We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turtle Power” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purple Turtle

The Purple Turtle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Open from 9am until late. We serve Breakfast from 9am untl 12.30pm using only Best British produce. Lunch is served from 12.30pm till 6.00pm and Evening Meals from 6.00pm till approx 9.45pm. We have a large sun terrace with sea views over looking the Harbour Area. Nine Televisions with Live Sports Coverage. We also have Free Wi-Fi and a Free Pool Table for our Customers use. Quiz Nights are Wednesday and Saturday.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turtle Power”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good value and quality food in a relaxed atmosphere. Free Wi-fi too. Staff efficient and friendly even adapted the menu for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    235
    86
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Popped in for a meal and drinks on our last day,the food was lovely and plentiful and the staff were helpful and polite.You can sit in or out,we sat inside to escape the blistering sun for awhile,but after eating we then sat out with views over the sea,lots of t.v screens for footy fans.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

the purple turtle was clean,tidy,lovely staff+gr8 food we ate here a few times+we were never dissappointed..great place to sit+relax during the day we never went in evenings would definately reccommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is a good all rounder. Sports tv, pool table, book corner, food, outside terrace and good company. Something for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

A nice bar to stop off at for a refreshing drink. The staff are welcoming. They have a wide menu though we didn't eat here. Sit outside and watch the world go by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyberry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Turtle also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to The Purple Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing