We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fave restaurant in Puerto del Carmen”
Review of el sardinero

el sardinero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: by the harbour in puerto del carmen on lanzarote mainly fish dishes
BARNSLEY, SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fave restaurant in Puerto del Carmen”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Friendly family run restaurant - service and food were excellent. They really looked after us every time we went - 3 times in all. Will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAYNEB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    115
    20
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely meal, great with the kids”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday to Lanzarote and much preferred the old town area to the main Puerto Del Carmen area. Lovely setting and we went into this particular restaurant as the guy standing outside the restaurant was less pushy than some of the others trying to lure us in! The food was very good, my husband and I shared a paella. I'm allergic to mussels so they made one specially without the mussels. They were great with our children, making them feel very welcome. We would highly recommend it and would definitely return if we were to go back to this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becksters71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just come back from my second visit to Puerto Del Carmen this year and I always visit this restaurant more than once. The staff are very friendly, the service is good and it has a good atmosphere. They even remembered what we liked to drink! The selection of fish, paella, steak and pasta take a lot of beating and are always fresh. We had the fillet steaks which were cooked perfectly. Although this resturant is small you can be assured of a big welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not even capable of cooking a Tattie(potato) !! And brutal Service !!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Amongst the many lovely looking little romantic restaurants in and around this beautiful old town area, my girlfriend and i were struggling to make a choice as they all looked good! However we finally made our minds up, choosing this one after being lured in by the very friendly man out the front who made the food sound amazing and the setting was perfect overlooking the sunset over the harbour!

So it was all looking good so far and the waiter was great too, explaining the meals we asked about in great detail. Following this though after taking our order the staff didnt want to know us! The food was fired out, a mixed seafood platter (38 euro for both of us) so not exactly a bargain either! We were so annoyed at this stage with the poor service and standard of food that we just hoked through it, demanded the bill, paid it and left ! the chips were cold, each piece of fish poorly presented and to top it all off they couldnt even cook a boiled potato , they were rock solid, and this meal was nowhere near edible!! Really disgusted in myself for even paying it, we should of just got up and walked away !!

As we left we had a brief chat with 3 diners at the table beside us who were also sitting finished awaiting their bills and they hadnt happily cleared their plates neither !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miniadventurer99
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

we were actually having a hard time choosing between here and the restraunt opposite to it and in the end the tout at the other place was just too in your face for my liking and it turned out to be a wonderful choice!
at the start the man at the front said the food was so good if we didnt enjoy it we wouldnt have to pay for it or our drinks he was that confident and he was right to be so!
for starter we shared the octopus in mojo sauce and it was absolutely delicious, just enough to share and my partner who isnt the biggest seafood fan really enjoyed it.
main courses were also fantastic i had risotto with iberian ham and mushrooms while he had fillet steak.both were delicious and the steak came with rice,chips and vegetables!
we followed up with tea and coffee as just too full for anything else!apart from the obligatory free liquer!
the service was great not too overbearing but always someone nearby should we have needed them the older man was especially friendly and fun.
two small gripes- free wifi advertised outside but it didnt work and we were given bread which we didnt order then charged for which always annoys me in holidays restraunts
even with this i wouldnt hesitate to fo back and would recommend to everyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miniadventurer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed el sardinero also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to el sardinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing