We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena

Arena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: part of the Alondra villas and suites complex but open to non residents
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We walked up to Arena during the day in order to book a table for dinner the following evening - it is a lovely place to go during the day with a nice pool and sunloungers which visitors are free to use. At night the menu was fab, definitely 5 star! The complimentary fish appetiser at the start was delicious, as was the duck pate, which was the daily special starter!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had several meals in arena our last night was absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

has to be one of the best restaurants in Lanzarote. We will certainly be going back. Fresh fish prepared and presented by a fabulous chef

C Lawson
Grantown on Spey Scotland

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 43albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings, attentive staff but not quite 5*....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We lunched at Arena last year for the first time and had a lovely meal.... everything was top notch and what a lovely atmosphere! The staff couldn't have been more attentive and every one of the three courses was delicious and beautifully presented.
We decided to go back for some more of the same a couple of weeks ago and in truth we had a very enjoyable evening.... the service was again faultless and the surroundings just as we remembered. The food was however not quite up to the same standard, although still very good.
We felt that the chef Luis was trying just a little too hard, with some of his food combinations not quite making the mark. For instance my starter, chosen from a selection of specials..... prawns topped with melted cheese on top of watermelon with a sweet dressing....it was served warm and although ok, I didnt think the warm watermelon worked and the melted cheese too, seemed out of place.
This wouldnt put me off returning again but I think I would stick to the simpler dishes and just let the quality of the food do the talking!
I hope my review hasnt put anyone off as Arena is a unique venue and well worth a visit and the desserts are truly amazing!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scenariowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband took me to this restaurant for a special occasion and he couldn't have picked better. Although a bit difficult to find, it was well worth the wait as the setting was very tranquil with fabulous service and food. Nothing was too much trouble and we were given space to dine at our leisure. Food was of an excellent standard and the pudding was something else - spectacularly displayed. This restaurant is a bit pricier but very much worth it,

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

This restaurant came highly recommended to us by a number of friends who live on the island, and we weren't disappointed.

My fish was superbly fresh and cooked perfectly, with a terrific green sauce which was almost sweet, My wife had a huge piece of fillet steak in a sauce.

When reading a 5* menu, it is often quite difficult to anticipate exactly how the dish will be presented and how it will taste. With the dessert, this was certainly the case, but it was a fantastic surprise! A touch of Heston Blumenthal with a deconstructed Mohito at one end of the dish, and a chocolate cigar with burnt sugar "ash", a crispy casing and wonderfully rich mousse filling. My wife had a smile on her face for days afterwards!

The service was very good but the only criticism could have been, that they were slightly more attentive. However, this is a personal choice, as some diners prefer an unobtrusive table waiter/ waitress.

The view from the restaurant was spectacular as they have their own swimming pool which was beautifully lit, and added to the ambience. The background music again was quiet and either classical or local, which again enhanced the complete dining experience.

Although the bill was not inexpensive, you'd be paying at last 3 or 4 times the amount in a London restaurant, and you wouldn't get the view or weather. If you have a careful budget, it's well worth a visit for a special celebration. It's still good value for money if you are happy to pay a little more for top food. I believe they do a breakfast menu and lunch menu which is more economical with less lavish dishes, but we didn't get the opportunity to test it this time.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena also viewed

 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing