We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The accidental Mexican”
Review of Cantina Don Rafael

Cantina Don Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Quiero cambiar el numero de telefono
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The accidental Mexican”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went in here by mistake but we were not disappointed! We were looking for Patio Chiquito which is also along the front so when we saw a Mexican restaurant we wandered in. I can highly recommend the Combo main course and the local white wines on the menu. Also, they had 2 guys wandering around playing Spanish/Mexican music but they weren't in your face like restaurant musicians can sometimes be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tardy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    434
    192
    80
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good mexican food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

They served decent food at a good price - the €6 fajitas in particular were a full sized portion and the margaritas come in massive sizes (1/2 litre or even a litre, though I didn't try that).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lively atmosphere, fantastic service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spotted this after walking along the strip one night and saw the sign advertising Fajitas for 6E. We decided to try it (myself, husband and another couple) and were instantly impressed with the efficient service. Drinks brought to us straight away and after what seemed like only 5 minutes our fajitas were sizzling in front of us! Good tasty plate of food and plentiful too. We could not believe the value for money and the quality was above our expectations. Would have no hesitations in going back to Don Rafael's or recommending it. Staff cheerful, decor interesting, altogether a good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrecife, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Town”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Food excellent, service first class. We live on Lanzarote and this is by far our favourite restaurant.
You don't have to have mexican or spicey food, there is a very extensive menu, steaks, pizza, trad mexican food, the works.
Breakfast excellent value for money, if we're in PDC any morning we always go there.
Lunch absolutely super for the money, there's always a good deal on.
Dinner, simply out of this world. Perhaps a little pricey for some people's budgets, but I am a firm believer in you get what you pay for and you certainly do here. Go on treat yourself!!!
Try the champagne sangria, it's to die for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for drinks but when it comes to food there are better places!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This place has the most amazing sangria, I can really recomend everyone to try it! The quesadillas are really tasty to but the chicken was raw inside and not tasty at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Don Rafael also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Cantina Don Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing