We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average restaurant”

Restaurante Los Marineros
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were persuaded in here on our recent holiday by one of the 'touts', these guys can be very pushy but I suppose with tourist numbers down they have to make more of an effort to get people in! We sat on the balcony upstairs, which is the best place for the views over the harbour, but can get rather cool once the sun has gone down. It was very windy while we were there.

We both had fish, I had cherne, my husband had tuna medallions. They were OK but the portions were small. We had a bottle of house wine, water, no starters and no desserts, the bill came to €40 which seemed expensive, especially when we left and saw the 'Specials' board outside, which we hadn't noticed when we went in (it may not even have been there at the time) - we could have had a fish platter for two and a bottle of wine, for €35! We felt very annoyed that this hadn't even been mentioned and decided not to go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    61
    38
    48
    156
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishy fishy”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great restaurant for fish, good selection and fresh. Not great for meat. Bit pricey compared to the rest of Lanzarote.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Loosing it?”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ten years ago, I would have classed this a "must visit" , however I think our visit here this time may well have been the last.

The upper deck was not open, which has always been the #1 attraction to the place IMHO, but the restaurant was not full (not half full) and it was a cold wind thta evening, so we settled inside. We ordered a chateaubriand and it was well cooked, but served with chips !!! and the usual sauces which accompany the meal were extra.

I understand that it is owned by the same person/company that owns The Sunset Grill next door, so perhaps they do not feel the need to compete anymore?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malc2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“dreadful service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Chap outside said there were sardines on the menu which is what we were after, however there was nothing on the menu and the waiter once he came to serve us looked blankly at us when we asked. Once we explained he said yes they had them, so we ordered sardines and a fillet steak. By then the restaurant started to fill up. We had to remind another waiter after 15 mins that we had ordered wine, which he apologised for and brought it out. Food took another 40 mins. The steak was cooked perfectly. I had asked for medium, but it came quite rare was was fine by me ( I would normally order medium / rare, but it can sometimes be raw). So lovely meat, but sardines not cooked enough and the skin was soft not crispy. Such a shame as this restaurant is in a prime location and needs to do much better. Out of all the restaurants on our holiday this is the only one we wouldn't go back to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money by going here”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was a very busy restaurant. The staff couldn't cope with the volume of people so no personal attention. Ordered 3 steaks all medium rare one went back as it was grossly undercooked not a problem you would think until it came back grossly over cooked because the waiter was too rushed to listen to what we asked for which was one more minute on the grill. When we pointed this out we were told to shut up. So incredibly rude. The table next to us agreed. We paid the bill minus that one steak and walked out. There are enough good restaurants in Lanzarote never to have to set foot in here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hellyholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Los Marineros also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurante Los Marineros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing