We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad first night experience”
Review of The Royal

The Royal
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse, Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not bad first night experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Arrived in PDC tired around 21:00 so didnt want to trek far just get something to eat and drink. The royal was quite busy usually a good sign so we went in. Shown to a table right at the back in the corner so a bit isolated but hunger took over situation on this occassion. We had a couple of T-bone steaks a couple of pizzas and a round of beers. The beers were ok but pricey compared to Tenerife last year at €2.50, Pizza again ok but the T-bone steaks were large but a lot of congealed fat and as we like the steaks medium rare it wasnt cooked so raw fat not good in anyones book. Price ran out at €55-€60 for 4 meals and 4 drinks but this is average in PDC. I wouldnt go overboard about this place but it is not the worst by a long chalk.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    100
    58
    35
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We ate here this lunch time, my partner had English breakfast at 3 euros whilst I had homemade burger at 6 euros.
The waiter was very polite and our food arrived within 20 minutes although there were only 3 tables to serve.
The burger was very small but needless to say very tasty and was accompanied with fries but no side salad which was a shame . I asked for mayonnaise and was surprised to be charged 30 cents extra although ketchup was free! My partner said his meal was lovely and was very well cooked and not greasy. Drinks a little higher than other places, total bill 15 euros.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food but terrible service ”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner last night I found the food was really enjoyable, however the service was terrible. We were left waiting over an hour to receive our meal and found the waiters quite rude.

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Food was great, especially the Homemade Lasagne. Service was good on our first night when we was a little earlier to the restaurant, but on the second visit, the restaurant was absolutely packed and the service was rather slow, but this wasn't a problem as after experiencing a few bad meals in Puerto Del Carmen, we'd rather wait for something we know is going to be good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“its ok”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

the food is very nice but the servise not so good the waiters forget your meal so it takes quite along time to come.
but it is a nice place to go to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanort171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to The Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing