We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Villas Don Rafael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Don Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights,from 13th March 2014 and it was amazing, having enough room for 6 people my beautiful girlfriend and me had a fantastic stay, getting a cab from the airport was easy and cost 15 euros, straight to the check in where we was greeted by Isobel, she speaks perfect English and after paying the 50 euros deposit for the villa key which is returnable, we were taken to what can only be described as a stunning villa, our own pool, large enough to swim and cool of after the temperatures reached 28 degrees..there is a local supermarket where everything you need is available and the short walk into the old harbour town is full of restaurants and bars, the villa had cooking and washing facilities and 2 bathrooms, a balcony over looking the rooftops and sea views. i would 100% recommend staying here.. the people are friendly and if your looking for a n easy relaxing holiday where your only concern is what you fancy eating or drinking then this is the place for you.. i would go here again and again and again :)

Room Tip: All these villas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year - taking 4 of the villas next to each other - for a "Family" Break. The Villas were immaculately clean and extremely well maintained. Each villa had its own private pool and the pools were beautiful. OK they were a bit cold, but it was winter. We had a great time in Puerto Del Carmen and I believe the villas played a large part in the success of our holiday. Would definitely recommend and would love to return again some day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Burkie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were located in villa number 7. The villa had a great view with spacious living and sleeping area. The villa was clean and very well equipped: kitchen towels, enough utensils to cook, iron and ironing board, tablets for washing and dishwashing machine. The towels were changed every 2 days and there was one small and one big cleaning during the week we were staying.
The receptionist is very friendly.

A few downsides
There is some noise from the traffic in 2 of the 3 bedrooms.
Extra cutlery, glasses and plates would be welcome (we had the dish washing machine running two times a day, just to have enough to eat the next meal)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironmom75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Don Rafeal in Jan 2013 to celebrate my sister’s 40th birthday.

We had a fantastic time and will always be on our visit to visit again.

The apartment was 5* in our books. The receptions went out of her way to help us, make us feel at home and allowed us to get around the island without any problems. Nothing was too much for Sandra to do for us.

The only downside was that no heating to take the chill off in the night. Do not let this put you off as this is a great place to be and to enjoy. See you again soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livzz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was by far the best holiday I've ever been on! First we were met by Isabel at the villa office which is 2 minutes away from actual street where villas are located. Isabel was really nice, showed us the basics of the villa and left us to admire the view, and the views, they are absolutely breathtaking! Fabulous distance view of the sea and mountains.

The villa itself was spotless and well laid out. Rooms are all clean and spacious with plenty of storage and wardrobes.There is one double bedrom and the other two are twins. Ensuite bathroom in master bedroom and a main bathroom, both of which have bath with shower head. There's also a safe with key in the wardrobe of master bedroom.

We were kindly left some basics such as a bottle of water, a bottle of wine, toilet roll and some soap and shampoo which is perfect until you can pull yourself away from the villa to get to the shops.

The villas are very close to the local hiperdino supermarket so if you're tired after travelling it won't take you 10 minutes to pick up some supplies here, and also the hiperdino is cheaper than the spar down the road.

Pool is the perfect size and goes from quite a shallow end to about 5'10 or so at the deep end. The pools aren't heated and can be a little chilly after baking in the summer sun, but once you're in the water you soon get used to it :)
There are many sun loungers provided and they are perfect, just bring a towel out to lay down on them as they can be a little harsh on their own.
The kitchen is well provided for with 4 hobs, a microwave and dishwasher, as well as kettle and toaster. There was also a coffee filter machine in the press with coffee filters, which we didn't use.

The showers are powerful enough and there's enough hot water to last for about 2 short to medium showers. The heater takes about half an hour to heat the water back up so bear this in mind if there are a few people wanting to take showers around the same time.

There's a washing machine and clothes horse provided for, and also towels for showers and the pool.

There's a charcoal BBQ to the side of the villa, which we didn't use in the end, but from having a look at the chamber, it's quite deep so make sure to get yourself a decent bag of charcoal if you plan on having a bbq. Buy a lighter too as the villas don't have one.

There is a parking space with a closing gate to the front of the villa if you plan on renting a car. The street is also easy enough to navigate and park.

I was aware from reading other reviews on here that the hill to the villa was quite steep and can confirm that when it's hot this hill isn't the easiest to walk up. The best thing you can do if you plan on walking is to naviate up horizontilly and then vertically and switch. We found by doing this it makes it much easier and you're not left all sweaty when you get back :)

Other things to note would be that there is a 50 euro deposit for a single set of keys, and they only take cash for this. We just about had enough to cover it, so don't get stuck on this.
The master double bedroom is facing the main road, so if you're a light sleeper this room wouldn't be the most suitable as the road can become a little noisey at traffic hour.
There is no safety gate guarding the pool, so if you've kids just be vigilant. Also there are fabulous cactai planted throughout the front garden, but again if you've got kids, watch them.
The wifi was kind of slow and could only be accessed from the corner of the livingroom, and was actually better outside the villa. On the day we were leaving Manuel told us they were upgrading so this hopefully may not be a problem anymore.

Overall this villa was fabulous and is a real taste of luxury. It is in a quiet enough area so you aren't going to be disturbed by the shouts and sounds of clubs, but it's also close enough to shops/clubs, specifically the old town. I would wholeheartedly reccommend these villas to anyone wanting to get away and just relax and take in the views of puerto del carmen, with still having the option to sightsee and get around. I will definitely be returning in future!

P.S. If anyone reading this has any questions feel free to message me and I'll reply as soon as I can :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Angelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

we have stayed in these villas twice both times we had a fantastic holiday,we had a 3 bedroom villa with private pool, the inside was very well equipped it was home from home,with a washing machine dishwasher iron and ironing board, the master bedroom was en suite and there was also a large family bathroom, outside they provided a barbeque parasols and sun beds, the location if very good but not suitable for people with walking difficulties as you have to come up cardiac hill to reach the villas from the prom, ok if you have a car and taxis are really cheap

Room Tip: all these villa are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 705lilbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our second stay here. We enjoyed last summer so much, we decided there was no point booking anywhere else. The rooms are still large and comfortable the location is still great, if you don't mind the short but trying hike up killer hill, the amenities are still great...but. The cleanliness and baud service is not what it was last year, we only saw the maid twice during a two week stay, towels and linen changed three times, the pool cleaners were lethargic and seemed uninterested, we followed them round to complete their work to our satisfaction on a couple of occasions. I could be nit picking here but the service we received was not as good as 12 months ago. That all having been said, it's a fantastic base for a laid back holiday in a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Alondra & Suites
Villas Alondra & Suites
#4 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas Salinas de Matagorda
Villas Salinas de Matagorda
#16 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Club Guinate
Apartamentos Club Guinate
#35 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bocaina Villas
Bocaina Villas
#61 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
39 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hoopoe Villas Lanzarote
Hoopoe Villas Lanzarote
#6 of 45 in Playa Blanca
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Don Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Don Rafael

Property: Villas Don Rafael
Address: C/ Barqueta 12 | Exquina Guataca, 35572 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Don Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Don Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Don Rafael Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Villas Don Rafael Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing