We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic apartments and complex”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Apartments Lanzarote
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic apartments and complex”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

just returned home after spending six weeks at the columbus what brilliant apartments they are and the location is superb. The hosts Bill and Lynne did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable as did all the other guests we met there. The pool and sunbathing areas are spotless with plents of sunbeds and Grenville did anexcellent job of making sure the pool was kept spotless. All the apartments were well equipped to a high standard with very comfortable beds had no problem with sleeping at all. The location was brilliant too just a short stroll to the promenade and all the entertainment restrauants etc. Cant wait for next year when we will be coming back . Well done all the people running the Columbus, its first class.

Room Tip: Ground floor has direct access to pool area and first floor has fantastic pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARKY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    53
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
62
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Will not be staying here again. on our arrival we were greeted by nobody and had to wait 10 mins in the bar located next door. when the lady eventully turned up her excuse was she didnt know what time we arrived! during our stay we got only 1 set of clean towels in 2 weeks and room got cleaned only once and we had to ask for clean bed sheets as they were soaked in sweat due to the rooms having no ventalation. an oven would have been colder, also you cannot open your windows because its like being camped on the m25. during our second week building work started on apartments above every morning at 7.30 and the clothes that we left outside to dry overnight were covered in paint and sawdust. also the pool wasnt very clean when you got out your swim shorts smelt like rust and knocked you sick. couldnt fault the location you are seconds from the main strip and good bars. spenders bar next door is great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boro1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Some of these apartments have just been refurbished to a very high standard. If you choose one of these you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: look at the accomodation on the website before booking get a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is the sixth time we have stayed at the Columbus Apartments over a period of 10 years. It is a fairly small friendly complex, located in an ideal position near the beach and the shops and restaurants. All you need for a self-catering holiday is there and they are currently refurbishing all the apartments so it should be even better next year. The small pool area is ideal for relaxing in and getting the sun. The hosts, Bill and Lynne, are very friendly and helpful. We will certainly be staying there again on our next visit to Lanzarote.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the downstairs apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Well we said that when we returned to Lanzarote we would stay again at the Columbus and we did. We had another brilliant week, with the apartment being everything you could ask for in a holiday apartment. Well equiped with everything and even an iron and full sized ironing board.

I have to comment on a previous report made, firstly, the staff of this complex are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them all, I have nothing but praise for them. They provide an excellent service, they are pleasant and very helpful and aim to make your stay an enjoyable one, which it has been on two occasions. The fact that the management took the time to investigate what could be considered as a disturbance, in my opinion, this is in their favour as they are looking after others and also interest in their own property, who wouldn't!! This proves that they have consideration for others.

The beds are of a good standard, in fact I thought very good for an apartment, we have had some really bad ones, but the Columbus' in my opinion do not rate as bad.

Don't we always find some 'scuff' marks and marked walls wherever we stay, even the best hotels this happens, it's obviously the lack of care taken by the occupants of the apartments. I must say that during our stay, the staff were seen with paint and brush touching the likes of this up at all times. People should also realise that spanish properties are not built the way they are in the UK, and because of the lack of rain, a soak away from upstairs to down is again the 'norm'.

The pool and the surrounding gardens are very well kept, the pool is not heated but the majority of pools on the Island are not, even the big ones, so this isn't a bad fault, it's the 'norm'. It is small, but so is the complex, if people want a full size pool then they should research this before they book.

All in all my opinion of the Columbus is 'excellent' and I am sure that all staff will keep up the excellent service they provide. Visit their web site to see the VERY positive reviews, I did!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunSearcher225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Best way to describe these apartment is "tired in need of decoration".
Our room backed onto the local bar, fortunately they did not play music but you could hear bar room noise well into the early hours. The beds were not much better than camp beds and creaked badly everytime you moved. I ended up taking my mattress into the living area and sleeping there.
The couple who ran the complex were possibly the most unwelcoming couple I have meet in 35 years of travelling. Their advertised wi fi connection did not work as the manageress did not know the password.
Returning on her own one evening my wife slipped and fell due to the apartment above's drainage being directed onto our patio (there was no mat provided to soak up the water) she cried out as she fell. Going inside the apartment she then accidently knocked over the table lamp, next thing the manager was round stating he was getting noise complaints and accusing her of smashing up his apartment in an intimidating manor. He reduced my wife to tears.
I did unfortunately break one of the patio chairs by leaning back on it, the manager wanted 50 euro's to compensate for the lamp and chair, as it happens the lamp had only fell apart and I was able to fix it. I did pay 8 euro for the cheap plastic chair.

On the positive. Pool area is very well kept and clean, there were plenty of free sunbeds, unfortunately pool is very small and very cold not a proper 'swimming' pool
Great location, beach and plenty of bars and restaurants within a stones throw.

We will not be staying here again due to the manner of the management but the local area was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim_hayleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Do you want a lovely kept little complex, with the apartments well kept and with plenty of space in them, then go to the Columbus. There are 16 apartments with their own swimming pool, which is really clean and the surounding gardens are lovely.

Brilliant location, very close to the promenade, with a smashing bar right outside called Spenders, owned by John, not a loud bar, but very friendly and we certainly enjoyed our nights there. Give it a try!!

Some apartments have been refurbished and they are excellent, but saying that we had one that wasn't refurbished and it was brilliant. Plenty of room to move about in. 10 Channels of Sat TV, for a charge of £10, excellent.

The booking system is superb, every effort is made to help you. On site is Lynn, who is really down to earth and helpful.

Everything you need for a superb week's holiday, we've stayed many times in Puerto Del Carmen, but have to say these apartments are the best we have stayed in.

We won't hesitate next time in Lanzarote to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSearcher225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocas Blancas Apartments
Rocas Blancas Apartments
#55 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Apartments Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Apartments Lanzarote

Property: Columbus Apartments Lanzarote
Address: Calle Nicaragua 8 | calle Anzuelo, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbus Holiday Apartments in Puerto del Carmen is located on a small complex situated in the centre of Lanzarote's most popular resort. Columbus Apartments offer good quality one and two bedroom bright, spacious accommodation and are extremely well equipped for self catering holidays. Our pool terrace is fitted with astroturf and parasols making it a most delightful suntrap. We are conveniently situated just 15 minutes drive from Arrecife airport and just a few minutes walk to the golden sandy beach and surrounded by a whole host of resort amenities - including the new golf course. Columbus is ideal for families, couples and singles - Puerto del Carmen is ideal for those looking for lazy days and hectic nights or if you wish to explore the island excursions are available. So don't hesitate to contact us if you are looking for good quality holiday apartments in Puerto del Carmen at an excellent price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbus Apartments Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Columbus Apartments Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing