We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bob once again the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of kinsale

kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bob once again the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

4 of us dined in late January 2013 and was the highlight of our dining during our weeks stay in puerto del carmen. Service and food was top class and Bob found some time later in the night to sit and chat with us. The atmosphere was electric and while the place was busy the service was excellent and the quality off the food amazing with portions very generous.
We certainly will be returning and definitely recommend it very strongly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brigi364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    33
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - great good, great services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This has earned itself the title of my favourite restaurant in Puerto Del Carmen. It was a little hard to find and the address supplied on their business card didn't mention it was in Matagorda - but aside from the initial confusion, this is one place I will be visiting again on my next visit! Its Irish owned, the owners have been running this restaurant for a number of years and the owner is also the head chef. The staff were all Irish when I was there, everybody was very friendly. The owners came over from Kinsale having run a similar business over there for a number of years, I believe.

The food was top notch, my fillet steak was absolutely divine - the right size, cooked to my requirements and was very tasty! I can't recall what dish my other half had, but both of us rated this as our favourite restaurant during our stay in February and she loved her choice.

While its a little on the pricey side, once you have tasted the food you will agree that its absolutely worth it. We will return, without a doubt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SullyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Ash
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem.D and D South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well what can I say,as good as it gets.My wife and I wanted somewhere special for our last night in Lanzarote and we
certainly found it,absolutely gutted it was our last night and not our first.The moment we entered we were received as friends of the family,the table staff and Bob and Maura just couldn't have done enough,the starters we both chose were the duck and liver pâté,superb and the presentation made it twice as good.My wife then had the scampi which she said was lovely and I had the fillet steak with fresh veg and home made chips,stunning, I was stuffed after this but Diane managed to force a sweet of apple pie.We also had two pints of lager and a bottle of red for a grand total of 66 euro,and worth every cent,thanks again everyone at Kinsale

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidmanley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
236 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“great steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a cracking restaurant Bob the owner steaks are out of this world the service is out of this world we are going again in December 2013 and have booked for Christmas dinner
The waitress are on the go nothing seems to much bother
Drinks are what you expect to pay and potions are good
It seems like it’s only a small restaurant from the outside but once inside its like doctor who’s tardis we found the place spotless nice clean toilets
You can see into the kitchen and see that it how you would expect to find it

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of Our Favourite Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate here on Halloween night and had a fantastic meal. It was a surprise for my brother in law for his 50th birthday. It also happened to be their Wedding anniversary so we had a double celebration on the night.
I had rang Maura to book a table and told her it was a surprise for his birthday. They really looked after us from start to finish.
We had a mix of starters which were gorgeous. Four of us had the Fillet steak stuffed with Prawns and the other two had Duck. Could not fault any of it and we received plenty of veg and potatoes.
They dimmed the lights and brought out a cake for my Brother in Law and he got a lovely surprise!
The service on the night was excellent and we could not fault it in anyway.
Both Bob and Maura could not have done anymore for us on the night and we will definitely be back if we go back to Lanzarote this year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrigGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kinsale also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing