We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time - appalling staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mardeleva

Mardeleva
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time - appalling staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Attended on 19th aug 2013 and asked if we could wait in bar area with a drink for 10 minutes whilst staff cleared empty but still dirty tables. 10 minutes is fine but this turned out to be at least 40 minutes whilst 5 waiters ran around like headless chickens dealing with only 10 tables that where occupied. Don't think they know the word multi-task. After waiting 30 minutes at bar still not even being served with a drink as waiters just ignored our presence. Eventually after getting a drink and our table being made ready after only 40 minutes. We sat down and had to wait a further 15 minutes till a menu arrived at our table. Other people around us making comments - annoyed with the speed of service in this restaurant. After a further 15 minutes no waiter had came to take our order even though they were wondering around near in a lost daze unable to cope with basic tasks of waiting on customers. Eventually after 1 hour and 20 minutes of waiting not yet even placed our order we lost the will to live and left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hpool-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardeleva2013, Front Office Manager at Mardeleva, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
hello.....as today is the 19th August i presume it was this evening you tried to dine at our restaurant,which i presume may also be a typo because this evening we are not at full capacity and may have been friday or saturday? which is besides your points made from your comments. All i can say is i apologize for your experience with us, not to put on excuses as obviously you did not recieve the customer service in the manner we wish our guest to recieve, however we are at one of our busiest times of year and there are occasions when customers who have not made a reservation with us do have to wait, to the extent you say of course will be seen as unaceptable and i apologize for this....on another note however i hope you enjoy the rest of your stay here on the island, yours sincerly Restaurant Mardeleva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    215
    55
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best restaurant in Puerto Del Carmen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visit Lanzarote a number of times a year and found this restaurant a couple if years ago. It can not be beaten, best tapas & definitely best service!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annar0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardeleva2013, General Manager at Mardeleva, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
helloo....we our so pleased you enjoyed you visits to our establishment,we will look forward to your next visit and thankyou for the great review, xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

If you want the best (nonstandard) fresh fish you should definitely go here! Try the parrotfish or barracuda. I had never eaten these kinds of fish but they were excellent. Also the meats are broiled to perfection. The terrace has an excellent view over the harbor. We will definitely go again next time we are on the island!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've visited Puerto Del Carmen many times but never been to Mardeleva before and only came across it due to looking on trip advisor. My husband, daughter and I ate here 3 times during our 2 week holiday. On each occasion the food was fantastic, it tasted wonderful and was beautifully presented. On the first visit I'd had the tuna 'fish of the day' which was cooked in a Canarian style sauce and was the best tuna I'd ever tasted. Between us all we sampled a number of steak, chicken and fish dishes and we'd recommend them all. Desserts were lovely too.

Now we've found it we'll definitely be back on our next visit to the island. You can tell how good the food at the restaurant is as on a weekend lots of locals visit which is always a good sign!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardeleva2013, Manager at Mardeleva, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hola!! thankyou for your review, we are so happy that your family enjoyed dining with us, and repeat custom is always such a great compliment to the staff and food, which is greatly appreciated, we look forward to your next visit to the restaurant, xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice food, good views, good service. Reasonable prices for 4 people evening meal.....................

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mardeleva also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Mardeleva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing