We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little taste of Mexico!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's Cantina Mexicana

Emma's Cantina Mexicana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A very popular 36 seat restaurant in the picturesque main street of the original fishing village of Puerto del Carmen with parking outside or in the recently renovated fishing port one street below.Open from 6pm each night, closed Wednesday.N.B. A dress code operates in this restaurant.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little taste of Mexico!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved this restaurant which is tucked away deep in the Old Town area of Puerto Del Carmen. Really tasty hot Mexican food at affordable prices. We will be back!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daooneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    293
    73
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited Emmas on the first night of our holiday and were given a 15% discount card if we returned on Thursday or Sunday, and we enjoyed our first visit so much we did! Food is faultless proper mexican fare, recommend the Chimichanga! Service is great, staff very helpful and you couldn't go wrong with a strawberry marguerita!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macyy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Found Emma's on the advice of some people we meet while in Lanzarote. So good we visited twice during our 10 day stay.

The food is fantastic (my wife says it's the best Mexican food she has eaten outside of Mexico) so I guess that says a lot as the chief chef is Mexican herself. They make excellent cocktails to go alongside the wide range of food menu options. Personally, I would recommend the Tequila Sunrise. The waiting staff are super friendly, love to chat to you and Kirsty in particular was fantastic to us on our two visits. All the ladies who work in Emma's are very welcoming and helpful. I would recommend Emma's to anyone who enjoys Mexican food and to anyone with kids visiting, their children's menu is one of the best I've seen in a restaurant.

Go, eat and ruminate. Fantastic food and I defy anyone to be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We tried this restaurant as it got such good reviews and we were glad we did. Big portions and really tasty. The menu was eplained to us as we had not been before and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on Emma's cantina whilst looking for a different restaurant which when we got there was shut for holidays! Have to say we weren't disappointed, the service was friendly and professional, food was gorgeous (and huge portions!!) great cosy atmosphere too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyCecilyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Cantina Mexicana also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Emma's Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing