We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value tapas”
Review of La Lonja

La Lonja
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value tapas”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

While waiting for my wife,my son and I decided to have a coffee and some tapas on a beautiful Sunday morning.
We had a bowl of octopus,with some lovely crusty bread and 2 coffees for E5.10...for nothing.It was lovely.Thats not 5.10 each...5.10 the lot !
I have eaten in this restaurant on a few occasions and found it to be just ok but their tapas at the bar(where the locals sit) and a beer or a coffee, I have always found to be good and very good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    147
    46
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nothing in stock-overpriced-poor value for money-chaotic staff”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

How this place gets good reviews?-standards must be low....Went last week, decor is a mish mash of school canteen chic and naval colours/decorations. The place seemed chaotic, many waiters asking same questions. Finally managed to get a starter on 5th attempt as previous 4 starter orders, different waiters had to come and tell us they didn't have the produce in stock. These were all fish/shellfish starters which is particularly bad as these advertise as a seafood restaurant, which above all is right next to the fishing harbour??? Mussels were soaked in a tasteless sauce and were itself of mediocre quality, most likely not fresh but cooked from frozen. Filet Mignon was a tasteless disaster and quite frankly an insult to serve up to paying clients considering this is one of their most expensive dishes on the menu with its EUR16 pricetag. Nothing in stock, overpriced, poor value for money and chaotic staff. Avoid, there's many more, far better places to spend your money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cwt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“simple and excellent food”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Fresh Fresh fish in an authentic restaurant... good mix of locals and tourists and great value for the quality. try the blue lobster- it's worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank prosena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great spanish food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great spot between different tourist traps in the very touristic harbour of puerto del carmen. Extraordinary fish soup and a zarzuela as it should be. All thumbs up !!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dentennisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic all the way!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stopped here for a drink late one afternoon, feeling peckish we ordered 3 tapa's. The food was brilliant and the place was busy. We returned a few days later. We sat at the bar. our order consisted 6 tapas, a large beer and 1.5 litre bottle of water. 21.50 for the lot with baskets of bread that we werent charged for. I enjoyed it so much i can,t wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dahubbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lonja also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Lonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing