We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for fresh fish”
Review of La Lonja

La Lonja
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good choice for fresh fish”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We discovered this authentic fish restaurant whilst walking along to the western end of Puerto del Carmen, past Playa de Chico, to the harbour. This is an attractive area and we passed several other restaurants that we considered for lunch before choosing La Lonja. I looked less 'touristy' than some of the others and as other reviewers have commented, it has a wet fish counter displaying recent catches where the locals were buying their fish, so we decided to give it a try. We were late for lunch but that's not a problem in Spain! We took the waiter's recommendation and shared the 'Pescado del Dia' a freshly caught large snapper which was excellent. We were quite full after that so didn't have a desert. The bill was reasonable, the meal including a beer for my partner, a glass of wine for me, bread and bottled water came to a total of 40 euros. Just the sort of local, unspoiled restaurant we like.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    147
    46
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nothing to get excited about as a venue but the tapas at lunch time, at €3.5 a portion are fresh, well prepared and more authentically Spanish than the other seafront restaurants,

Good food, good value for a light lunch. Our five tapas, bread, water and a small beer were under €23.00.

If you want reaL Spanish tapas this is the place. The locals know that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian2005wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“superb!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

really good tapas at lunchtime, used by many locals, who also buy their fresh fish from there! If you are lucky you will see the fresh fish carried in !!

Evening, tapas still available but menu we find better, having tried at least half the menu, it's very, very good! Listen to the waiters advice !! Fresh fish superb, steaks and pork excellent!! Highlight of our frequent visits to Lanzarote! House white wine also good, but not always cool enough, draught beer amazing!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avigat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent fish,seafood and tapas”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to sit in the sun or at the bar to sample the many tapas on offer.Excellent seafood served in the restaurant in the evening,but I suspect that you can get seafood dishes at any time of day

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank phillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tapas only at the bar”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Tapas at the bar is great and great value.Just don't have anything in the restaurant.Service is poor and the waiters have no interest but I can strongly recommend the tapas at the bar...Nice selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lonja also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Lonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing