We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Quinta, wonderful location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Quinta do Cobral

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lagares da Beira, Coimbra District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
beverleyh...
Sheering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Quinta, wonderful location.”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ishbel and Rick made us feel very welcome right from the start of our holiday. The house and views are stunning. The Quinta was fully equipped with everything we needed on arrival and for the rest of our stay. Continental breakfast was provided for our first morning, which was lovely, as we could relax before trekking out to the shops. Breakfast, dinner with local produce and home made wine, is also available every morning and evening at a very affordable price. Home made pizza evening was such a wonderful experience, eating and drinking under the stars. Personal touches, made our holiday a complete home from home feel. The Quinta is full of character, built around a masssive beautiful granite rock. Not only did we enjoy the company of Ishbel and Rick, but we have made two lovely friends. Thank so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2018
Thanks for the fantastic review John and Bev, it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you here and we really hope you will return soon. As you said, we also have made two lovely friends!! Thanks X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
688silke
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and lovely people in the midst of nature”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a beautiful secluded valley, but still in walking distance to the village of Lagares da Beira. Though very private, it is close to Ish and Richard's quinta, who are fantastic hosts, very helpful, generous and kind. It is absolutely lovely and very comfortable with lots of character and thoughtful details. We were here the 2nd time - once before in the summer - now in November, which was cooler, and a bit of rain, but everything was lush and green. So great for walking and exploring the area and the wood burner kept the chill away at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Aww Silke, thanks for the fab review, as you know, we would love to see you here again, the perfect guests and we can't wait to see you again X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing break deep in the Portuguese countryside with great hosts”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Quinta de Cobral in September 2016 and stayed for 5 days. It has taken me 6 months to get around to writing a review but thought I must add some comments as we had such a great time. Travelled down on bikes which we placed under cover in the stable. The smallholding Rick and Ish have built up is fantastic, completely off the grid but with all necessary conveniences and close enough to walk into the local village. We were quite happy to explore the extensive property and surrounding countryside on foot for a couple of days, but also travelled off to see the Serra da Estrella national park, and visited many local towns, Roman ruins and shady swimming spots. We were treated to several superb meals using mostly home grown ingredients, and also a wine tasting evening which was a lot of fun. The small house is well designed and fitted us easily into 3 bedrooms. Very quiet spot but plenty to see and do. Fantastic for a relaxing break in the Portuguese countryside with lovely hosts.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Wow! Thanks for your great review. We are looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and relaxing stay in a beautiful rebuilt rural house”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Such a nice place to spend some relaxing days near the snow.
It's a farm rebuilt near a river with the relaxing sound of a small waterfall near by.
The hosts are very friendly, always ready to attend any of our requests.
Great visit for nature and farm lovers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thank you Nuno, it was lovely to welcome you and your family, hopefully we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Portugal at it's best!”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place in the middle of olive groves and great boulders with wild native pine forests. The small holding is down a long track. On the way from the village we turn a corner at the junction where 3 shepherds always seem to be sitting minding their sheep, they wave as we pass. We step back into a place with old values on the one hand, but all the amenities we could need on the other.
We were made to feel most welcome by the owners, who have moved here from the Uk and are now much involved with the Portugese local community. They have lovingly, over some years, restored the abandoned old Quinta and smaller house nearby, which is the guest house. We visited in January, while much of Europe had dismal weather. We basked in hot sun in the day time, and snuggled in front of the wood burning stove in the freezing evenings. There are two freindly dogs, a few farm animals, and interesting bird life flitting along the River Cobral which bounds the property on one side. We were given useful guidance on walks and interesting places to visit nearby. Ishbel cooked a delicious evening meal for us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Audrey, we are both very happy that you loved the place so much and hope that this will be the first of many visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenAN...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

For us, this place is heaven on earth. Peace and tranquillity tucked away far from the madding crowd. The owners offer a taste of the good life, we loved it, hope you do too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
It was so lovely to meet the two of you, thank you for leaving the house so clean and tidy. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
688silke
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Serene Location with Lovely People”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We staid at Ishbel's and Richard's cottage for nearly a week and it was perfect. The house is really charming and unique, with lots of lovely details, and everything we possibly needed, including the wonderful homemade soap and their own olive oil. From the cottage terrace we had a beautiful view down the valley and the mountains. The area is great for walking and exploring, with the village Lagares da Beira close by.
Ishbel and Richard are wonderful hosts, kind people and they created a magical place.
Thank you for all your help, it was a pleasure to meet you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the cottage itself, the host, view, goats
Liked least: everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you Silke, it was a pleasure to have you both to stay, please come back and visit us again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing