We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we expected and more.”

Review of El Mar

View from Marina to EL MAR cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Marina to EL MAR cottages
View from Marina to EL MAR cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
View from Marina to EL MAR cottages
View from Marina to EL MAR cottage
Nearest Beach from EL MAR cottage  ' PLAYA CHICA'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter M
Stocksbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more.”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking to stay in the Old Town of Puerto del Carmen what better location could you wish for than overlooking the harbour and that is exactly what you get with El Mar 21. Beautifully located and internally well decorated and equipped, I don't think you could wish for a better holiday home in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanTaist...
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

On a previous visit to Puerto Del Carmen we admired this Apartment and its few neighbours as we walked the boardwalk at the Harbour and hoped that some day we could stay there. Well when a significant wedding came to be celebrated I searched the web to see if any of those apartments were for rent and fortunately El Mar was. We stayed for one week and regretted that it could not be longer. The expectation was exceeded by the reality - there is not a better location and for the week we watched the Island activities and festivities at the harbour. There are a range of good restaurants and pubs within 3 minutes of the apartment. Helen [ and Margarita locally] ensured that our holiday needs were facilitated. We have come home relaxed and restored! Thank you. BM

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in El Mar 21
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenmadc...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from Lanzarote, having stayed in El Mar 21 and it was fabulous. The apartment is in a quiet almost-pedestrianised street and looks out onto the harbour and boardwalk. It is a small apartment block that is so photogenic that almost everyone stops to take a picture or two. It was a €13.50 taxi fare from the airport and was easy to find, with excellent directions from the owner Helen. We found it both spotless and very comfortable. It was lovely to sit there in the evening and watch the boats coming back into the harbour. There are several very good restaurants within a couple of minutes walk and the walkway across the cliffs to Puerto Calero goes past the door. We thoroughly recommend this as a place to say. It is just gorgeous. It's a pity we couldn't have it to ourselves though. We loved it and already, some of our friends are interested in going here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Proximity to the harbour and the restaurants
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to welcome you back. Thank you both so much for this great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia35
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Don't know if I can add anything new to all the previous reviews but El Mar 21 really was perfect. We spent many happy hours sitting on the balcony and could even do so in the rain as there is a canopy which can be pulled out for such an occasion. The apartment was very airy and bright and spacious and what a joy to be able to hear the gentle lapping of waves just yards away as one drifts off to sleep. Beds very comfy with gorgeously light, cosy duvets and the kitchen very well equipped. .Helen is a pleasure to deal with and the lady that looks after the apartment is friendly and efficient. Two supermarkets and lots of lovely restaurants and bars nearby. Can't wait to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay in El Mar 21. Thanks for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentr0ckc...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed in Puerto Del Carmen Old Town 5 times previous and the New Town 3 times previous - this has to be the best, and the view being frontline harbour - just perfect!. The apartment had everything we needed and was very spacious for a one bedroom apartment. Many people would stroll by on the boardwalk and admire this group of apartments set into the rocks. The location was very quiet - no tourist noise and from the balcony you could watch the comings and goings of the fisherman and the ducks! There are lot of mullet in the harbour and was pleased to see Stumpy the ray is still visiting the harbour after all the work that had been going on to extend - I had not been to PDC since 2007. One morning, from the balcony, we saw a whale spurting and arching out of the sea which was amazing - especially helped by the fact that there is a pair of binoculars in the apartment! Will be back asap!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: balcony / views / little outdoor steps onto rocks / location / size
Liked least: Being small - the bed was a bit hard - so I slept ontop of the duvet cover!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2012
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in El Mar 21. Thank you for a fantastic review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, U.K.
Reviewed June 5, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/view
Liked least: Could do with some better glassware for drinks
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and habour view
Liked least: nothing to say
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing