We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch time tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mardeleva

Mardeleva
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch time tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited this place for lunch, sat outside overlooking the harbour lovely spot to have lunch.
We ordered padrons peppers, Serrano ham and cheese, ribs, prawns in garlic oil which was ample for two with bread to soak up the juices. Our son had the chicken nuggets (not frozen ones!) and chips which was lovely. The waitress was friendly and helpful advising us how many dishes we would need etc. Will be eating here again lovely place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank difah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    215
    55
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Okay some people may say why order a fillet steak in what is basically a fish restaurant, but that said why put steak on the menu when you don't know how to cook it , the first thing you notice about this restaurant is that not much English is spoken by the main man presumably the owner/manager that said not much Spanish is spoken by ourselves, so touché on that score, we chose our table was seated given the menu did not really fancy any of the fish dishes so opted for a fillet steak with Roquefort sauce, we were asked if we wanted bread with our meal but declined as we were not informed as to whether this was in with the price of the meal or an extra for which you would have to pay other establishments automatically give you bread as part of the meal, we felt the staff should be up front and state if it comes with the meal or as a pay for extra,
The steak was ordered but the waitress never actually wrote anything down, at least not in front of us, but we ordered one medium rare and one well-done, and we reiterated well-done no blood as we were aware that Spanish chefs have different views on how to cook steaks compared to UK chefs, the food arrived and with the first cut of the steak the blood just turned the Roquefort sauce from off white to pink, indeed what was classed as medium rare was far to rare for my liking and my wife's was no way well-done I was happy to eat mine in the state it was although the nearer the middle of the steak the more rare it was, we asked for the steak to be taken away as it was not cooked as requested it came back as it should be cooked, but obviously due to the time taken to re-cook it my meal was virtually consumed leaving my wife to eat hers on her own, there was a couple of apologise but that was it the meal itself was a disaster and not very palatable needless to say we will not be frequenting this establishment again and whilst it may be highly recommended for it's fish dishes, steer well away from the fillet steak offerings unless you enjoy your steak virtually raw , we paid our bill and left without leaving a tip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Brilliant location overlooking the bay,staff super friendly
& great Tapas in a local type restaurant,back home in the freezing cold wish I was there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cuan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Rude waitress spoiled a brilliant meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This restaurant seems to have two reviews going so I will repeat my views here in brief. The food was excellent, the location dramatic, the prices incredibly reasonable. They should get five stars but we're let down by the rudeness of our young waitress who reeked of cigarette smoke.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank corkdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience spoiled by one staff member”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This review should have been all about the sublime barracuda fillet. The marvellous view. Our lovely last evening in Puerto Del Carmen. The excellent value for money. The genial hostess who talked us through the menu and helped us choose our knockout meal. For this is a golden restaurant. Locals eat here which is always an excellent sign in a tourist destination that is thick with mediocre standards and exorbitant prices. What should have been a five star experience was spoiled by the behaviour of one waitress. It was so bad we suspected we might have been filmed secretly by one of those comedy TV shows to capture our comical outraged reactions. For we were outraged and several times considered throwing in the beautiful linen napkins. The fun started when my wife ordered a white table wine and the waitress said red wine. When I said we wanted white wine, she started arguing, saying that my wife was looking at the red wine section! She stood over us way too close for comfort. I had to back away for she reeked of cigarette smoke. When we wanted to order dessert she listed the options rapidly so I asked her for the dessert menu. She glared at me before getting it. When we went to pay the bill she insisted that we pay in cash. We had none on us and she made a big deal about us paying with plastic. It may sound petty but a big part of a dining experience is the service. We were not served by this young lady. We were simply supplied with food, in a manner that would not entice us back, despite the wonderful achievements in the kitchen. We did not leave a tip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corkdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mardeleva also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Mardeleva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing