We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Lonja

La Lonja
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Normandy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant a few years ago and were quite impressed. This year however we were very disappointed. The service was very poor and the food was second rate and overpriced. A very average fillet of snapper was served with the obligatory three soggy Canarian potatoes and some soggy undressed salad-15 euros. The waiters ignored us after we had our main course and we left as soon as possible. Avoid. There are some much better restaurants in the harbour area who are not living on their previous reputations.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    143
    45
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tYRONE, iRELAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baby Fried Squid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here every time we visit Lanzarote. You know its good when the locals eat here and they have their own fishmongers on site, the taxis drop here and the drivers are often found to be having a break here. The Tapas is of good variety. The calmari and baby fried squid, although heart attack material, is amazing. We found it is cheaper to sit at the bar and order from the staff behind the counter, you may have to point as many dont speak English, but are very friendly. You can order half or full dishes, all very reasonable prices.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank connor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good choice for fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We discovered this authentic fish restaurant whilst walking along to the western end of Puerto del Carmen, past Playa de Chico, to the harbour. This is an attractive area and we passed several other restaurants that we considered for lunch before choosing La Lonja. I looked less 'touristy' than some of the others and as other reviewers have commented, it has a wet fish counter displaying recent catches where the locals were buying their fish, so we decided to give it a try. We were late for lunch but that's not a problem in Spain! We took the waiter's recommendation and shared the 'Pescado del Dia' a freshly caught large snapper which was excellent. We were quite full after that so didn't have a desert. The bill was reasonable, the meal including a beer for my partner, a glass of wine for me, bread and bottled water came to a total of 40 euros. Just the sort of local, unspoiled restaurant we like.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nothing to get excited about as a venue but the tapas at lunch time, at €3.5 a portion are fresh, well prepared and more authentically Spanish than the other seafront restaurants,

Good food, good value for a light lunch. Our five tapas, bread, water and a small beer were under €23.00.

If you want reaL Spanish tapas this is the place. The locals know that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brian2005wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

really good tapas at lunchtime, used by many locals, who also buy their fresh fish from there! If you are lucky you will see the fresh fish carried in !!

Evening, tapas still available but menu we find better, having tried at least half the menu, it's very, very good! Listen to the waiters advice !! Fresh fish superb, steaks and pork excellent!! Highlight of our frequent visits to Lanzarote! House white wine also good, but not always cool enough, draught beer amazing!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avigat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lonja also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Lonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing