We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite evening.”

Casa Roja Puerto del Carmen
Reserve with
Casa Roja Puerto del Carmen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1850 "Casa Roja" Traditional Spanish Restaurant right on the Sea overlooking the Harbour in the Old Town Puerto del Carmen. Specialiced in fresh fish and seafood
CORK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A quite evening.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The meal started with warm bread and a garlic dip which was most welcome.

We both had chicken wrapped in Parma Ham with a spinach stuffing. The chicken was a little tasteless but the stuffing was first class. It was served with Saute potatoes and green beans.
For desert we shared an excellent sticky toffee pudding with a hazel nut ice and Twirl. The coffee was decaffeinated and a proper coffee

The service was good but the honey digestive was too sweet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    217
    84
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special treat”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Service and food excellent. Bit more pricey than normal but food quality makes it worth it. Attention to every detail by friendly staff makes it a memorable experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breffni054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We dined there at the end of May 2013. The food was excellent, Staff and service were also excellent. We would definately like to go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesliava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I went to the Casa Roja restaurant at the beginning of May 2013.
I am sorry to say,after such good reviews, but we were very disappointed with our meal. We ordered fish Paella for 2 which we eagerly awaited. When it arrived it was basically just rice with a few small bits of fish thrown in and 4 prawns. It was not cheap and we expected more for the price.We felt ripped off to be honest, after all, this is a fish restaurant next to the harbour, so we expected it to be good.
We have stayed in Puerto Del Carmen old town many times over the years,we really love it, and we have been to many good restaurants, but unfortunately this isn't one of them as far as we're concerned. We had actually been to this one a few years ago and it wasn't that good then, but we wanted to give it another try. Sorry we did.
But saying that though,the restaurant is in a good position overlooking the harbour and our waiter was nice. But we wont be going back again to be ripped off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Much improved from previous visits”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have dined here on a number of occasions over the years, but have only found the food to be average and the service poor, which was a shame as it is in a great location. Because of the favourable reviews on this site we decided to have dinner whilst here and really enjoyed the experience. The food was excellent (try the fried eel as a starter for something different) and the service was attentive and professional. Good wine list including a selection of Lanzarote wines. One to return to on future visits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LutonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Roja Puerto del Carmen also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Casa Roja Puerto del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing