We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Alot better than it looks from outside "... Well worth a visit - you wont be disappointed !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aussies Beach Bar

Aussies Beach Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very friendly bar/restaurant right on the beach. New owners just two months ago.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Alot better than it looks from outside "... Well worth a visit - you wont be disappointed !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We promised ourselves every time we walked past "Aussies " we would try it one day .
Judging by the outside i was a little reluctant as it looked more like a shack than a bar ....
but did we get a pleasant surprise ! The staff are great, service is quick and views are amazing. Just proves maybe we shouldn't be so judgmental without trying somewhere first !
Food was really nice and plentiful..... a great value for money bar food menu... we were very pleased with it and actually returned twice after that initial visit.
No airs and graces in this bar, very laid back and friendly atmosphere! Ideal place for a nice lunch or a bite with a few beers when returning from the beach in the evening .... However if its a 4 course meal in a fancy restaurant you are after than this is probably not for you ! .. We are booked for Lanzarote 2014 and will make a point of returning to Aussies !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DELLAWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    109
    15
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beer with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you like to have a beer with unobstructed views of the sea and to people watch all the people on the promenade & the planes making their descent then Aussie's is the place for you. Myself & my young son went for a beer and a juice after a hard day playing on the beach. We returned the next day with hungry tummies as well a dry tongues and had a nice meal, simple food but price right and the kids meal came with an enormous scoop of ice cream(FOC). There are 2 smallish screens so you can watch the sport too. All in all it is a beach hut serving beer and food with a nice view it is not the ritz, but what they do they do well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bute
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Holidaying in Matagorda and lunched here on the strength of trip advisor reviews - was not disappointed. Aussies is an unpretentious looking place with a laid back vibe and fantastic sea views.
We had chicken goujons which were perfectly cooked and had a tasty spicy coating and they were made from fresh chicken as opposed to the reconstituted chicken that is often used in restaurants. They were accompanied by a tasty chilli sauce and delicious chips. There were many other tempting choices on the menu and we will definately be returning to sample them before our holiday is over.
Great wee bar/restaurant in a great setting with great food, attentive staff and a cool ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mo-yo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

What more can anyone say about such a friendly and picturesque venue. Located on the promenade a value for money menu to please all. Nothing too much and they will do everything to make sure you are happy x fantastic and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best place to chill in lazarote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

arrived back 3 hours ago, just wanted to thank john and jack for everything. what more could you want from a bar, great cheap food and drinks, great service, lovely view. highly recommend fish and chips and the steak bagette,but we tried everything on the menu and never had a bad meal, one of our group was a celiac and one a veggie, and they had no issues, will defo be back nex year.
love Charlie,tracey and the gang

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 530charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussies Beach Bar also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Aussies Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing