We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic authentic Spanish Cuisine”
Review of Taberna De Nino

Taberna De Nino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Spanish Cuisine”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This has got to be one of the best restaurants in PDC. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The menu is dominated by the excellent choice of Tapas dishes. We ordered 5 between us and they were all absolutley amazing. It was not the "usual" tapas of meatballs, prawns etc but stunningly presented and tasty dishes that made you want more. We had a chicken, papaya and pistacio dish, a lamb roll, a spinach dish with prawn and a nut crust, Iberian sweet pork with sweet potato and another pork dish rolled with mushroom and prosciuto. We could have carried on eating more but couldn't manage any more. We washed the meal down with an excellent house red, Puerta Vieja, an excellent choice for a vino de la casa!.
The waiters had an excellent sense of humour and were very jolly. We will definitely be dining here again on our return. The cost of the 5 dishes, bottle of house red, a large beer, coffee and a complimentary "ron miel" was 45 euros. Bargain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepolly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    381
    91
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

So after reading all the reviews all I can say is the restaurant is overrated. There wasn't a good atmosphere in the place and the food certainly wasn't as described by previous users.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DundalkStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tapas!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This tapas bar is amazing and very reasonably priced! We had 5 tapas dishes between 2 of us plus drinks and the bill came to 40euros. The food was spectacular! The lamb melted in your mouth and the brie was to die for! We enjoyed it so might that we went back a second time and ordered 6 tapas dishes and pudding. This restaurant was definitely the highlight of our holiday as we wanted to go to a typically spanish restaurant rather than any of the touristy restaurants/pubs. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Necky92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There's a reason this restaurant is in the top three in PDC! It was definitely one of the highlights of our holiday!

They have a great menu, the tapas menu looked really good, only my boyfriend was too much of a chicken to take the plunge as he's never had tapas before. So in the end he had garlic bread to start and sirloin steak for mains, he asked for it medium and it was perfect. I had the chicken wings from the tapas menu to start and a shoulder of lamb for main.

Everything was faultless! You cannot go here without tasting the wings, I thought they were great! However if you're planning on having the lamb I wouldn't recommend a starter as the main is absolutely huge! I gave some to my boyfriend and still wasn't able to finish it! But that's not really something to give out about! :)

I had a half bottle of Rose wine, which was really nice, they had a good wine menu, my boyfriend had a large lager, we had water with the meal and I had coffee afterwards and the bill came to less than 50euro! Def wouldn't have gotten anything half as good for that price at home!

The restaurant is towards the top of the strip, but a little bit up a side road. I think it's to the right of a chinese restaurant on the corner, called Asian delight!!! We went to so many places I'm finding it hard to remember where everything was!

The first night we went there the place was packed and we were told it would be at least half an hour before we got seated so we decided to come back earlier the next night and got a table no problem, so just don't leave it too late to go as it's quite a small busy restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyLoughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great tapas”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It´s a very good tapas bar. Lots of choices in traditional tapas, not the cheapest, but the best. Make a reservation or have a backup because it is always crowded although it is just of the main road.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc_chemicalbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna De Nino also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Taberna De Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing