wifi and satellite TV in the rooms, bit steep to charge €9 a week for the bath robes though!

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms do look nicer but thought ours was fine, despite being a bit old fashioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fitzbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your opinion about our VIK hotel San Antonio.

Really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed a week at the San Antonio from 2nd April 2013. Found the hotel overall to be really good. The pools are lovely, although we expected both main pools to be heated and it appeared that only one was acclimatised. Great position overlooking the beach. We were in sea view room which was worth the supplement, as it was great the see the sun coming up over the ocean. The buffet at breakfast was really good. For dinner it was a bit repetitive and not always great quality. The best thing were the "specials" on offer each night, one night Chinese, then Paella, Indian, Japanese, etc. The animation team were really good and there was always something to join in with if you wanted to, from petanque, archery or a game of pool. Also great tennis courts, ad you can hire equipment for 4 euros. Mini club for kids from 4-12 is great, also opposite the hotel there is mini golf. In the evening, there is a mini disco for half an hour, followed by a house "band" and later a live act, such as Acrobats, or Bee Gees/Abba. If you don't fancy any of this, there are other lounges to enjoy a coffee or a cocktail on the terrace. The hotel is situated in a nice part of the resort, just off Playa Pocillos and the cycle path stretches along the length of the whole resort. It is easy to get around, with taxis and bus stops right outside the hotel. Only 10-15 minutes walk if you want nightlife or to get to the centre of Puerto Del Carmen. Walk up to Lolitas Pasteleria for a lovely cake and coffee overlooking the sea in Puerto Del Carmen, or walk the other way, across Pocillos beach to a lovely Tapas Bar (next to Waikiki bar).

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and we hope that for our future guests too.

We note that in general you spent a good holidays in our hotel and we are very pleased about that. Regarding your comment about the quality of the food for dinner, we will inform the food and beverage department about your feeling, in order to improve if it is possible in this matter, thank you for your suggestion.

We hope see you again in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was really worried about staying here after reading the negative reviews but I shouldn't have been. Our room was comfortable although rather old fashioned, it obviously was not a room that had recently been refurbished but the view of the beach over the tennis courts was wonderful. We were half board and thought the selection of food on offer was very good. The food was always hot, maybe because we eat early, but I never saw anybody heating their food in a microwave which has been mentioned in previous reviews. The only drinks available at dinner were the ones that you had to purchase. We only had water but the wine did not look any more expensive than you would have paid in a restaurant. You could swap your evening meal to a lunch time meal if you let Reception know the day before. There were always sunbeds available although I did see people reserving them in prime positions, Sadly, these appeared to be the British guests rather than the Germans.

Yes, there are added extras which appear to be the norm now in hotels but this did not spoil our stay. The safe cost 11 euros per weeks, the fridge in the room was 12 Euros per week, and if you wanted tea & coffee making facilities in the room it cost 6 Euros per day. We were pleased that we could get Sky News & Sky Sports in the room for no extra charge. Also, we were able to access free wifi in the room.

The guests in the hotel tended to be older so the evening entertainment was aimed more at them. This did not bother us as there is plenty of other entertainment around Puerto del Carmen.

We had a really good time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ManUtdFan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and we hope that for our future guests too.

We note that in general you spent a good holidays in our hotel and we are very pleased about that.

Thank you again for your time and we hope see you again in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel in March 2013. we booked it directly and at the time of booking the additional cost for dinner was €6 each per night which we thought had to be good value whatever the standard. when we arrived we learnt that if you hadn't booked dinner and wanted to do so it would cost €21 each.

all of the staff in the hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had some minor issues with our room, such as the TV remote not working and within minutes of reporting it someone arrived to fix it.
The hotel, room, bar, pool and restaurant are of a very high standard and we couldn't fault it.
Breakfast was a full buffet and apart from not having fresh orange juice (like most hotels) there was plenty of everything including cold meats and cheeses and hot food including "english sausages". The dinner at night was also buffet style but was of a high standard. Each night there was a theme country such as chinese, italian, spanish, fish, stews, a carvery joint and the usual salads and desserts. incredible value for only €6 and if you wanted to take a night off you could arrange to transfer to lunch instead of dinner and again lunch was similar to the dinner buffet except on a smaller basis.
The pool was very good with plenty of sunbeds, pool towels available at reception. The bar at night had entertainment for all ages and from about 9pm there was music every night with a cabaret at 10pm for almost an hour followed again by music until midnight. The entertainment was of a very high standard. In contrast i met someone who had previously stayed in the hotel and was staying this time in the Beatrix Playa in Matagorda and she said that the dinner there was very poor. i had previously stayed in the hotel next door - Las Costas and it would not be the same standard as this hotel. It is about 20-30 minutes walk to the Biosfera in the centre of puerto del carmen but there is a very good bus service that sops right outside the hotel. Also there is a taxi rank across the road from the hotel. the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the free wifi was very poor at times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, you give a lot of information of the hotel and surroundings, that we are sure they will be useful for other guests if they are thinking on coming to our hotel.

Regarding the wifi connection, usually it is working well, but it is true that sometimes it goes slowly and we have to improve the signal, but do not ask me why, this is a general problem on this island, Volcanic interferences? :)

Thank you again and we hope see you again in the Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

i stayed at this hotel from the 7th to the 14th march 2013 everything fantastic staff very friendly and helpfull room spotless food 1st class entertainment very good overall a fabulous holiday cant wait to return next year it was a pleasure to stay in a lovely hotel a big thankyou to you all at the san antonio mrs diane orman from manchester

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianeorman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Mrs. Orman,

Thank you for your kind comments, It is a pleasure for us to know that you spent a great holidays with us, and of course we look forward to see you again next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife Noreen and I stayed in this hotel in March 2013. It is a hotel in Tenerife and very centrally situtated close to beach and all amenities in Puerto del Carmen. The hotel rooms are excellent and are very quiet at nightime and early morning. Entertainment was provided each night and the acts were very professional and enjoyable. The spa area was not working for part of our visit. There were no Tea making facilities in our bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms to South have better sea and pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It really surprises me that this hotel is only 18th in Lanzarote in the tripadvisor ratings. I can only guess that this is, perhaps, because it attracts an older clientele that don't tend to post reviews. We stay there once, sometimes twice a year, and there is a very high level of repeat customers -based on the familiar faces we see each time. And the hotel offers outstanding value.
The location of the hotel is excellent, about 20 minutes walk from the old town along a prom in one direction, and offering a beach walk of an hour or so to Matagorda in the other. I particularly like the way that the hotel opens directly on to the beach/sea. A huge positive also is the fact there are plenty of sunbeds available by the 2 pools at all times of the day, so no need to reserve them.
The food is fine. I am not a huge fan of buffets, but there is always a good choice and it is excellent value for money. (Some reviewers have pointed out that sometimes the food isn't hot enough-but there is a microwave available).They will be buiding an a la carte restaurant soon (on the site of the old snack bar-for anyone who remembers that), which will be a good addition.
I really like the option to rent the little fridge in the room;it costs about 12 euros a week and is definitely worth it. There are are 2 Spar shops close to buy water, soft drinks etc - and no feeling of having to 'smuggle' them in as there is in some of the other hotels we have stayed in.
There is a good entertainment programme offered, with no pressure to join in (we generally don't) but people who wish to take part are made very welcome.
Yes, as others have pointed out, the decor is a bit tired in some parts of the hotel, but that didn't affect our holidays there. The hotel is always immaculately clean.
If I could change one thing, it would be that the bathroom towels are quite hard and could be replaced - but that's a small complaint.
Overall :great location, excellent value, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool view. I have heard that the renovated rooms are nice, but wouldn't bother paying extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank maggietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and we hope that for our future guests too.

It is a great pleasure for us that our repeat customers recommend us and write this type of reviews, we think this is the best prize for our job. We would like to thank you for your comments and for your kind opinion, informing also about a lot of details that probably will be very useful for another guests.

We hope see you again very soon in the Vik San Antonio Hotel.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,788 reviews
1 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel San Antonio

Address: Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $159 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Lanzarote
Antonio Hotel Lanzarote San
San Antonio Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote
VIK Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing