We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with reasonable bikes but a bit pricey”
Review of Revolution Bikes

Revolution Bikes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can always be sure of a professional service at Revolution Bikes in Puerto del Carmen. Whether you want to hire a bike for a fun day out or keep up with your training regime, we take time to talk to you about what you want to do and ensure that you have the most suitable bike, correctly fitted and with eveything you need. We have bikes from one of the world's leading manufacturers, Specialized, that include town bikes with baskets, cross/hybrid bikes, mountain bikes with rugged tyres, all the way up to the latest carbon road bikes. We also stock Planet X TT and carbón road bikes. All our bikes are checked after each rental and maintained to a very high standard.
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service with reasonable bikes but a bit pricey”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very good friendly service and very helpful with suggestions for bike routes, although a bit focused on the south end of Puerto del Carmen, so less useful if you are staying at the north end – there are good MTB routes up to and down from Tias and Guime from the north end of Puerto del Carmen and from Playa Honda that I found myself rather than being told about by the shop; similarly with road routes through to the south side of town and up to Tias and Macher. I rented the more basic (alu/carbon fork) road bike, and the more basic mountain bike. Both were well maintained (although the MTB had a bit of wear in the headset) but were a bit old for the price, and the deposit asked for was high (€100). There are other bike hire shops in PdC that rent newer models for the same or less money – search “alquiler bicis Puerto del Carmen” on www.google.es and you will find them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomito O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolution-pdc, Owner at Revolution Bikes, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are sorry this customer thinks he didn't have very good service from us. After having to abort a trip to his hotel because he wasn't there at the appointed time, we went back a bit later despite the shop being very busy with other customers.

The customer has complained he had to find routes for himself rather than us telling him about them. The routes we suggest to people are tried and tested for both road and mountain bikes. Many other shops don't even offer any advice at all where to go. We gave him lovely, scenic routes to follow on both bikes which other customers have enjoyed.

We are aware that there is choice for customers but we do our best to provide good bikes with quality components rather than cheap, supermarket bikes and customer service that many of our customers appreciate.

The customer didn't say anything to us about being unhappy with any aspect of his hire which we could have done something about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    7
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Britain”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was a pleasure to deal with Revolution Bikes from the first enquiry to the service we received when we were there, it was like having your best British bike shop on holiday with you. I Would definately hire from them again and recommend to anyone for a professional hassle free service.
Thanks guys, best regards Paul and Dean

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolution-pdc, Owner at Revolution Bikes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It made us smile when you described us as 'Little Britain' as so many images come to mind. At least when you want to reserve a bike again, we will never say 'computer says no'! All the best to you and we hope you will come and cycle in Lanzarote again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Company”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I hired a carbon fiber road bike, the bike was in very good condition, and the service I received at the shop was helpful. The lady took time to make sure I had everything I would need for my trip and the man spent time going over the map with me and showing me different routes. Everything is made crystal clear which is important when you are in a foreign country. Luckily there is a big cycling culture in Lanzarote and although you are given everything you need in case of a puncture or other problem, revolution will come and collect you if you are really stuck. I would urge anyone who enjoys cycling to hire a bike here. There are so many cyclist out and about in Lanzarote its as though there is a race going on. The roads are generally pristine tarmac and low traffic density.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank arbroathboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolution-pdc, Owner at Revolution Bikes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us and our bikes. We work hard to ensure the bikes are kept in top condition for our customers. We do hope you will return and try some more routes. All the best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bike hire”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Hired bikes for a good day ride route recommended by Revolution. We did a 30 mile route through great scenery and with some hills made challenging by the wind. Will definitely book bikes ahead of visit if we return as choice limited when we called in on spec as they are understandably very popular.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rusky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolution-pdc, Owner at Revolution Bikes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoyed your day despite not having the bikes of your choice. It is often a good idea to check that we have availability before your day of cycling but we have taken delivery of some new mountain and road bikes so this should be less of a problem, depending on the time of year. We hope you will come back to Lanzarote and try another route through the spectacular landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Hired 2 bikes for a week at 50 euro per bike fantastic value. The bikes were superb and came with locks and plenty of practical advice from a very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend this shop.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolution-pdc, Owner at Revolution Bikes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We do our best to be as competitive as posible regarding prices, and on a like for like basis we know we offer excellent value with our Specialized range. We spend a lot of time maintaining the bikes and they are in very good mechanical order when they leave the shop. All the best and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution Bikes also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Revolution Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing