We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorrento di Italia

Sorrento di Italia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5* Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I was only in Puerto Del Carmen for three nights, and was lucky enough to eat in this beautiful restaurant twice. We had dinner here, which was wonderful. First class food and service. I didn't have room for a dessert, but the sharing plate looked amazing. The dessert menu is presented on an ipad, which is a nice touch, and means you can see how the dessert looks before you order. The owners, Steve and Linda have worked hard over the last three years to transform this restaurant into an excellent Italian.
I also had breakfast here on our last day. Definitely the best English breakfast to be had.
Will certainly eat here again when I return to PDC.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen b, Owner at Sorrento di Italia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
What a wonderfull review, and yes my staff and I have worked very hard to make sure all of our customers have the best time possible when eating here with us.
Hope to see you again on your return to Carmen.

Kind Regards

Steve (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    212
    69
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good Pizza enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Enjoyed a couple of meals here. Pizza good and made in front of you but took off 1 mark because toppings could have been a little more generous. Side salad nicely presented. Toilets clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Good view of sea across the road. Still best Pizza is at Casale Franco in Playa Blanca because they have a real Italian wood oven. However if I am in Puerto del Carmen I will eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen b, Owner at Sorrento di Italia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments which we always take on board, we have now increased the amount of toppings on our pizzas, look forward to seeing you again on your return to Lanza.

Kind Regards

Steve (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

One of my pet hates - cold plates - what can I say the plates were that hot you could not touch them - so a good start - delicious meal - saw lots of meals being served the presentation is excellent - lovely view - staff were lovely. On the down side perhaps the prices are a tad on the high side. Also had breakfast here - just once - cold plates not good - although nice food and not expensive. Might be best to give it a visit this year as each time we go back the restaurant has changed - last year this place was I think either Thai or Chinese.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen b, Owner at Sorrento di Italia, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Seeing that you gave us a 5 star review I am somewhat confused with some of your comments, you mentioned that the prices were a tad on the high side, then you go on to say that the food was not expensive, the plates were hot then cold?
Just for the record this restaurant has been opened for 3 years 6 months, and will continue to be opened for another 27 years at lease, and has been an Italian from the start.
Anyway thank you for recommending us and posting such a great review, maybe the wine we sold you was a bit strong, ( only joking ).
Kind Regards

Steve (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We ate here last night and had an excellent meal. The food was delicious and well-presented and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The only disappointment was that we didn't leave room for dessert! €50 for two starters, two main courses, drinks and a bottle of wine was very reasonable, especially since the food was so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discerningtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen b, Owner at Sorrento di Italia, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the food and service so much, and of course the value for money.
Thank you for posting such a wonderfull review.

Kind Regards

Steve (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in Puerto del Carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here every night since arriving on the 1st May, the staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble. the food is fabulous, atmosphere great, owner steve always has time for a chat. This is without a doubt the best place to eat, we have tried a lot of the menu over the last 3 years and it is all great. We are treated like honoured guests by all the staff.
last night we had the dessert. What an experience. We would not consider eating our evening meal anywhere else.We were so glad when we arrived this year to find that the restaurant was still here. We are going home on the 8th, and sincerely hope to come back to eat next year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KBHWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen b, Owner at Sorrento di Italia, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
To be considered as the only place to eat in Lanzarote, has made my staff and I so very very happy and proud. When we read reviews as good as yours, makes all of our hard work so worth while. and we are all happy that you enjoyed the food and service so much, that you returned every night of your holiday.

Kind Regards

Steve (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento di Italia also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Sorrento di Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing