We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arena Dorada Apartments
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Christmas”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

These Apartments are in a great location, close to all the resort shops and night life.
We were on a half board basis.Meals were of a decent standard,with fish, salad,and a meat dish every night,a lot of English guests were not very impressed including my girlfriend,who likes plain British food she is not a fan of oils and sauces.Breakfasts I must admit were poor,we only had Bacon on two mornings.the rest of the time fried eggs,and one morning boiled,there were hot dog sausages each day with tomatoes,and beans some days.As much coffee and tea as you wanted or juices and bread rolls and nice cakes,cold meats and cheeses.
I found the staff very friendly and keen to serve,we had a problem with our toilet and it was resolved within an hour of reporting it.Our apartment was clean and comfortable.
I would have no reservations about using these apartments again.They do represent good value for money but next time I will be self catering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peterdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    180
    96
    32
    47
See reviews for
107
249
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked theses apartments based on recent reviews and to some extent, they were spot on. Fantastic location, pleasant staff, rooms basic but now in need of some TLC. My biggest disappointment was the beds.. So uncomfortable it was really difficult to sleep, even after a few glasses of wine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrscakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were moved here after spending 3 nights at the horrendous Costa Volcan. Now both are rated 3 stars but this place deserves its 3 stars, the Costa Volcan does not deserve any !
I would agree the place is German focused ( it was mainly German guests during our stay ) but we have no problem with that. Reception staff very helpful & efficient.
We had an apartment, it was large, clean & comfortable, very quiet at night although just a stones throw from the front strip, excellent location !
We never ate ihere so cannot comment as to the quality of the food.
The balcony we had was a good size, the bed was comfortable
To sum up
A basic but large, clean & comfortable apartment in an excellent location !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gapples_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Arena Dorada previously and enjoyed our stay so decided to return as we got what appeared to be a good half board deal. The location in Puerto Del Carmen is excellent.
Reception was closed when we arrived. There was a note on the window with our room number.
The room was facing the rear of the amusement arcade with perpetual noise, bells, music, etc. Look out you door and you see a great big wall ahead of you and a multitude of cats lounging around under the trees or stalking each other. On the left were the big refuse wheelie bins and on occasion unpleasant smells wafted across. On the veranda was an old plastic chair and table, no clothes rack to be found, Got an extra chair and clothes rack the following day. Veranda light did not work.
The apartment overall was in a poor state and needed a major makeover, i.e. bad smell. stains on the furniture, loose sockets, tv not working, worn out towels, fridge was rusted badly and wouldn't close properly, beds worn out with springs about to pop out. Not comfortable sleeping.
At reception the following day we register our disappointment at the poor state of the apartment. The receptionist was understanding but was not able to help as she said all apartments were occupied. Rented the only kettle left available which leaked. Paid for a weeks wifi and got about a total of 24-48 hrs worth which was sporadic and mostly didn't work.
Some of our clothing was stolen from the clothes rack on our veranda. Reported to reception but nothing was done or followed up.
The Kiddies little pool (about 2M square was a cooling off pool for the local cats. The pool was cleaned mostly every day. The jacuzzi was not heated and one of the large sun loungers was un usable and undergoing repairs
Plus side. The food was plentiful but being half board all drink including water, juice, tea, coffee and alcohol was not free (water, juice, tea, coffee was included with breakfast only).
Tv was replaced on 2nd day and was given a free remote control (usually rented/deposit)
Staff other than reception were overall friendly and service was generally good.
Linen changed every 2 to 3 days.
Overall conclusion is it was disappointing and we would not return to the Arena Dorada

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Amusement arcade and close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned from a 9 day break stay to these apartments and overall had a great time. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient and the apartment was spotless as was the pool and bar. We didn't eat here but had a few drinks and found the bar staff friendly. There were a few down sides but nothing too serious: The wall are quite thin and you could here noises from the adjoining apartments,the main one being a baby waking up very early in the morning, but then again the baby may have been woken up by the sound of my husbands snoring!!! There was no kettle which I found a bit strange so we had to boil water in a saucepan for our morning cuppa, the bins were emptied before 7 in the morning and this created some racket. The beds were reasonably comfortable but no so the pillows which were very hard and bulky.

In general we found the place good and the location is excellent - just off the main strip and we would definately go bacK

Room Tip: Try and get an end apartment so you only have noise comming from one side!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TipperaryRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived after 10pm Reception closed, but a large note on door directing us to apartment.
Apartment basic but spotlessly clean, staff were very helpful.
Food was limited to choice and at breakfast the staff seemed reluctant to put out food.
When it rained water came through light fitting in restaurant - no action taken except to throw a towel on the floor
Not very keen on the swimming pool as it had a green rim round the water line

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank claralena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a brilliant week here in early August. The apartment was amazing, gorgeous modern furniture, spotlessly clean, and a great view.

This was my 4th time in Lanzarote, but I’d never stayed in Puerto del Carmen before. The location of these apartments was fantastic, a slightly long (but pleasant) walk to the old town and restaurants by the marina, but main strip and the beach are right on your doorstep, though the place is still quiet and peaceful day and night. Highly recommend O’Reillys for breakfast (head for the beach and turn left!).

The receptionists at Arena Dorada were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to help, sorting out taxis and booking our excursion, even giving us some great advice on the differences between the tours and companies available. We ended up doing the short south tour with Last Minute Tours and while I’ve visited Timanfaya national park every time I’ve been to Lanzarote, this was the by far the best yet, mainly down to our guide, Julio, who had a brilliant knowledge of the island and its history and told us a lot of interesting facts, and funny stories without talking too much (or too little) or making it feel like a boring lecture or scripted tour, simply a great trip!

We’re not beach lovers and so spent every day relaxing by the pool, though the beach and all the seafront bars and restaurants are only 100m away. The pool itself could do with a repaint as it’s a bit flaky in places, but very clean and plenty of loungers on the terrace. We had lunch in the snack bar a few times and the food was lovely and well priced. The staff were really friendly too, though being so close to the pool leaves you in danger of being splashed while you eat!
The only downside with this place is the lack of air conditioning, though this is common in the Canaries, especially in this price range and normally we have no problem with this, but we had a heat wave in our last couple of days with temperatures overnight in the mid 30’s and 45 during our last day. My partner spent most of the night in the shower to keep cool! With no late check out available and a flight at 7pm, we had a final shower before leaving our room at midday and heading for the pool, having 4 swims to try and cool off and avoid a sweaty flight home!

As a gay couple we felt very welcome and comfortable at Arenda Dorada. Part of our reason for choosing this place was the proximity of the few gay bars in Puerto del Carmen in CC Atlantico. We were very disappointed, though, as we were the only people in the nightclub (Punto), and as Kloset seemed just as deserted we didn’t bother paying the cover charge to go in and find out.

If we go back to Lanzarote we would definitely go back to Arena Dorada. Even without air-con, the apartments and staff were great, close to all the bars and restaurants, and a nice short transfer from the airport too (don’t bother pre-booking a transfer, our taxis worked out cheaper than the quotes I’d looked at from resorthoppa etc.)

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for a good sea view (we had C-24, best room in the complex!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris1978uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocas Blancas Apartments
Rocas Blancas Apartments
#54 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relaxia Lanzaplaya Apartments
Relaxia Lanzaplaya Apartments
#48 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#55 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Los Cocoteros
LABRANDA Los Cocoteros
#15 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elena Apartments
Elena Apartments
#11 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Dorada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Dorada Apartments

Property: Arena Dorada Apartments
Address: Calle Tanausu no 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arena Dorada Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Information General.• The Arena Dorada Apartments are located on the island of Lanzarote, in the tourist resort of Puerto del Carmen and close to the wonderful beach Fariones. Location• Located in a privileged area of Puerto del Carmen, as it is in the middle of it and can walk nicely by a long avenue near sea.This• 2 minutes walk from the beach• 7 km from the airport• 13 km from Arrecife (capital of the island)• near restaurants, terraces, shopping, etc. .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arena Dorada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Dorada Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Arena Dorada Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing