We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome , hot food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TJs Caribbean Tapas Bar

TJs Caribbean Tapas Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we are only restaurant of this type in lanzarote that serves Caribbean and international tapas.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome , hot food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had a wonderful evening in T.J's , food excellent , well sized portions so you can try more dishes, great value , good wines, and lovely atmosphere.
Jeanette always on point with service & Tony (if not too busy ! ) will pop out from the kitchen to say 'hello' .
Sadly this time could not manage a dessert, but by previous visits I know they are gorgeous !
Every time I introduce a friend to this restaurant they always return !!
Don't pass it by , give it a try, dishes vary in spiceyness !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    115
    31
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit different from the usual.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited due to other good reviews.
Friendly staff and some unusual tapas food on offer, some quite spicy.
The chef comes round the tables to make sure everyone is happy.
The Caribbean rum punch is very nice and although it usually comes in a litre jug, the staff made me a single glass which was a nice touch.
Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenbrewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another trip back to TJ'S!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Yet another trip back to Tony & Jeanettes, lovely, spotlessly clean restaurant. I think now we have gone through the menu & yet to be disappointed! The food is so fresh & so very tasty, the jerk chicken is to die for! All washed down with a jug of the infamous rum punch, tastes like fruit juice, but has a sneaky hit to it!
Cant wait to go back again & again.
Thanks again Tony & Jeanette & look forward to seeing you soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited TJ,s in January, and it was excellent goat curry best I have tasted, and been to the Caribbean a few times, so we decided to visit again as we were back in lanzarote in May and the food service and atmosphere was as good as the last time it is certainly worth a visit we will be back in september

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and Excellent and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just got back from visiting Lanzarote and I have to say this is the best restaurant I have ever been to. The food was that great that we ate here for 3 nights. We would of eaten here every night but only found it a few days into our holiday. Every dish was so tasty. Jeanette and Tony who own the restaurant were so lovely ad made us feel so welcome. I will be recommending this place to everyone who goes to Lanzarote.

Thanks you Jeanette and Tony ( What a lovely couple)

Nicola and Garry xxxxx

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola19715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJs Caribbean Tapas Bar also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to TJs Caribbean Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing